We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Views from Hotel Terrace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Athens Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Athens Gate Hotel to your Saves list
The Athens Gate Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Doncaster, England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Views from Hotel Terrace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is ideally placed for exploring the main attractions in the centre of Athens on foot.It has a fantastic roof terrace restaurant and bar with amazing views of the Acropolis and Temple of Zeus. The owners are welcoming and helpful and the hotel is very modern, clean and stylish.
We had a lovely stay and would definitely recommend this hotel.
Travel tip: although the Hotel is situated at the top of Syngrou Avenue, rather than using the Syngrou-Fix metro station, we recommend using the Acropolis metro station which is more convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,397
    881
    148
    23
    11
See reviews for
342
1,463
114
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (597)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband I and stayed here for 3 nights, it was the kick off to our honeymoon, which was mainly spent in Santorini. Athen's Gate was a very nice hotel, clean and very central to the main attractions. It's only two blocks away from the main square, where you can pay up to double for a hotel room. Breakfast was included and was up on the rooftop every morning. Yes the pictures of the view from their website are accurate, it is truly the most amazing view. We enjoyed their bar which is open to 12am and then would hit the pedestrian street right behind the hotel for some late night drinking. I can't remember the name but there was this cafe corner bar two blocks up towards The Acropolis (behind the hotel) and 1 to 2 blocks to the left. Good bar, it was open till 3am. Our room had a very nice view of the Temple of Zeus. We really enjoyed staying here, it exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: We stayed in #212
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Arrived to be told we had been given a free upgrade so that we had a better view of the city. Room was amazing. Food in the restaurant was also very good. Breakfast was really good and lots of variety.

Staff were very friendly and would help you whenever they could. They also offered city maps and discount voucher books to us when we arrived.

Location is great too. Out the front is one of the stops for the city sightseeing tour busses which takes you everywhere and a short walk to everything else. Would 100% recommend and def stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Superb location..you can walk your whole visit from here.
Outstanding roof top bar/restaurant with one of the best views in the world.
Gorgeous room with terrace facing the Acropolis. Very helpful staff

Room Tip: Floor 7 with Acropolis view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Little could beat the location of the Athens Gate. Right by the Plaka with easy access to all the major monuments and museums. Do be aware that "100 meters" in Greece easily means 200 and the metro stop is at least that far away.

The views are amazing. On one side is the Temple of the Olympian Zeus. On the other, one of the views of the Acropolis to be found. These views are best seen from the Roof Garden, but be prepared to make a meal reservation if you want to best seats.

I had the opportunity to experience two different rooms. My first night was in a suite for my birthday. The suite was large and well equipped. The views nothing less than stunning. At least the equal of the Roof Garden one floor up. The second night was in a superior double. The room was rather small. Also, the amenities were nowhere near as nice as in the suite.

Service at the hotel is good. There are two very small elevators. When there is a large group, you may have to wait quite a while for one.

Room Tip: Splurge on the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel is located very close to main Athens attractions and Parthenon, Acropolis Museum, Temple of Zeus and House of Parliament are within walking distance. Roof Top breakfast area offers amazing view of Parthenon. Though the rooms are not lavishly furnished they are OK. Morning breakfast is good and wish they had more vegetarian items. Front desk is very helpful and upgraded us on our late night return from Santorini. Overall very satisfied.

Room Tip: Book your room early as they get sold out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Just got back from our trip to the Greek Islands and stayed in Athens at Athens Gate on the way in for one night and on the way out for one night. The first night we spent a bit more knowing we would be in town all day and might need to hang in the room for a while after spending all night on a plane, so we got the Superior Double Room. It was quite small, but nicely decorated, and was on a low floor. There was a balcony, but tiny, with really standing room only. Check in was easy but because we arrived so early our room wasn't ready. Totally fine, and they told us where to go to change. When we arrived later in the day, our bags were already in the room. Breakfast the next morning was good, pretty standard buffet breakfast fare (just a note- went on the way back for dinner because it was so late, and food wasn't so great, and either was service, think bc we came shortly before closing so maybe they weren't thrilled. I would only eat here for dinner if you have to-otherwise go explore elsewhere)
On the way back, we didn't get in until after 9 pm, and was leaving first thing in the morning so just got the standard double room. Oddly enough, this one was huge! On a higher floor too, think the bathroom was bigger as well. I wonder if maybe there was a mixup and we had the nicer room on the back end? We even had a bottle of wine and fruit waiting for us when we got in. So weird, but not complaining. Either way, room was very clean and staff were really nice. Bed was pretty comfy too. The only thing is the hotel is far from the airport, like 45 min far. But we were within walking distance to all the main sights and restaurants so I guess it's just a big city. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#11 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#12 Family Hotel in Athens
#25 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens, exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Athens Gate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.