We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, excellent Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Athens Gate Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Athens Gate Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Athens Gate Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 324 hotels in Athens
Tucson AZ
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Great Location, excellent Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Exceptionally well located, right across the street from Zeus's temple and a 10 minute walk to the Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum. It is in the midst of literally 100's of restaurants of all types, and more souvenir shops than I ever imagined existed. It is located on a main thoroughfare so that taxis, buses, subways are all easily accessible.

About 30 minutes from the airport (a 35 Euro ride) it is also accessible from the airport by train.
Service is exceptionally friendly; everyone we encountered spoke fluent English.
Breakfast is included, and consists of pre-made scrambled eggs, pre-cooked fried eggs, potatoes, bacon, sausage a variety of cold cuts, breads, fruits, cereals, and yogurts as well as coffee, tea and juices. Not the greatest breakfast, but certainly good enough. Breakfast is served on the Rooftop Garden which has amazing views of the Acropolis and Zeus's Temple and city views. You'll want to bring your camera there for breakfast and at night for drinks or dinner, when the sights are lit up. You can sit inside, or along the balcony outside.

The rooms are typical European, don't expect spaciousness. But it is clean, comfortable and we had no complaints at all. Minimalistic but comfortable. It includes a refrigerator mini-bar and our room (I think most rooms) had a balcony. Our balcony was facing a side street (that's OK, we weren't at the hotel for the views) but many face the Temple of Zeus. There are plenty of electrical outlets, decent lighting and the bathroom is larger than many European hotels with a good shower and vanity.

There is free wi-fi at night on the rooftop garden (watch where you sit, not all areas have good signal strength) and free wi-fi in the lobby (with good signal strength) all day long. The lobby is nicely appointed, large and comfortable. If you need a space to sit and use the wi-fi for a while, you will find the lobby accommodating. About the only negative (and you have to look hard for a negative) is that the elevators are small and a bit slow, but that's just nit-picking in an attempt to find something that is not right about this hotel.

We paid about $550 for 3 nights and I would consider this a great deal, especially considering the location (perfect) clean rooms and great service. Not the Ritz or Four Seasons; I wouldn't come here for my honeymoon or 25th wedding anniversary for example, but you definitely get your money’s worth and, as someone who typically stays at the Ritz or Four Seasons, I can say that I was very pleased with this hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a balcony room facing the Temple of Zeus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,959 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,153
    675
    110
    14
    7
See reviews for
253
1162
92
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange Park, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel is exactly where you want to be in Athens. It offers great views from either side (with the Acropolis side winning--IF you are on a sufficiently high floor.) You are in easy walking distance of all the major center city sights.

The rooms are modern and relatively comfortable. They are curiously floored in cheap, imitation "wood" flooring that squeeks, and the furnishings are sparse and a bit worn. For a hotel that bills itself as a 4 star, the rooms don't get to that standard.

I sent an e-mail to the hotel to ask if they could arrange for a driver to pick us up at the cruise terminal. Reply: "We don't make travel arrangements."

Service at the rooftop lounge with a magnificent view of the Acropolis and the Temple of Zeus was truly awful. While the food and drink at this wonderful site are quite reasonably priced, the service staff can't be bothered to serve anyone...you have to track them down and ask for what you want.

In summary, this is a nice, clean hotel just where you really want to be. The rooms and service are only "acceptable", but then, that's good enough for this stop on your journey.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 5th floor or above on the Acropolis side of the hotel. You will pay extra for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed 3 nights. Decent rooms. A bit small but clean and perfect location. The elevators were so small. The kids had so much fun all of us squeezing in. We had 2 rooms connected. Felt safe. It was walking distance to the aacropolis.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

If you're looking for a very clean, modern, renovated hotel with 99 rooms in Athens with superb location and views, then you've found the right hotel. Was just over $200 for Temple of Zeus views/balcony, but worth it given the amenities (safe, slippers, toiletries), nice bathroom, spacious lobby and free wifi in lobby and rooftop (after noon time) with free breakfast, blackout curtains and thick paned glass (city traffic noise is expected), quiet aircon (we were on 4th floor), good water pressure, walking distance to Parliament, Plaka, Acropolis and the museum. You can do Athens in 2 days. Highly recommend Belpaese restaurant (turn right out of hotel, 2 blocks (go past the clothing stores) and then right onto Athanasiou Diakou for the best Italian food ever! The food at the rooftop terrace dinner was nothing extraordinary but very large portions so you can share. Views are magnificent. Check in/out were efficient and friendly! Taxi to/from airport if 35-38 euro so have about 40 euros ready - it's a long ways away and if you have luggage, taking the X95 airport shuttle bus (1hour) might not be worth the savings nor the 10 minute walk from Syntagma square station. Do not hesitate to book!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed just one night here but loved it!
Can't beat the location less than 2 blocks from the Plaka.
Best area and the view from their rooftop bar/restaurant was the best!
Great shots of the Acropolis and the Temple of Zuess.
We would definitely stay here again, loved it!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had to break our stay at Athens Gate for a night, fly to Santorini, and return to Athens Gate 4-days later.

The staff were very accommodating and readily helped to arrange storage for our bulky luggage so we can conveniently bring just a cabin trolley instead.

Both times (before & after Santorini), we had a room with a wonderful view of the Temple of Zeus. The first room I stayed in was a deluxe room with 2 single beds and the second had a queen-sized bed. Both times, the beds were comfortable and the sheets spotless. All the amenities in the room were well maintained & one could tell that housekeeping was meticulous in cleaning all the corners.

In the room with the queen bed, space was a bit tight for 2 persons after we opened up our 2 large suitcases. We had to keep the luggage closed in order not to trip. Somehow, the one with the twin beds was more spacious. Perhaps it was the way the beds were positioned.

The breakfast buffet was sufficient but don't expect any surprises - it's the same spread everyday. Go early to get a seat facing the Acropolis.

Athens Gate is within walking distance from the Parliament house, the National Park, Acropolis, Plaka, and a few other key attractions.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights, Aug 25th and 26th. The taxi driver at the airport brought us right to the hotel when given the correct street address. We were impressed with that.
It was Sunday afternoon and we came in from Venice.
The hotel overlooks the Temple of Zeus and that information on their website is what had attracted me to make a booking in the first place.
The view from our room on the 6th floor was nice and at night we could also see the Acropolis all lit up which was exciting.
It was seen that there are several hotels in the area in a semi circular pattern that surround the Temple of Zeus. However, the street in general was run down and if you walked a bit to the right of the door as you exited and another right brought you in to a large road with lots of shops empty. But I guess that goes with the economy in Greece.
Our room was comfortable and clean and so was the bathroom with plenty of clean towels and hot water. They did provide us with a coffeemaker and that was a plus.
Breakfast was served on the Roof Garden at the very top of the building and it was elaborate.
They also serve dinner and snacks in the evenings which was a very relaxing way to spend an evening overlooking the street and traffic lights of Athens and the Acropolis.
Service during dinner time was good. Breakfast service was ok but could be better.
Front desk attention was sketchy but on 27th morning they did efficiently call us the taxi to go to the airport to fly to Mykonos.
Overall I would recommend this hotel for a brief stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel
Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Athens
#7 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Athens
#18 Business Hotel in Athens
#25 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens, exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Athens Gate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.