We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Athens Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Athens Gate Hotel to your Saves list
The Athens Gate Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece (Thissio / Makriyanni)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excellent location!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed just one night here but loved it!
Can't beat the location less than 2 blocks from the Plaka.
Best area and the view from their rooftop bar/restaurant was the best!
Great shots of the Acropolis and the Temple of Zuess.
We would definitely stay here again, loved it!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,456
    924
    154
    24
    11
See reviews for
366
1,522
119
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (632)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had to break our stay at Athens Gate for a night, fly to Santorini, and return to Athens Gate 4-days later.

The staff were very accommodating and readily helped to arrange storage for our bulky luggage so we can conveniently bring just a cabin trolley instead.

Both times (before & after Santorini), we had a room with a wonderful view of the Temple of Zeus. The first room I stayed in was a deluxe room with 2 single beds and the second had a queen-sized bed. Both times, the beds were comfortable and the sheets spotless. All the amenities in the room were well maintained & one could tell that housekeeping was meticulous in cleaning all the corners.

In the room with the queen bed, space was a bit tight for 2 persons after we opened up our 2 large suitcases. We had to keep the luggage closed in order not to trip. Somehow, the one with the twin beds was more spacious. Perhaps it was the way the beds were positioned.

The breakfast buffet was sufficient but don't expect any surprises - it's the same spread everyday. Go early to get a seat facing the Acropolis.

Athens Gate is within walking distance from the Parliament house, the National Park, Acropolis, Plaka, and a few other key attractions.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights, Aug 25th and 26th. The taxi driver at the airport brought us right to the hotel when given the correct street address. We were impressed with that.
It was Sunday afternoon and we came in from Venice.
The hotel overlooks the Temple of Zeus and that information on their website is what had attracted me to make a booking in the first place.
The view from our room on the 6th floor was nice and at night we could also see the Acropolis all lit up which was exciting.
It was seen that there are several hotels in the area in a semi circular pattern that surround the Temple of Zeus. However, the street in general was run down and if you walked a bit to the right of the door as you exited and another right brought you in to a large road with lots of shops empty. But I guess that goes with the economy in Greece.
Our room was comfortable and clean and so was the bathroom with plenty of clean towels and hot water. They did provide us with a coffeemaker and that was a plus.
Breakfast was served on the Roof Garden at the very top of the building and it was elaborate.
They also serve dinner and snacks in the evenings which was a very relaxing way to spend an evening overlooking the street and traffic lights of Athens and the Acropolis.
Service during dinner time was good. Breakfast service was ok but could be better.
Front desk attention was sketchy but on 27th morning they did efficiently call us the taxi to go to the airport to fly to Mykonos.
Overall I would recommend this hotel for a brief stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
320 reviews 320 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Layovers, I suspect, is a common purpose for this hotel. We were amongst a hoard of other cruisers the morning we departed. They derive a lot of business from their positive association with TripAdvisor, and they work that to the hilt.

Not the least expensive alternative at $190 Euro ($250.00 USD), but a very comfortable accommodation consistent with the price. Our room faced the main drag, Syngrou Ave, across which was the Temple of Zeus (such that it still exists). With a little French balcony I could watch the hectic Athens traffic for hours. Once the balcony door was closed, however, very little obtrusive street noise.

And the best part, the rooftop restaurant/bar. My wife and I had a snack up there when we arrived and then had dinner up there later. With little time to do a tour of Athens, we were content to take pictures of the Acropolis from afar as well as several other illuminated ruins that you can see from your rooftop perch. See pictures attached.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We took two lovely rooms on the 2nd floor overlooking the Temple of Zeus - what a marvelous view! The rooms were not tiny, one of them (a corner room) was actually quite large. They also had very comfy beds and were spotlessly clean. Excellent, friendly service from all the staff.

There are outstanding views of the Acropolis, the Temple of Zeus and the whole of Athens from roof terrace where you take breakfast (high quality and included in the room rate) - and you can also have lunch/dinner up there if you wish although there are some excellent restaurants within a five minute walk from the hotel - we went to Smile and Mani Mani.

The hotel is very conveniently located, about 150 metres from the Acropolis metro station (8 euros per person from the airport or less if you buy for more than one person). The Acropolis itself is about a five minute walk - I would recommend getting there when it opens at 8 am to avoid the crowds.

Free Wi-Fi is not available in the room but is available in the lobby and also on the roof terrace from noon onwards - my husband managed to participate in a tele-conference in a quiet part of the lobby so it was not too much of a problem for us.

The only bad bit - strange antiquated lifts - I managed to get my finger trapped in the inner door and that was very painful - watch out! Other than that, I can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Dining at the Athens Gate Hotel Rooftop terrace while gazing at the Acropolis as the sun sets and the lights come on is magical. And the Acropolis is still there in the morning for a great start to your day. This is a wonderful hotel with helpful staff, great location, and small, but very well appointed rooms and comfortable bed. Yes, it's on a busy street that is not always quiet, but it's Athens and you have the Acropolis as your dining view! Does it get any better?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here on our final night of our honeymoon. With one day in Athens, we wanted a convenient location to see the sights. Definitely got that with the Athens Gate.

Price was excellent, and the included breakfast on the gorgeous roof deck was beyond impressive. Room was definitely small, but to be expected in a big city. We were upgraded to a scenic room for our honeymoon, and were given a bottle of wine and fruit, which was a nice touch.

Elevators were kind of crazy-we are from NYC and these were far smaller than anything we have seen in the city.

No real frills, but that's not what we were looking for during our stay in Athens.

All in all, great value for price, awesome location, solid choice!!

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the Temple of Zeus-very cool view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#12 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#12 Family Hotel in Athens
#30 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Athens Gate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.