We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit noisy but unrivalled views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Athens Gate Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Athens Gate Hotel to your Saves list
The Athens Gate Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 326 Hotels in Athens
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bit noisy but unrivalled views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Upon arrival at 5am we were thankfully able to check in early and take our sleep deprived selfs off to bed. After sleeping till about 12 we realised that our room has little or no view. I asked the reception staff if there was any chance of a room with a better view and was informed they could offer us an upgrade. The view from this room was spectacular! We now had a view of the Temple of Zeus, mountains etc. There was also a window in the shower cubicle which allowed us to shower whilst soaking up the view.

The rooms were fairly spacious and had everything you needed. Wifi was only available in the lobby area and after midday on the roof terrace.There are 2 PCs and a printer in the lobby too if you so require.

Every morning we enjoyed our breakfast on the roof terrace and depending on where you sit you are treated to either a view of the Acropolis or the Temple of Zeus. Breakfast itself was OK; pastries, bacon, eggs, toast, cereal and fruit.

The location is the best part of the hotel. The Acropolis and Musuem were a short 5 minute walk away and the back streets of Plaka and Monastiraki were only 10 mins away.

The only downside to the hotel is that as it is situated on a main road it can be quite noisy. We learnt while in Athens that the use of car horns is not for emergency situations like in the UK. They are used constantly and by everyone. I live in central London so the traffic noise didn't bother me too much.

All in all I would definitely stay here again as the location and views were amazing!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper or not used to traffic noise then try and get a room to the back of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,365
    864
    146
    23
    11
See reviews for
328
1,444
109
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. Very convenient location. Terrific staff with a particular compliment to the house keeper who was very helpful to my wife, great breakfast with a view that must be seen (photographed). Restricted free wifi but this helps to keep you out of the internet and concentrate on whats important, Athens.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The hotel rooms are very small but for a short 2 night stay it was all we needed. The staff were all friendly and helpful, the breakfast was delicious with a fabulous view of the Acropolis and Parthenon, and the start of the plaka was just around the corner. I would definitely be happy to stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

A well priced hotel. Friendly and polite staff who are willing to help and understand service provision. The roof top restaurant provides god food at reasonable price. We enjoyed breakfast and diner watching the sun rise and sent on ancient building/ruins. We plan to visit Athens again and will stay at the Athens Gate.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view to the front of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

If you want value in downtown Athens, this is the spot. The rooms are small, but the air conditioning works and the beds are comfortable. The view from the roof top bar and restaurant is superior in all directions. The front of the hotel faces a busy, noisy street. Breakfast is free with the room price.

Room Tip: If you want a view, select a room facing the main street. If you want peace and quite, select a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night and were very impressed with the hotel. It is all about location, location and location. It is very close to the Acropolis area and walking distance to a lot of attractions in Athens. The staff was very helpful and allowed us to check in real early (~ 8a.m.) and even upgraded us to a room w/ balcony overlooking the temple of Olympian Zeus. The breakfast buffet was good but the view of the Acropolis from the rooftop garden was spectacular. We would definitely want to come back here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Great location! Convenient for accessing all the "important" sights of Athens by foot! Our room, on the 3rd floor, overlooked the Temple of Zeus....so cool to look out the windows and see that sight just across the street. Service was terrific and included a delicious breakfast every morning. The only "funky" thing about the hotel was the antiquated elevators---but after a couple of days, we got used to them!

Room Tip: Ours was on the 3rd floor overlooking The Temple of Zeus with Syngrou Avenue just below us. It is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#12 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#12 Family Hotel in Athens
#31 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens, exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Athens Gate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.