We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and location for a short stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Athens Gate Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Athens Gate Hotel to your Saves list
The Athens Gate Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 324 Hotels in Athens
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and location for a short stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were only in Athens for 2 days so a good location for hotel was very important !

Arrived late so took the Taxi straight from airport with very little hassle. It was at fixed rate. Rooms are clean and nice size with everything you expected to be there. Breakfast with a view was amazing and decent spread considering part of package!

One thing to note is that the staff were very helpful and accommodating. We were originally put in a room directly facing the busy road and was unable to sleep 1st night so requested for a room change facing the back and they tried to help us there successfully. We also asked for restaurant recommendations and they were spot on ! Smile (short walk from hotel) was a lovely restaurant, good for a quick bite and had amazing gyros!

Room Tip: Avoid low floors or rooms facing the street. Due to its prime location, it's in a very busy are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,379
    874
    147
    23
    11
See reviews for
339
1,451
111
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (590)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Hotel was located in an excellent location just a few minutes walk from Acropolis metro; however we referred to Google maps which had pinned it wrongly and we spent an hour looking for it instead.

Other than the small mishap, the hotel was clean, modern and had nice art pieces in the lobby. No free wifi in the room which is uncommon these days but was available in the lobby and rooftop (hard to detect though). Service was generally good so no complaints on that. Another reason for choosing this hotel is the view, the view, the view. Breakfast at the roof top allows you to see the Acropolis in the day, drinks at night allows you to see the splendour of the Acropolis at night.

Only small complaint was the small old-school lift which could only fit 4 people.

Room Tip: Please do not refer to Google Maps for this location as it was way wrong! Also ask for higher floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We have stayed at the Athens Gate Hotel both last year and again this past May. The staff is great and we love the location. It is within walking distance to many of Athens attractions. The breakfeast is very good and the view from the top is fantastic. The rooms are comfortable and clean and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had a reservation at another 4* hotel, around the corner from the Athens Gate. Upon arrival in Athens we were informed that they had overbooked and we would be moved to the Athens Gate. This was certainly our gain and not our loss, as we had a wonderful stay and were offered fantastic rates to make up for the 'inconvenience'. We experienced great service from all staff. The hotel is perfectly located; within easy walking distance of the ancient sites of Athens, the Plaka, Syntagma Square, the Flea Market, etc. The Hop-on-hop-off-bus stops 1 block away from the hotel and for those who are visiting Athens for 1 or 2 days only, this is a great way of seeing the different faces of Athens. We had a corner room on a high floor (7th floor), so traffic noise was no problem at all. The rooftop restaurant and bar has an unrivalled view of the Acropolis and the food is excellent. We had breakfast in the restaurant each day and a wonderful dinner on our last night in Athens.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The hotel is nice and the location is ideal. Breakfast is good but dinner is definitely NOT worth the money. The view from the top is great, you can enjoy it during breakfast or drinks, don't waste your money on dinner there, you can find many very good restaurants in Plaka. One thing that I found very annoying is that they refused to bring me an iron to use. I needed to iron 2 of my husband's shirts and I called reception to ask if i can please have an iron for 10 minutes. They told me I can't, "for safety reasons" but they offer ironing services and the list of prices is in the room. I find that very annoying because I have never stayed in a hotel where I was not able to use one of their irons for 10 minutes!!!! And we travel a lot! Ironing a shirt was 5 euros!
The staff was OK but not very friendly, I found them pretty cold and the type that could not be bothered to be nice.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back have a terrible view towards a building and the trash downstairs...If you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

If you want to visit the ancient sites of central Athens this is the perfect hotel. Everything is within easy walking distance. It is especially well placed for the temple of Olympian Zeus, the Acropolis and the new Acropolis museum. The rooftop restaurant and bar has an unrivalled view of the Acropolis and the food is excellent.

Room Tip: There is a lot of traffic noise from the side facing the temple of Olympian Zeus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had only 2 days in Athens, and were lucky to choose this hotel. Most of the major tourist attractions can be covered on foot or our favourite, Segway. The rooms were clean and the staff were helpful. Innumerable restaurant/bar options are within walking distance, which meant that we walked a lot! :-)
Excellent view of the acropolis from our room balcony. Rooftop terrace restaurant has a beautiful acropolis backdrop. Breakfast itself was basic continental.
Very good value for money & outstanding location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#12 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#13 Family Hotel in Athens
#29 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens, exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Athens Gate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.