We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Athens Gate Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Athens Gate Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Athens Gate Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 324 hotels in Athens
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had only 2 days in Athens, and were lucky to choose this hotel. Most of the major tourist attractions can be covered on foot or our favourite, Segway. The rooms were clean and the staff were helpful. Innumerable restaurant/bar options are within walking distance, which meant that we walked a lot! :-)
Excellent view of the acropolis from our room balcony. Rooftop terrace restaurant has a beautiful acropolis backdrop. Breakfast itself was basic continental.
Very good value for money & outstanding location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,266
    773
    125
    20
    10
See reviews for
300
1318
99
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Magnificient view from The Athens Gate Hotel! I stayed there during my holidays in Athens in April/May 2013. The room I stayed in was perfect! Hotel is in a good location, walking distance to Acropolis, Plaka, Syntagma shopping area, Temple of Olympian Zeus, etc. Good food at the rooftop restaurant and hotel staff were all friendly. Overall, I am very pleased with their service.

Room Tip: Higher floors are always better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medellin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

we liked it. Has an excellent location at few minutes walking from Plaka and the Acropolis. The service is very good , good breakfast and a breathtaking view to the Acropolis from the roof restaurant, and from your room if you are lucky to get one at the correct side and a high floor.
we had also dinner at the Roof restaurant, and the food and vine were very good.
Only fault: to have to pay for the Wi-fi access. Signal is the room was very good.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor room, with view to the Acrópolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The 4 days that we had in Athens we wanted to stay as near as we can to the heart of Athens and we found Athens Gate hotel to be just amazing. The service was absolutely helpful and accommodating! We loved the view of our room! Parthenon seems to be so near that you can stretch your hand and catch it! The only negative, that it was just a detail, was that the free wifi in restaurant never worked for me but as i said it was just a small detail compared to all good that the hotel offers!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Our first night we didn't get any sleep at all due to how loud the traffic was. The beds / pillows were very uncomfortable.

We ended up switching to the non scenic view side which solved the the honking problem. They did have us on first floor so perhaps higher up its not so bad.

The location is unbeatable and it had a great rooftop bar.

We had to dry some laundry and upon asking for hangars
The staff was so friendly they went room to room finding them for us.

With a little remodeling this would be a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Staff was outstanding and very accommodating. Hotel is nice and modern, but needs some minor repairs on the carpeting and esthetics. Small lift fits two ppl tops but if you have traveled to europe then it is typical for a smaller-hotel. Room was very clean and simple, nothing fancy, balcony was simple with no frills, they should Put a bench or a couple of chairs and table out for guest to enjoy the awesome views. Bed needs some upgrading. Shower was strong like in the states which is not typical in the parts of Europe I have traveled but since its an open shower, water kinda gets all over. Rooftop views and restaurant were OUTSTANDING. Food was delicious and staff was incredible. We had an early ferry to santorini and they staff had a cab waiting and a bag full of sandwiches, apples and cake for our ferry ride, which was so generous and thoughtful.

All in all I highly recommend the Athens Gate for their outstanding customer service. It's located in a great and relatively safe area of Athens which is not my favorite city and never has been,but I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed here in April 2013. We made our reservations through one of the online booking agencies which said we had free internet service. Everything else we read said there was a charge for wireless in the bedrooms and free in the restaurant and lobby. As it turned out, we did not have free access so since we were only there for one night we decided not to pay the additional fee. I don't understand the reasoning here. It's 2013, why wouldn't a large hotel in a tourist area in one of the most amazing cities in the world NOT have free internet? Makes no sense to me.

We found the staff to be very nice and helpful. We were met at the front desk with water and sugar candies. The door man helped us with some directions and advice on getting to the airport on our last day in Athens. We found that most everyone spoke English to some extent so communicating was easy.

The location is easy walking distance for the major sites in Athens. It's located on a busy street so we asked for a quiet room in the back. This meant a room on the upper floor with our window looking out literally onto a stairway in the back. Not a huge issue but they did hose the stairs off at about 8am. Since we were only there for the one night, I let this all slide.

The restaurant and breakfast area are on the roof. There's a beautiful view of the Temple of Zeus and the Acropolis. The breakfast was plentiful and tasty with hot and cold options. Our first (and only ) night, we had Limonella on the roof, enjoyed the view and surfed the internet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#9 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Athens
#10 Spa Hotel in Athens
#17 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens, exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Athens Gate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.