We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Athens Gate Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Athens Gate Hotel to your Saves list
The Athens Gate Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great local hotel withing walking distance to great restaurants, shops and local culture.
The rooms are very clean and hotel staff very helpful in any matter. We would stay here
again when we travel to Greece which is such a wonderful country.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,362
    864
    144
    23
    11
See reviews for
327
1,442
109
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Verdi
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This place had wonderful breakfasts each day and a wonderful view from the rooftop restaurant, which doubles as their gathering place for wi-fi at night. My only complaint was our difficulty with getting the thermostat to work properly. Since we arrived in the middle of the night, we toughed it out the first night. The second night someone came to the room and helped us get it right. Do take the Metro to the Acropoli Station, or take it to Syntagma and then take a taxi on to the hotel. When you first arrive, it's a bit confusing to find your way around the small streets to the hotel, but as you leave, you'll know just where you are . A short walk to the Acropolis; the Acropolis Museum and of course the PLAKA......

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Had to cancel this hotel as my daughter's flight was cancelled and she was stranded in London. I booked this hotel via Expedia and although the cancellation deadline had passed, the hotel authorized a full refund. I was very impressed with how this was handled and will be staying here in May when I visit my daughter who is studying there this semester.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California, United States
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here for four days prior to a cruise and could not have been more pleased. Before we left, I read a review that said to take the train to the Syntagma station. That works, but when you're hot, tired, and hauling a suitcase a better to choice is the Acropoli station which is less than 100 yards from the hotel!! The lobby was small but elegant. The staff, from the front desk to the doorman to the maids were extremely friendly and helpful (and they all spoke excellent English). The small elevator was an adventure but functional. The room was medium size and beautifully decorated as well as spotless. We had a room on the front facing the busy street and the Temple of Zeus. The Temple is lit at night and the view spectacular - you always knew you were in Athens. The street was only noisy if the windows were open. Since we were there in warm September, we kept the balcony door mostly closed and the doors were high quality and shut out most of the sound. It was not an issue at all, even for my light-sleeping husband. The included breakfast was a hearty American style buffet but included Greek and other European foods as well. The Plaka was just down the block and there were probably 100 restaurants and bars within a mile. My only objection was that wifi was not available for free when we were there - apparently that has changed but there was free wifi everywhere else so it was not a big deal. The charming staff made up a sack breakfast for us since we left very early in the morning without us even asking. They were also very knowledgeable and eager to help with any questions. I would (and have) recommended this hotel to everyone and will certainly stay there again if I return to Athens.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I decided to write this review although I lodged in this hotel in december 2010, so things could have changed a bit since then. Nevertheless, I found this place charming, clean and very well located. I decided to stay there for a week because of other travelers good reviews and I could realize they were right. The rooms are comfortable and clean. I enjoyed the chocolate kisses the housekeepers let after cleaning. This is a small but strong detail. I also appreciate a hotel which includes breakfast with room fee, and the meals were for me delightful. I got a room with Parthenon view. Splendid! Every night I slept with the curtains fully opened. It was a kind of historic charm in that view... The only thing I apologize is the elevator (as usual in european buildings): too narrow (I guess it could fit at most 4 people without luggage...). The clerks were very helpful and they provided internet post near the bar (a plus!). I really recommend this hotel both for bussiness stays or vacations (is located at walking distance from Syntagma and Acropolis). Stay there and enjoy Athens!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Parthenon view (6+ floor). You will enjoy it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Getting there: from the airport we took the x95 which you can catch right outside the airport exit. Tickets are 5 Euros each way and will go to Syntagma station. This is not the closest station to the hotel; Acropoli is but we chose to walk from Syntagma. From where the bus drops you off, just follow the same road and Athens Gate is on the same side and is approximately 10mins walk with heavy luggage.

Rooms: upon arrival we were upgraded to a standard room from a budget room which was lovely. This was low season though and we paid 400 euros for 5 nights which included breakfast. The rooms were modern with minor decorations of Greek scenes in black and white. The bathroom was big enough with all the needed amenities which were replaced daily. As we were staying 5 days we hung up towels but they were still replaced daily which is great. Each day after sightseeing we came back to a clean room with crisply made bed which was heavenly. There was adequate heating system too as we were there during Winter and it snowed!

Internet: Free wifi is available ONLY on the roof garden where you have breakfast. But it is available and it is FREE. You just need to ask staff for password so we brought our iPads up there every morning during breakfast. Also there are 2 PC for guests to use with free Internet down in the lobby which were always available when I checked.

Breakfast: very good variety including eggs, bacon, sausages, cereal, yoghurt, fruit, pastries etc. you will not be disappointed and staff made me a hot chocolate every morning.

Location: the Acropolis is 5 mins walk as is the Acropolis museum. In this area you are spoilt for choice with restaurants and cafes everywhere. Prices were aimed at tourists but its a touristy area. Plaka is around 7 min walk and Acropoli station is 3 mins walk down the road. There are also many souvenir shops around as well. Overall the hotel is central and location is perfect.

Small gripe: the only gripe and its a minor one that's not entirely the hotels fault but I thought I would mention it anyway. We were staying on the 5th floor of 7 floors, so pretty high up and twice, on Wednesday and Thursday at 3:30am I was woken by what I assume is the garbage truck outside the window. It was a loud cranking sound that seemed to last for ages. On the 2nd time; I couldn't get back to sleep so maybe if this happens regularly; the hotel could look into sound proof windows?

Overall, yes I would come back for all the great things mentioned above.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up away from the garbage collection side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have stayed here twice before embarking on a cruise. It is a fantastic location and the rooftop restaurant has excellent views of the Acropolis and nearby neighbourhood as well as a decent eveniing menu and good breakfast menu. Good for a walk around nearby local shops and restaurants too. Would recommend

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#11 Family Hotel in Athens
#12 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#28 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens, exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Athens Gate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.