We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Athens Gate Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Athens Gate Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Athens Gate Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 324 hotels in Athens
Yorba Linda, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

WOW! This hotel was very central to the maor attractions--very close walking distance to the Acropolis. Amazing view of the Temple of Zeus. Rooftop breakfast was amazing--great food and breathtaking views. Rooms were nice. we got a 3rd bed so the area was busy with all the suitcases, but still manageable.
They offer Greek Delights upon entering--very good!!
John in the bar has some great suggestions for sights to see and makes a great latte!!

Definitely recommend this gorgeous hotel.

Room Tip: Upon arrival ask for a Temple of Zeus view room. If you ask for it before they may want to charge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,241
    748
    123
    20
    10
See reviews for
288
1289
96
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Lovely hotel. Very clean and great location - very central. The staff were friendly and put on a courtesy coach when there was a traffic strike which was really helpful and convenient. Have stayed there twice now and will likely stay again next year.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Prior to our arrival in Athens we had researched many hotels in the area and this seemed the best. We knew that the location would be good and the pictures on the hotel website were quite helpful. Little did we know that the pictures did little justice compare to what we actually found. The rooms were small but very modern and quite comfortable. When making reservations ensure that you ask for a double bed, that is if you desire to cuddle next to that special someone. Many beds in Europe have singles that can are either separate or pushed together. The first room was one such as this and we declined it and chose a room with a double bed and balcony. The elevators or "lifts" are quite small and my wife and I barely fit with just the two of us and our baggage.

Soon after we dropped our bags we headed to the roof to check out the rooftop restaurant and lounge. The sights and view of the city took our breath away. Being we were already there and didn't feel like venturing out we ordered a meat and cheese plate as we thought it would be a light snack. We were wrong (see attached picture.) It was a massive plate and very tasty. Soon we were stuffed and knew that dinner was not going to be an issue. We spent the remainder of the day chatting, sipping beverages and enjoying the sights of Athens in the fading days light. The trip was off to a wonderful start

We have traveled quite a bit and are usually a bit skeptical of hotels that offer and included breakfast. The fare most often consists of coffee, cold cereal and a room temperature danish. Not so at the Athens Gate hotel. Upon our awakening the next morning and venturing to the roof we were welcomed by an impressive fare both in quantity and quality. Soon we had a carafe of hot coffee and were filling ourselves with fresh baked bread, bier sausage and cheese, egg quiche, scramble and poached eggs as well as fresh granola, yougurt, fruits and assorted pastries. It was the perfect source of fuel up necessary for a day of seeing the sights of Athens. Watching the sun come up on the Acropolis as we ate was just an added bonus.

As we ventured out we found that the hotel was just about a block away from an area that has many small street side stores, restaurant cafes and coffee shops. These establishments here are less expensive than the hotel but no less quality. Sitting street side while sipping a cappuccino and watching the scene is a must.

The hotels concierge was very helpful in provided us any information that we required. Additionally, we arrange a coach trip to the Oracle and Delphi and had an amazing time. The desk also called anyone we requested such as our Cab driver and the Harley Davidson dealership (to confirm hours.) Quite often the staff inquired with us as to if we needed anything and if our stay was going well. They know how to run an inn.

If one wished to rent a car (not recommended or necessary) there is an Avis office located in the lobby. The only free internet capability is either on the room via a wireless connection or in the lobby on the hotel provided desktops. To have internet in your room it is on a pay-as-you-go basis. It is a bit pricey so we chose to always drag out laptop up to the roof. Each and every night we sat and downloaded and shared photos with our loved ones back home as we sipped Ouzo and munched on fresh pistachios.

Overall, the Athens Gate Hotel was an integral part of an amazing trip. If ever we find ourselves back in Greece there is no question as to where we will stay.

See you on the trail and remember, don't be one of "Those"
John Eric

Room Tip: -For quieter rooms request a room on the back side of the hotel -Ensure that you request a room awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at the Athens Gate for 2 nights, during the last leg of our 9-day Greece trip with family. The best thing about the hotel is the location. Its right across the Parthenon and very close (walking distance) to almost all key sites. The hotel is well-maintained, the rooms are nice and comfortable and the staff was very cordial and cooperative.

We really enjoyed the roof-top restaurant, which gave a great view of the Acropolis at night. The breakfast spread was quite good and the ambiance of the restaurant was great.

The only issue I found was that wi-fi in the rooms was charged. It was the first place through the trip where I ended up paying for internet. Other than that, everything about the hotel was very good

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed here for a few days before our cruise. We arrived the day before the strike. Our hotel was centrally located and walking distance to the Acropolis, museums and subways. Our room was clean and on the second floor near the small elevator. Breakfast was very good. From the restaurant, you could see the Acropolis and the Temple of Zeus. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The hotel has a good location( close Plaka neighberhood) but be careful with the room The best are in front of the square with Zeus temple square view Breakfast is very good with an excelent view .Parthenon The staff are very friendly!!!! It is a very good three stars hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The advertised "free WiFi" in the restaurant was woeful. I would not put up with such poor service from my ISP. It constantly dropped out - you really need to pay for in-room WiFi if Internet is inportant to you.
Late checkout was a joke. We negotiated an extra 1/2 hour - until 12:30pm but then our card access to the room stopped working at 12:00pm.
The hotel is popular for guests waiting for cruise boarding but on asking whether there was a shuttle bus they looked at me as though I was from Mars. A number of guests ended up arranging for our own van to transport us to the port.
I got the destinct impression that they would have appreciated us waring our dollar bills on the outside of our clothing so they did not need to get us to open our wallet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthensGate1, General Manager at The Athens Gate Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Regarding your stay at The Athens Gate Hotel we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay.

The period you were staying here, a number of strikes in Public Transportation means took place, so it was not easy, for everybody, to move around these days. As far as the shuttle bus i can be sure that no one in the reception was not supportive to your request. In the event of strikes and demonstrations, all personnel in the Reception is trained to provide information for shuttle buses, and arrange one, if asked.

As far as the Internet Service i personally apologize if the service was not in the standards you were expecting, since i personally believe that it is an important value added service.

All of our staff is continually trained to offer personalized services, with a friendly and helpful way, (as stated in the majority of the reviews). Following our dedication to guest satisfaction, that it is our number one priority, we strongly believe that our guests’ opinion is the most important tool in order to improve our services.
Our philosophy is to treat each guest, as each one of us would like to be treated. Every guest is unique for us, and we are trying our best to meet his expectations.

If you felt at any point that we wanted " to process you", I personally, and all the Athens Gate Hotel team, apologize for this.

With kind regards,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#12 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#19 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens, exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Athens Gate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.