We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a business hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Pythagorion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Pythagorion Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Pythagorion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 Agiou Konstandinou Str., Athens 10437, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Not a business hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We arrived at this hotel at night in the middle of a thunder storm.

It is not in a very nice area and as two ladies we didn't really want to walk around at night or in the middle of a storm but the hotel doesnt have a restaurant so we weren't able to eat at all.There is also no bar so we couldn't get a drink. There is no where to work so we had to go straight to the airport after our meeting which was unpleasant. There is no wi-fi in the rooms.

Having said that the rooms are large and clean and the staff very helpful. I just wouldn't recommend it for business.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    97
    47
    14
    6
See reviews for
39
90
30
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

I cannot fault the staff at this Hotel, they are simply amazing. We arrived in Athens after a few delays due to air traffic control strikes, which while we were in the air became a full blown strike and no public transport was operating in Athens. We were unable to get from city centre to out hotel, so after ringing the hotel they sent a private taxi to collect us.

The room was clean, and comfortable, with free wi-fi access, a definite plus these days.

The location of the hotel is pretty good, just a short walk from Omonia station, which is a pick up point for the city bus tours, which is also well worth doing. While we agree that Omonia is a more gritty area, we did not at any point of our stay feel unsafe walking back at night.

Overall a good little hotel in a beautiful city

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

This was a great hotel. It had large, clean rooms and breakfast was a plus. It has a great location and is a good value for the dollar. I will stay here again on my next trip to Athens.

Room Tip: It is within walking distance to the metro with only one transfer to airport. Lots of good restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We have spent 3 nights at the Best Western Pythagorion and would highly recommend it.

The rooms were clean, the breakfast was good and fresh, the reception staff went out of their way to ensure we had an enjoyable stay.

Free wi-fi in the room worked perfectly.

The hotel is located a few blocks away from Omonia metro station not in the best area but we never felt in danger or in trouble.

Overall, great value of money- we would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA, USA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed here one night in October, paying about 30% of what we had paid for a night at a different hotel (Athens Gate) at the start of our trip. Yes, you get less here in terms of the view and the state of the accommodations and, especially, in terms of the breakfast. But do you get 70% less? No way. Our room here was functional and pretty pleasant, and the location is still pretty darn central and is convenient to the Metro as well. Overall, not a bad night's sleep at all. It offers you a different view of Athens, a very central, somewhat gritty city view of Athens, so it makes for a contrast from the more touristy Plaka district. The difference might help round out impressions of Athens for you.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Due to the transit strikes, I arrived late in the evening. Kostas was very helpful at the front desk. The room was great, although I had a room facing a back alley - not really scenic but at least very quiet. The three key elements that I look for in a hotel were met: plenty of hot water, strong wifi signal and good beds. When the wifi signal dropped off a couple of days into my stay, the front desk relocated me on the top floor with a large patio and a nice view of the Acropolis.

The rooms were spacious, clean and up to date.

Breakfast was quite good with meats, cheeses, yogurt and honey, eggs, juice toasts and coffee.

Geographically, the location is good but you must keep your wits about you when walking especially at night in the area. Although the area is well lit, I did witness a purse snatching in the square across the street and drug use is frequent and open. Not to worry though, because the hotel seemed very secure. There is a police station just up the street, but that seems to have little impact.

A 20 minute walk from the hotel, down Athina street takes you to the Acropolis through a very vibrant area.

Room Tip: Seventh floor has the strongest wifi signal - I walked around with my netbook checking out the floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Glad we only stayed in Athens for two nights. We were warned by multiple taxi drivers that we should not walk around the hotel's neighboring streets after dark. One driver even pointed to the street adjacent to the hotel and said "many drugs over there." The hotel itself is average, our room just fit us three slim girls with luggage. This seems on par with other hotels in Europe that I've stayed in. On the plus side, the bathroom looked new and clean and we had a small balcony. If you choose to walk to the Plaka area, its only like 15 minutes (even in the daytime, we were nervous when we accidentally stumbled onto the side streets). The breakfast was almost a waste of time- yogurt, bread, cheese, olives, sad looking french toast. The reception desk was minimally helpful regarding alternative transit options during the strike. Overall, it did its job as a hotel but don't expect too much.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN Pythagorion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Pythagorion Hotel

Address: 28 Agiou Konstandinou Str., Athens 10437, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#51 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Pythagorion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Pythagorion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Athens
Athens Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Pythagorion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.