We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for short stay; Very nice people-better then hilton Athens” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ilisia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Ilisia Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Ilisia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Michalakopoulou Street, Athens 11528, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #157 of 324 Hotels in Athens
washington D.C.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Very good value for short stay; Very nice people-better then hilton Athens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Coming through Athens after going to the Islands--I am not crazy about Athens so did not spend much time here. Stayed at the Hilton before, which is literally next door. For less than 1/2 the price of the way too pretentious Hilton, you get a clean room with internet and free breakfast. You also get very very nice staff and a great location. They need to do some things like put new carpet down in the hallways, but its a nice, clean place and a great value. I would stay here again if I have to come to Athens.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIMITRIOS T, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ilisia Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear doberman32,

Thank you for your feedback.

It seems you enjoyed your stay with us and this gives us great pleasure. We provide a great value proposition for a stay in Athens and we are glad that you found our team members friendly.

We hope to see you again in Best Western Ilisia Hotel in your next visit to Athens.

Best Regards,

Dimitrios Tsekouras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    29
    49
    21
    9
See reviews for
18
25
19
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stay in the Ilisia in Athens because it is convenient for visiting relatives who are based in Kessariani.

We were a bit disappointed this time because we normally book a particular room on the top floor which is at the back away from the road (very quiet) and which has a separate sleeping area for our daughter. We had booked that room, but were given on arrival a totally different double room with a child bed in it (so no room to swing a cat) which was at the front on the road. We weren’t that happy, but in the end we kept the air conditioning on all night which blocked out almost all the road noise.

The location of this hotel is not bad, it’s just beside the Hilton, and it’s cheap for Athens.

Room Tip: We stay in the Ilisia in Athens because it is convenient for visiting relatives who are based in Kes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The hotel is situated right behind the Hilton hotel, Starbucks coffee is right next to the hotel, and in walking distance some great tavern's. The rooms are clean, and comfortable, close to the city center, just one station away from Syntagma station (were the Greek Parlament is), and two stations from Monasteraki were you can find great shopping and food. Evangelismos is the subway station 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. And when you are ready to leave to the airport and do not want to pay 60 to 90 euro's, in front of the Hilton hotel runs the X95 bus, 6 euro's to the airport, 2 to 3 minutes walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romania
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The area is known to the people of Athens as The Hilton, and this hotel is located just behind the Hilton. Metro station 5 minutes walking distance, central attraction are at 2-4 stops away. And you can see Lycabette's Hill from just outside the hotel.
Rooms are small but have all the amenities, breakfast is decent, and you can park on the streets around the hotel. Easy access by car from the highway or airport.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Ideal hotel ,or couples close to the center,easy to go in & out of Athens by car,Clean , not noisy
excellent service ,fair price

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

For a 4 star hotel, is very poor at all levels. Average cleanness, small rooms, no confortable beds, old towels, no worries on details. Very poor breakfast. No wi-fi on upper flloors. Small, overall: poor. I've been in much better 3 stars than Ilisia.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIMITRIOS T, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ilisia Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Aguiarreviewer,

Thank you for your comments.
We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our services during your stay in July 2012.
Please note that significant changes have taken place since your last visit. Wi-Fi is now available throughout the hotel, free of charge, breakfast offering has been upgraded and attention to cleanliness has always been a priority.
Hoping that we can be of service in your next visit to Athens.

Best regards,
Dimitris Tsekouras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

In a city with few 'good value' hotels, the Best Western Ilisia is a gem. The excellent service and fair price make up for the simple rooms. This hotel is centrally-located, making it easy to get to all the sites, plus they offer free parking. I highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Athens.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Ilisia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ilisia Hotel

Address: 25 Michalakopoulou Street, Athens 11528, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Ilisia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ilisia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Best Western
Best Western Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Ilisia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.