We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16, Bouboulinas Str, Athens 10682, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 326 Hotels in Athens
East Anglia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Lovely clean rooms and very well situated for all public transport. I used metro from the airport and the open top tour bus to get around. Female traveller on my own with young son and I certainly didn't find the area frightening or intimidating. No one bothers you when you are walking around and we went out every night for something to eat. I have had more hassle and been more intimidated in tourist resorts where shop owners and cafe owners are trying to drag you in their premises! Please ignore the negatives about the area it's not posh but it certainly isn't dangerous and unsafe either.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pythagorion, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear customer,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments about your stay in Best Western Museum.

It's always gratifying to hear that we have been able to offer our guests a memorable stay and that our staff service and facilities met your expectations

Thank you and we hope to have you back with us on future visits to Athens.
Korahai Margarita
Reservations and Sales Department.

Best Western Hotel Museum***
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    182
    69
    16
    9
See reviews for
107
124
38
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The staff were available and spoke English. The rooms were tidy, balconies were good size.

The bathrooms are tiny, there was a prominent cigarette smoke/smell.

We noticed a lot of police and asked the front desk about the neighborhood and were told the police were a result of demonstrations and that it was a good friendly one..... We found it odd that staff kept encouraging us to catch taxis, until a local riding by us stopped out of concern to tell us that we weren't in a very nice neighborhood and suggested that we hightail it out of there.

I was injured in the hotel, the staff were quick to help me to a couch and get some ice, I had to ask about a cab and get myself down the road in order to catch one to get to a hospital and along with some misleading communications and being charged more than quoted which doesn't lend to leaving on a positive note.

I stayed at another hotel and a hostel while in Athens, I would recommend anywhere but here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou, China
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

服务专业,接待员耐心热情,英语好。房间干净整洁。酒店内部环境好。总体物超所值。考古博物馆斜对面。
Professional service. staff is very friendly and enthusiasm, speaking very good English. The room clean and tidy. Hotel internal environment is good and comfortable. The breakfest is good. Overall it is great value. The location is just opposite the back of the National Archaeological Museum.

周围环境不太好,有几条路较脏乱,
The surrounding environment is not so good. There are some streets around the hotel is not clean and some homeless stay nearby.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

On Tuesday 16th of October a collegue and myself stayed at The Museum hotel for just 1 night.
We arrived into the early evening and we were met by a very friendly and efficient gentleman on reception. We were directed to our rooms, mine was spotless with all the amenities one would expect , excellent shower , air conditioning , flat screen tv.
After a while we had to go out into the city on business, the reception staff informed us that our destination weas not too far away and drew us a route on a map, he recommended a few places to eat , telling us that it was a student area and that there were some very good and reasonable eateries.
later on in the evening we went out and indeed found an excellent restuarant on the square ,open air eating al fresco with wonderful food and very good wine from the barrel.
Returning to the hotel after arranging a wake up call , I had a very good sleep in a very comfortable bed. In the morning I had a very filling breakfast , all sorts of food was available , toast , boiled eggs , bacon sausage , ham cheese , breads cakes and tea coffee and juices.
My collegue and I managed a quick visit to the Acropolis , with once again a map of what to see provoded by the gentleman at reception , Check out was smooth with a cheery goodbye and do come again attitude.
I most certainly would stay here again,, this hotel is ideally placed fpr all the tourist sites and within easy walking distance to the shops and restaurants..
Nothing is too much trouble for the staff , even the cleaning lady in the morning was incredibly cheerful, thank you for a lovely stay ,pity it was only for one night !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maricá, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The hotel is very confortable, cute and charming. The hotel is very clean. The breakfest is amazing, there is a very good variaty food and fruits and bread and juice. Everybody treat you very well. If i return in Greece someday, probably i will stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pythagorion, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear customer,

It is with great pleasure that we read your comments following your recent stay at the Hotel Best Western Museum***.

Comments such as these are a great motivation for us all to keep trying and improving.

We appreciate the time you took to post your comments on Tripadvisor.com and we certainly hope you will be able to stay with us once more on future visits to Athens

I remain at your full service and disposal.

Mrs. Korahai Margarita
Reservation and Sales Executive
Best Western Hotel Museum***
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a well run hotel with very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are comfortable and spacious. Good range of brealfast foods on offer, including piping hot filter coffee. There is a wide range of bars and restaurants on nearby Exarchia Square - just ask the staff for recommendations. Don't allow yourself to be put off by the seediness of some of the local streets - the location is excellent for sightseeing. Overall a great value hotel Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Avoid smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I have stayed here countless times on my way through Athens, and have always been very satisfied. It seems more like a 4 star hotel than 3 star, so it is excellent value for money. The rooms are always clean and comfortable, and in the old wing there is quadruple glazing to keep the street noises out. The staff are always friendly and polite, and the buffet breakfast is generous, much better than other 3 star hotels in Athens. The local area may look a little off-putting for people not used to this part of the city, but it is largely a middle class intellectuals' and students' area (Exarhia), so the cafes and restaurants are civilised and good value for money, and there are no pickpockets! I know from living in this area previously. Looking forward to staying here soon!

Room Tip: The older wing has quadruple glazing, therefore quieter. The new wing has double glazing but bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pythagorion, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear customer,

It is with great pleasure that we read your comments following your recent stay at the Hotel Best Western Museum***.

We strive to exceed our guests' expectations and a review such as yours is very gratifying.

We appreciate the time you took to post your comments on Tripadvisor.com and we certainly hope you will be able to stay with us once more on future visits to Athens.

I remain at your full service and disposal.

Mrs. Korahai Margarita
Reservation and Sales Executive
Best Western Hotel Museum***
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel

Address: 16, Bouboulinas Str, Athens 10682, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Athens
Best Western Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.