We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average for quality rest” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16, Bouboulinas Str, Athens 10682, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 326 Hotels in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 405 Reviews
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Average for quality rest”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Warning, this hotel is located in a corner rather dangerous. We were a family of three young adults and some staff advised us not to walk around the hotel, even to find a restaurant. It was a disadvantage because apart from the breakfast (pretty average) and coffee, no meals are served in the hotel. We must therefore take a taxi to return to a touristic place as Plaka. (10 min by taxi) The room was small, and although appointed for three adults with two independent parts, only a thin sliding glass door separated part and leaned on the two different beds. The bathroom was clean and the elevator too, but the rooms are UNLIKE ANY images presented by the hotel. The rooms are OLD and SMALL. This hotel has no luxury either in aesthetics or quality. The worst thing is that AT NIGHT WE COULD HEAR PEOPLE TALKING in the corridors and rooms which made ​​sleeping very difficult. However, for the price, the hotel is perfect for dauntless students who want the spirit of backpacking around Athens.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pythagorion, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Thank you for having chosen the Best Western Museum on your recent visit to Athens.

The area of our hotel is not dangerous. It is part of the Athens centre where the life is beating and hundreds of people are walking around. The area has many trendy spots that someone can discover and is well known for its bookshops ,book publishing companies, big electronic stores which are visited by hundreds of customers every day.

There are cosy and petit cafes as well as two famous restaurants serving delicious Greek specialties at the nearby square within 200 metres distance. Lot of our customers use to take their dinner or lunch there and we receive nothing but only positive comments.

What our hotel staff might have suggested you and you misunderstood is to be careful with your personal belongings around crowded areas because of pick pocketing incidents not only in our area but also in the metro or crowded areas ( such as Acropolis, central squares, Plaka and other major sightseeing's with lot of people).
We always recommend that in case our customers stay out late at night to come back by taxi just to avoid any possible pick pocketing which unfortunately nowadays are happening in every big city in the world


Moving to the second issue that you mention in your review concerning the .breakfast

The selection of items on our Buffet Breakfast menu is always served fresh and exceeds the buffet standards of a three star hotel but also the breakfast standards defined by the Greek Law regarding hotel amenities and services according to star category.

Allow me to remind you of what our buffet is compiled

Orange and Peach juice
Different types of coffee (French, instant,decaffeinate, Greek)
Different types of herbs (Green & classic tea , chamomile . mint)
Milk
Honey
3 tastes of Jam ( orange, strawberry, blackberry)
Margarine & Butter
3 types of meat slices
Cheese (slices)
Omelette & Boiled eggs
Sausages & Bacon slices
Fresh fruits
Salad (Tomatoes and cucumber and Greek olives)
“Mixed vegetables in Brine” ,”PICKLES”
Yogurt,
Toasted bread,
2 types of round bread (rye and normal),
Sweet bread (Greek speciality),
Biscuits,
3 tastes of Greek sweets "of the spoon" (cherry, grape, blackberry)
Corn flaks , Choco flakes & Muesli fruit flakes

We would highly appreciate if you could inform us what in addition you would suggest for our breakfast buffet in order to have your expectations met ( taking also into consideration the value paid for the room).

To continue, we are surprised to learn that you found the room old and small . Our hotel was totally renovated in 2004 and every year undergoes a scheduled renovation. The rooms vary from 18 to 32 squares metres size and your room was one of the 32 square metres rooms!!! which cannot be considered small. Last renovation was the installation of new warm earth- colored carpets and brand new flat tv screens in every room.

Photos of the specific room you can find in every website that our hotel participates in and loading fake or twisted photos is beyond our mentality and philosophy.

The comfort as well as the warm and friendly ''family'' atmosphere of our hotel and rooms are characteristics that our guests always commend us on.

The customers of our hotel are employees on business trips, visitors from all over the world, professors and teachers due our vicinity with the Archaeological Museum and two major Universities . We offer also accommodation to backpackers tourists and students who they also deserve the same quality level of services as the rest of our guests.

In conclusion, we highly respect any comment that comes from our guest since it is based on constructive criticism and not outrageous unreasonable defaming after the departure.

Mr. Emmanuel Kardamis
Director
Best Western Museum Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    182
    69
    16
    9
See reviews for
107
124
38
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Genova, Italia
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

looking for a not so expensive hotel in athens, picked a best western, museum is just ok, no more. my room was small, though it had a nice view on the street through a small terrace, average breakfast and no further services, wifi was expensive and did not work well. it is in a quieter area. and yes at night it lights up in blue.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

The hotel is close enough to all the main sites of the city.
The rooms are very nice and comfortable, and the breakfast excellent. The price was more than reasonable.
We were greatly impressed by the staff - everyone was very friendly and helpful to us. The director of the hotel, Mr.Emmanuel Kardamis, is a person you never forget. He does his best to fulfill all the wishes of his guests. During our stay we wanted to go to the sea for one day, and he kindly organized this trip for us. We felt that we could rely on the hotel.
Thanks to the staff of Best Western Museum, Athens. See you again sometime.

Room Tip: Rooms with a large veranda
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresnes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed 5 nights and found the hotel very convenient: quiet street, comfortable room, very nice and helpful staff, ... We really enjoyed our stay. We and our 3 kids had "junior suite", for a reasonable price. Very clean. The staff helped us for the car renting and for our trip planning, and gave us very precious advice on taxis bill and restaurants. Thanks to them, our trip was a real success.

Room Tip: You can be 5 in a junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiedrich, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

This is a very nice and comfortable hotel, with good prices, in a less than desired neighborhood. The staff was really helpful to us, especially when we tried to find the hotel parking garage and got turned around. The many small streets around you prevent you from making a smooth 360 degree turn-around to return to the garage. So the desk manager handed the desk over to the overall manager and sprinted to my location (hurrah for cell phones) and personally guided us back to the garage entrance. We'd have been circulating for an hour, and without language skills could have been much worse. In any case - a nice combination of US/continental breakfast, good coffee, helpful folks and a clean room. There are some nice restaurants within a five minute walk. On the other hand, there are so many pan handlers and drug addicts that it can be distracting. Staying here, visiting the small restaurants is fine, and cabbing it anywhere in town is about ten Euros, so that's reasonable. I'd stay there again, especially because of the people who work there- they are super.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed here some years ago and opted to stay again for one night passing through Athens this time.
This hotel provides decent value, helpful staff, good breakfast, reasonable rooms and a convenient position. The Acropolis is a short taxi ride away (read all the tips you can on how to avoid being ripped off by Athens taxi drivers!) or a not unreasonable walk away for the energetic. The archealogical museum right next door is one of the most interesting places in Athens.
Regrettably Athens seemed a bit grotty to us last time and was significantly worse this time with endless graffiti, rubbish piled high around bins in the streets (possibly some sort of strike) and just didn't feel like a nice place to be.
Be warned that this hotel is on the edge of a less than desirable area (our taxi driver called it a "zone of anarchy" where apparently the police don't go) and there are plenty of drug addicts about as mentioned in other reviews. We never felt threatened walking about but I guess I wouldn't want to be walking around late at night.

Room Tip: The two bedroom suits higher up are good and spacious. Our one bedroom room this time was on the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wonthaggi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Recently started and finished a bicycle tour of Greece at this hotel. The staff were exceptionally helpful in organizing transport, providing room to assemble and disassemble our bikes and even provided a room to leave our bike boxes while touring Greece. The breakfast was fresh and tasty and the rooms were lovely and clean. Will definitely stay again if back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel

Address: 16, Bouboulinas Str, Athens 10682, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Athens
Best Western Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.