We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a must stay hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A for Athens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added A for Athens to your Saves list
A for Athens
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Miaouli 2 - 4, Athens 10554, Greece (Psirri / Gazi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 53 Athens B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“a must stay hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

what a fabulous hotel, location A+++++, room 42 perfect, never get tired of the view of the acropolis from this room. the staff are more than helpful, metro station right next door. the rooftop bar is fantastic with the views it offers, very popular with the locals, the hotel lift is tiny but dont let this put you off, the hotel staff always make sure guests have priority, we never waited more than 1 minute for the lift. i highly recommend this hotel to anyone purely on the location and staff, also the room we stayed in had plenty of room as far as european rooms go, and a lovely modern bathroom

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    196
    46
    24
    9
See reviews for
73
270
43
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We got a room on the 3rd floor with Acropolis view. The view was fabulous, especially when Acropolis lights up at night! The big and comfortable bed was right in front of the window and we could enjoy the great view all day and night long in absolute comfort. The room also overlooks the Monastiraki Square. Good for people-watching and checking out the bustling area.

Breakfast was a simple but good spread at the rooftop. Love the yoghurt! And of course, great view of Acropolis!

The hotel is easily accessible. It's just above the Monastiraki metro. Very convenient to get to and fro the airport via metro. Plaka Square, Syntagma Square, Acropolis, Acropolis Museum, Monastiraki Flea Market (it's more of a shopping street than a flea market) and Filopappos Hill are all within walking distance. Excellent base to explore Athens!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed at A for Athens during our honeymoon in Athens and it was a good stay. I'm not the type of person that will write down a review but this trip was our honeymoon and it really was an unforgettable one. We made check in at night and we enter to our room. When we open the curtains the views were breathtaking. The moment you will see Acropolis light full it will be a moment you will remember. Breakfast was very good and the rooms super clean and cozy. Only downside the small elevator. It really needs a better and bigger one.
Thanks for making our first days in Athens so great.

Nick and Emily

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I had a two night stay here. Initially I was given room 55, the problem here was that there was scaffolding over the windows, with sacking covering, so no daylight at all. The room would be fine when this is cleared.
I changed rooms to room 43 which is a beautiful room. Very large with sofas, table and chairs and a huge bed. Excellent shower room. Very large shower.
View out over Monestraki Square and up to the Acropolis. There is a taxi rank right outside of the hotel and an ice cream parlour right next door.
There is a bit of noise from the square, no more than is to be expected from the centre of a big city. I was not disturbed by the noise from the roof bar.
The roof bar is very popular with locals and visitors alike. The hotel lifts are tiny, three people at a push without luggage, as a consequence there are often long queues for the lift, however hotel staff always ensure that hotel guests are given priority to lift access.
Breakfast is served on the terrace, good views over the Square. Breakfast choice is fine, neither special nor sparse.
I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ioannina, Greece
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We only used the hotels cafeteria, on the roof.
Excellent view of acropolis, but I would recommend the sixth floor when there's sunshine, because the sun in Greece is ruthless!!!
Very good coffe, in rational for Athens prices.
They had snacks and brunch dishes that looked lovely.
On the down side the place was always overcrouded and noisy.
The service wasn't that good either.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

First of all the hotel has a really good location. At the center of "monastiraki" (downtown Athens) and just 50m walk from the metro station you can easily access any place of the city. The hotel is what you would call "boutique" since it is small but nice with a design that is simple but modern. The rooms are clean and of adequate space and the staff warm and friendly. The breakfast is fair enough (although I never liked hotels that charge extra for a cappuccino and this is also the case here) on the 6th floor of the hotel with a breathtaking view of the "Akropolis". At night at the same floor there is a very hip bar (a bit crowded though) that you must visit! The one thing I really didn't like was the elevators. With difficult just for 2 people and always busy at night (due to the bar) it can get frustrating at times. Other than that a nice hotel at a very good spot that I can recommend if you find it at a fair price range!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This great hotel occupies a good location on the side of Monastiraki Square as you exit the Metro station. The hotel isclean, modern and stylish and the rooms are furnished in a minimalist, modern but tasteful way. The bathrooms are well appointed and feature one of the best showers I have had in any Greek hotel. There is a fantastic bar/restaurant on the 6th floor which is open to the public as well. This causes some congestion around the tiny lobby lift but residents have priority. Breakfasts are sumptuous and are served on the 6th floor. Service from all staff is friendly, particularly from the Duty Manager, Vangelis. Windows are double glazed which is pretty effective at blocking out noise from the square below. Windows need to be tightly shut, curtains must be drawn and aircon must be used to eliminate the noise from the revellers below. Wonderful views of the Acropolis particularly at night when beautifully lit up. All in all a really great stay in a great location. Monastiraki station is on the same Metro line as the Airport so no changing trains is necessary. Watch out for thieves on the train however, my suitcase was stolen from the luggage rack when the train got full and I could no longer see my bag from where I was sitting.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to A for Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A for Athens

Address: Miaouli 2 - 4, Athens 10554, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Psirri / Gazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A for Athens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to give an A to the best of Athens. A for Athens is the new city design hotel in Athens. Located just across the Acropolis and above Monastiraki Square, A for Athens offers a truly unique viewing experience to the city’s most famous monument. The hotel is next to Monastiraki station, which serves for easy transportation to and from the Airport and Piraeus Port and sets all the city’s excitements in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your A for Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a For Athens Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A for Athens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.