We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oroscopo

Oroscopo
42 Antinoros Street | Caravel Hotel Square, Athens 16121, Greece
+30 21 0723 8567
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 2,383 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $17 - $28
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Pizza & Pasta, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Recently renovated, Oroscopo Restaurant is located at the square in front of Divani Caravel Hotel for more than 30 years. It is ideally sited in the heart of Athens: nearby the National Gallery, Hilton & Best Western Illisia Hotel and five minutes away from the Crowne Plaza and The Golden Age Hotels. Specialized in Modern Greek, Pizza & Pasta, tastes, at all times with the freshest ingredients being used and the passion for food in a combination with the wine list full by a variety of Greek labels, Oroscopo Restaurant can satisfy even the most demanding customer. Oroscopo is open to the public from 12.30 To 01.00 All year long and offers catering services for all seasons. Especially throughout the warmer months, you have the choice either dining at "al fresco" by the Caravel square or at the glass partition and air conditioned dining hall. We offer free Wi-Fi to our guests, fully upgraded up to 50Mbps VDSL.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant lives up to its rating. The food is excellent and the wine selection is very good. The staff are friendly but unobtrusive. The complimentary soup and dessert were unexpected delights. We will definitely be returning to the Oroscopo.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikosA112, Marketing Manager at Oroscopo, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for having chosen the OROSCOPO restaurant to enjoy your lunch and for your recommendation. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and we are delighted to learn that your lunch with us was an enjoyable one and that it met with your expectations. Once again allow us to express our appreciation for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to our restaurant before you finish our stay in Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    518
    159
    37
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Even the table wine tasted good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Lots for the value. Soup was offered as a taster, I was lucky enough to have ordered it already, was a leek soup, yum! We had the grilled octopus, well done, great presentation! Friend had the Caprice salad, again, very nice presentation and the cheese was fresh... the bread is home made and very tasty! The main course, friend had the mushroom risotto, presentation could have been better but the portion was large and the taste even more impressive. I had the fresh fish and steamed vegetables, very good taste and a good presentation, to many bones, but the flavor was good! The service was great and to top off the meal the dessert was presented on the house, friend has a gluten allergy and they made her a special dessert, but the cherry cheese cake was YUMMY. We had the table wine, we have enjoyed this all through Greece and the taste is very good, reasonable priced and complimented the meal, we had the rose..

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikosA112, Marketing Manager at Oroscopo, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for writing your feedback after your recent visit at OROSCOPO restaurant. It puts a smile on our face when we read such positive comments, as it motivates us to keep exceeding our guests’ expectations. It will be an absolute pleasure to welcome you back when you are next in Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Diner after the Marathon 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The place is ok near a public garden and only aprox 100 meters from hotel Davani Caravel. Nice modern setting, very friendly staff, good local drinks and Greek food too.
In 'warm' times also a perfect terras.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikosA112, Marketing Manager at Oroscopo, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for having chosen the OROSCOPO restaurant to enjoy your lunch and for your recommendation. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and we are delighted to learn that your lunch with us was an enjoyable one and that it met with your expectations. Once again allow us to express our appreciation for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“First class service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I could simply not fault the service at this restaurant and it's clearly very popular with both locals and visitors alike. I went on Saturady evening. half empty at 8:30pm but hardly a spare table when I left.
I was given small bowl of soup as a taster, ordered two courses, both of which were good and they tried vainly to give me a lovely looking desert but I declined as I was too full.

Clearly they thought I was unhappy so they poured me a Mastiha and left the bottle on the table for me!! (did my reputation for a drop precede me I wonder?)

Nice contemporary decor and in a pleasant area. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikosA112, Marketing Manager at Oroscopo, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us after your recent visit at OROSCOPO restaurant. We were delighted that our food and service met your expectations and left you with a positive impression and that you enjoyed the time you spent in Oroscopo during your trip in Athens. It will be an absolute pleasure to be given the opportunity to welcome you back on a future visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Well worth a visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had read the Trip Advisor reviews for Oroscopo before arriving in Athens and thought we'd give it a try if we came across it - and we found it almost straight away. The staff were warm and welcoming and settled us at our table quickly. The menu is lenghty and varied and once we'd ordered bread arrive followed by some free mushroom soup, which was excellent and beautifully seasoned. We enjoyed our meal and whilst we pondered on dessert, two free desserts appeared and they were very tasty. We enjoyed some local white wine too, which was nice. The whole evening was lovely and the food not expensive - particularly with the free starter and dessert! The staff were friendly and helpful. We would definately come back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikosA112, Marketing Manager at Oroscopo, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
• Thank you for writing your feedback after your recent visit at OROSCOPO restaurant. It puts a smile on our face when we read such positive comments, as it motivates us to keep exceeding our guests’ expectations. It will be an absolute pleasure to welcome you back when you are next in Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oroscopo also viewed

 
Kifisia, Athens
 

Been to Oroscopo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oroscopo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.