We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist trap!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Old Ithaki

Old Ithaki
Ag. Filotheis 2 | 10556, Athens, Greece
+302103229995
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,627 of 2,088 Restaurants in Athens
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Munich
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Tourist trap!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Just came back from "Old Ithaki". I went there with my family, because it was recommended to us by our guide, who described it as a little local restaurant. It didn't look too well from the beginning on, the place was full of tourists and the staff was too friendly for such a place... Our waiter didn't let us look at the menu, telling us that he would bring some starters and then take our order according to the kind of meat that we wanted. The starters weren't that bad, but nothing special... The main dishes were terrible, an overcooked octopus, tasteless fish and dry meat among others. The big surprise of the night was the bill, they charged us more than 20€ for every dish, including the starters; and complained about having problems with the system when we asked to pay with a credit card.
All in all, it wasn't a nice experience and i wouldn't recommend this restaurant to anyone who can avoid to go there!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    42
    15
    16
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beware!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Four of us came in expecting to order a light mid-afternoon snack. We thought the Greek salad for $9 sounded good. We went in and were immediately approached by a "charming" waiter who gave the ladies a kiss on each cheek and shook the men's hands. We told him we wanted something light and the Greek salad was what we had in mind. He started recommending appetizers and we again told him we wanted something light as we were not all that hungry. He gestured a small plate size to us and said he would bring some typical Greek appetizers. We should have known better! We didn't ask the price. Shame on us! However, we truly were not expecting the huge platter of various appetizers plus a second large dish with shrimp. This was not appetizers, it was a meal. After seeing this, we knew we would be in for a surprise on the check. The waiter came by and said he was going to bring us dessert....."on the house." That was just to soften us up for the tally to come! The bill came and it was $116! They even charged us for water which all other restaurants include with their meals. We were shocked the cost was this much. To add insult to injury he wouldn't accept our credit cards. Something to do with their "machine" not totaling correctly. We depleted our supply of Euros to pay this guy. How was the food? It was alright, not good, not bad and certainly not worth $90 more than we were planning to pay. We are very experienced travelers and should have known better. We let this guy take control of our order instead of sticking to what we came in for. But the fact that we were traveling with another couple caused us to not ask prices before order. After having excellent meals and service in other restaurants in Athens, we basically trusted the guy. If you go here, beware. Know what you want and don't let a waiter talk you into anything extra.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Suprised us how nice the food was but be prepared for extra costs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

After being 'scouted' to eat here by the waiter that (typically for this area of Athens) pulled us in to eat for lunch, we were not expecting it to be great as this is a very touristy area. We ordered a Greek salad and a caesar salad. The waiter also recommended tzatziki. We asked for a caraffe of white wine, and he said that they do a 1/2 bottle of wine, which was from Crete and this had a lovely dry and appley flavour. The tzatziki came with bread, which we assummed was complimentary as we did not order this, nor did we order the bottle of water that was opened as soon as it arrived at the table. However when the bill came we realised that they must have charged us not just for the dip, but also the water and pressumably 2 portions of bread (as there was otherwise too many items on the bill...impossible to read as written in Greek).
However these and the salads were really delicious, well presented, and the portion size was very generous. An american lady came up to me to ask what salad I was having as it looked lovely.
The waiters, as with all restaurants we visited, do not ask how your meal is, clear plates or offer dessert, and so probably miss out on dessert sales. Despite this, we would recommend this restaurant as the food was delicous and other plates coming out to other customers also looked fantastic. Very nice food, not cheap, especially with the unexpected extras, average service for Athens, nice atmosphere. Toilets could do with a refurb, but they smelt of bleach and were clean, which I always find reassuring.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Attractive restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Great food with normal prices in this area which seems to be a good one. We ordered chicken and salads, all the dishes were fresh and the sides were something you do not find in all greek restaurants. The staff was a bit too much friendly but we were served fast and without any delay or food problems. As far the location it is placed behind a big church with trees and paved areas which you think that you are not in a big city. The desserts were delicious and handmade but a bit pricey. Overall we recommend this restaurant for a nice family dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lousy reviews? We went there because . . .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The guy on the desk at our hotel recommended it. So we checked out the ratings and they were awful. So we started out from our hotel last night looking for another restaurant which had positive ratings. A local walked by and recommended Old Ithaki. Was this "George the recruiter" we had seen written about in the bad reviews? That was impossible. We had dropped by the restaurant earlier to check it out and it looked OK. We had talked with a guy there - I think his name was Antonio. He seemed like a more friendly type "promoter" most restaurants seem to have. Anyway we decided to take a chance and go to Old Ithaki. We ordered some of the suggestions Antonio made. A dipping plate with different sauces. It was great. Then we ordered our entres and our own beverage selections. The food was very good. I had the lamb "mama" prepared. The meat fell off the bone. It was excellent. The recommended white wine came from Crete, where we had just flown in from. It was dry and suited my taste. Then we ordered coffee and cappuccino. The coffees were cold. They replaced them with warmer coffee. The cappuccino was fine. Many restaurants we have eaten at during our vacation in Greece bring you a treat at the end of your meal - a desert and some liquor. None here. Then we cringed when expecting the bill. There were no surprises on the bill and the amount was around our expectation. Bottom line, the other bad reviews were harsh or else they confused Old Ithaki with another Ithaki. Apparently there is one in another part of Athens. The food and service provided us with a fine evening, our last one in Greece, as we fly home tomorrow.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panos K, Διευθυντής at Old Ithaki, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Unfortunately, this is the problem with trip advisor. There is no infiltration with the critics...Anyone with a fake profile can spoil your reputation, or by mistake like the critics that are for Ithaki, and not for us...We have made lots of complains for this issue, but nothing changes...By the way thank you very much for deciding to make a try and give us a chance despite the bad critics!...We expect you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Ithaki also viewed

Athens, Attica
 

Been to Old Ithaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Ithaki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.