We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Meal!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Funky Gourmet

Funky Gourmet
13 Paramithias Street and Salaminos | Keramikos, Athens 10435, Greece
+30 21 0524 2727
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2,049 Restaurants in Athens
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Athens
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding Meal!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Modern molecular fine dining in all its glory. Excellent dishes throughout the tasting menu along with perfect wine and beer pairings. The place is elegant and very formal. Staff and service top notch. Most complete dining experience of my life.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    37
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dubai
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A special restaurant for special occassions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We went for the tasting menu with wine. I liked everything both food and wine selection.
Service was great; a young team of people trying hard to satisfy.
I could eat there every day if it was not for the bill... Definitely for special occasions.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great food experience!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

i had heard that this funky food restaurant is wonderful- but if you do not eat through every dish yourself - you cannot fully understand. Each little dish has its own tastebud experience and the proposed wine with each dish makes the experience even better. my recommendation is that you just go and try this place out. i would say a remarkable tastebud experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“One star from Michelin, two more from us!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Don't recall we have had many meals in life which we were so excited throughout the whole dining experience and we looked forward to every dish as each one brought surprise and a big smile on our face! We took more than 70 pictures during our 3 hour meal as after a while, it became more a theatrical show of art and we needed to express ourselves by participating and interacting with the food. The whole meal offered form and function, and we enjoyed every minute of it! The fact that we got to try out a 3 Michelin star restaurant in Paris just 2 weeks before Athens, and we thought Funky Gourmet is equally good (or even more innovative) and deserves 2 more stars from us! Bravo and well done!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A stunning meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Four of us had a wonderful meal. A bit much on the speherification, but delicious. Really well done mixture of tastes. The service was great. Best meal we had in a week in Athens.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Funky Gourmet also viewed

Kifisia, Athens
Athens, Attica
 
Athens, Attica
 

Been to Funky Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Funky Gourmet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.