We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely the best food in Greece!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vezene

Vezene
Vrasida 11 Street | Hilton District, Athens 11528, Greece
+30 21 0723 2002
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #242 of 2,383 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $34 - $45
Cuisines: Greek, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Vezene is a Greek Inspired bistro cooking primarily with wood fire grills and ovens. It is located opposite the Hilton Hotel and Madrid Park with views to Lycabetus hill, very close to the Ilissia Gardens. The menu focuses on dry aged meat and local sustainable seafood.
Aventura, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best food in Greece!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

We visited Vezene last night with friends that had touted the restaurant since its opening, always saying it was the best food in Greece and without any hesitancy I can say that I absolutely agree!

In one word - "outstanding". Adding exceptional and magnificent and you clearly get the picture of what you should expect and what will be delivered to your table.

The restaurant is small so you must call for reservations, but its size helps create its charm and atmosphere. The location is central to everything that is Athens and sits directly across the street from the Hilton and Divani Caravel hotels on the square so it is a perfect location for visitors staying at the two properties.

While I am certain that everything on the menu is cooked to perfection, the steak tartare and shrimp appetizers cannot be missed. A few other notables are the Pasta with Sea Urchin, Filet and a dessert that is nearly 1 foot high stacked with homemade ice cream, cookies, caramel, chocolate and nuts - a truly over the top end to what I consider to be by far, the best restaurant I have ever eaten at in Greece and amongst the very top worldwide! Each dish has its unique flavor and all were handled masterfully!!!!

Whether you live in Athens or are just visiting, DO NOT MISS a night out at Vezene!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vezene, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Vezene, responded to this review, February 19, 2015
Please accept our apologies for the delay in our answer. Thank you for visiting our restaurant! We are really glad you had such a beautiful experience. We appreciate your feedback, and hope we see you again on your next trip to Athens.
Kind regards,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    59
    17
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I wouldn't go back!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We asked for a table of four at 9:30 pm, were reserved one for 10:30, and seated one hour late at 11:30! First observation upon arrival was the rudeness of the boss towards his lady assistant... The food was generally OK, except for the linguini with fish roe (€29) which were served cold, probably having waited in the kitchen for the meat dishes to be prepared. We reported that and it was probably the reason why we were not greeted when departing...
My assessment is that they are adventurers who lack experience and professionalism for what they are trying to present...

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vezene, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Vezene, responded to this review, February 7, 2015
Please accept our apologies in delaying so much to answer back.
First of all, thank you for visiting our restaurant! We feel deeply sorry for the unpleasant experience.
We understand that you wanted a table for 9:30, but it seemed we only had availability for an hour later. It happens sometimes to get out of schedule, usually due to some parties arriving later and thus finishing later.
We would also like to apologize for the linguini. Please do believe that this was in no way the reason not to be greeted on your way out.
Our team has taken into consideration all of your comments. We would like to hope that you will give us another chance on your next trip to Athens, and we promise, we’ll make you forget your last experience and have a great dinner.
Kind regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“Excellent all around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

The restaurant is not big, but very lively. Very friendly staff, creative menu and delicious food.
I didn't really mind, but bread and water were put on the table without having ordered them and then charged at 5.50 in total.
The outside door opens inward, which wouldn't be ideal in a panic situation.
Minor things for an otherwise superb dining experience. A must go for every foody that visits Athens!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vezene, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Vezene, responded to this review, March 11, 2015
Please accept our apologies for such a late response from our part. Thank you for visiting our restaurant! We are glad your experience was memorable.
You are right about the bread and water. Since you were here, things have changes to the best, and we are now giving people the option for both.
As it concerns the door, unfortunately there’s not much we can do, since it’s a matter of the whole facet design. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again in one of your next trips to Greece.
Kind regards,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The Ionion, right in the centre of Athens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

This trattoria's chef used to have a restaurant on one of the Ionian Isles, with many Italian customers, before becoming the Chef at the Hilton (right across the street) and so now he has this splendid trattoria.
Staff was plenty, friendly, fast and efficient.
For starters we had the Bufala pizza. A real treat and if you like genuine Italian pizza, this is the closest thing you'll get to the original in Athens!
Then we had a salmon carpaccio, which was excellent, subtle yet tasty.
For main course we had linguini with Ionian lobster and truffle oil. I found it splendid, but it may not be to everyone's liking.
We had a Greek white wine with this, which was good.
To top it all off, an espresso coffee, made to perfection.
Now, we paid EUR 50 per person, which in itself was reasonable, but probably a bit much compared to what a similar meal would cost in an Italian trattoria.
All in all, I left happy!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vezene, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Vezene, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Please accept our apologies for such a late response from our part. Thank you for visiting our restaurant! We are glad you had a pleasant experience. We appreciate your feedback, especially coming from an Italian such as yourself, with deeper knowledge of our culinary heritage.
Kind regards,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“GREAT NY STYLE MED CUISINE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

A really nice and cosy restaurant, located in a nice central Athens area, just behind Hilton Athens, with great selection of meat and attentive grilling, to its last detail. Deserts are also delicious and the view

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vezene, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Vezene, responded to this review, February 26, 2015
Please accept our apologies for the delay in our answering back. Thank you for visiting our restaurant! We are glad you had a pleasant experience. We appreciate your feedback!
Kind Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vezene also viewed

Athens, Attica
 

Been to Vezene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vezene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.