We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive day tour to Meteora” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Athens Tour Greece - Private Day Tours

Athens Tour Greece - Private Day Tours
Mitropoleos str. 6, Athens 10563, Greece (Syntagma)
+306937004007
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 173 Tours & Activities in Athens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Athens Tours Greece organizes private tours of Athens guided by official archaeologist tour guides, and other scholars. Private tours include the Acropolis and thematic explorations like daily life in Ancient & Modern Athens, and private tours on thematic, biblical, cultural and modern Greek architecture.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
“Impressive day tour to Meteora”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015 NEW

We in a group of 6 hire a private day tour from Athens to Meteora. The ride itself took quite a long time, 3 and a half hours to be precise but the trip was worth it. Meteors is amazing. We only did couple of Monasteries from all the 6 Monasteries there are due to short time and we have to came back to Athens in the evening.

Our driver, Vasilis, was very nice and informative. We had a great chat and he's able to provide us with a lot of information about Greece. He even prepare us a movie to watch on the way back to kill time. We had a very good time.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    12
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Three tours, different results”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015 NEW

I wish that I could rate each of the three tours that we took separately. We first did a half day walking tour of the Acropolis and the Acropolis Museum. The guide was great. Informative and not tally or dominate. We learned a lot and had a great time. The second was a sunset trip to Sounion. The driver was personable if maybe a bit too talkative about politics. We knew he was just a driver and not a guide and so got what we expected. Sounion and the sunset were fantastic. The third trip was a full day trip to Delphi and the monastery. The description implies a guide, not just a driver. We got both a driver, who spoke no English, and a guide who barely spoke any English. Instead of telling us anything about the trip or the area or Delphi, he played an A&E video. Turned out he wasn't a guide and so could not go with us into Delphi. We could have hired a taxi for all we got. The inclusion of lunch is confusing so be aware that you buy your lunch. On the trip back the guide wanted to play the movie "300" so we would better understand.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Private 4-day classical tour of Greece with Athens Tours Greece”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015 NEW

Four of us, two couples, took this tour in April 2015. It was everything we wanted and more. Alex, our driver/guide, was very professional, easy to be with, and knowledgeable. He was interested in photography, so he knew just where to take the best pictures. We went to Corinth, Mycenae, Olympia, Delfi, Meteora and many lovely small towns. We really got to see this beautiful country. It was a good way to see the major sites and get a taste of Greece.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic Day Trip Athens to Delphi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

Vasilis Douvis gave us a tour to Delphi that was a high light of our trip to Greece. He met us at the hotel on time and drove us to Delphi while discussing Greece all of the way. He arranged for a very knowledgeable tour guide at Delphi who gave us a world of history in a hours time. It was great to be able to move at our own pace while be sure not to miss a thing. The museum was full of history that I am sure we would have missed with out our guide. Upon leaving the site, Vasilis took us to an excellent restaurant in Delphi that over looked the valley. The food including squash soap and a lamb dish were all tasty. Then we started our return to Athens by stopping at the Saint Luke Monastery. This again was a very pleasant site. He escorted us around without any pushing for time. Upon our return to Athens all four us agreed that the tour was all that we could have hoped for and more. I found the tour on line. I sent an email inquiry and someone responded immediately. It was great to be contact with a real person and everything worked out beautifully. I highly recommend the company and Vasilis.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“In Search of the Oracle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

Just returned from a business conference in Athens. We had one free day and booked a private tour to Delphi on very short notice. One of the BEST travel decisions I've ever made. Thank you, Antonius, for a spectacular day. This trip up into the mountains in search of the oracle was certainly worth the time and more than worth the cost. I loved being able to take our time and go at our own pace. Our guide was knowledgeable, personable, and extremely accommodating. Delphi is magical and mystical...all I thought it would be, and more. I discovered the gods and godesses, and the Pythia, in the 8 th grade and have been enthralled ever sense. The site did not disappoint me at all. I would highly recommend this experience for anyone visiting Athens.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Athens Tour Greece - Private Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Athens Tour Greece - Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athens Tour Greece - Private Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.