We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LITTLE PEACE OF HEAVEN” 5 of 5 stars
Review of To Kati Allo

To Kati Allo
Hatzichristou 12, behind Acropolis Museum | Makrigiani, Athens, Greece
+30 21 0922 3071
Improve this listing
Ranked #74 of 2,049 Restaurants in Athens
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Bogota, Colombia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“LITTLE PEACE OF HEAVEN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Since you enter the restaurant you get confidence willbe one of the best meal in your life... the smell, the smiles in the people who are there, the way food looks...

Simple marvelous.

As soon you arrive ask for Constantino... he will help you and explain what the dishes are, his recommendations... and little try of each you want to try.

22 Euros per 2, beverages included... 5 different options, plenty of food for 3!!! (cof cof cof... we ate everything!!!)

Steps away from the acropolis museum and close by to acropolis entrances...

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    81
    18
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Genuinely traditional”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Because I was not sure I would review this small and unpretentious restaurant, near the superb Acropolis Museum, my friend and I ordered two simple Greek dishes and a salmon dish during lunch a week ago. They were all very satisfactory. Next to us, however, two Americans were quite enthusiastic with their chicken dish and a different fish course, and were ecstatic about the bread and the house wine they had consumed! Mrs Anna, who was cooking, is quite a character while her American daughter-in-law is polite and warm. As for the prices, they may be the lowest in Athens! All in all, Very Good indeed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
301 helpful votes 301 helpful votes
“Now this is a real Greek Restaurant !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

It took us three days in Athens to escape the tourist-touting restaurant strips where food was OK, service was OK, and the prices were OK.

But how do you find the authentic local restaurant, off the main drag, where there is atmosphere, genuine hospitality, great food, a sense of fun, and the knowledge that you will be treated as a welcome guest, not just some dumb tourist.

Well, turn right off Adrianou street, right behind the Acropolis Museum, and look for this gaudy-signed hole in the wall that has been serving great Greek food for decades. We spotted it while passing in a bus - my wife commenting that "that looks like a real mumma's restaurant". How right she was!!

Mumma is a formidable soul, while son Constantinos is the affable mine host, with hard working dad sweating over the stove.

We stopped by for drinks and a small plate on one night, and happily returned for a full meal the following evening. We felt really special as Constantinos moved Mumma (who is usually watching affairs from her regular chair out front) and a couple of locals to get us one of the small tables out the front

There is a limited menu (always a good sign) in the E8-9 range, with a 500ml carafe of house red at only E3. We had a great meal of pork, Greek salad, chicken soup and salmon, washed down by two caraffes of red and a bottle of water for just E30.

Get away from those Athens restaurants with massive menus and the touts out the front and find To Kati Allo. You will have a memorable, low cost meal with really nice, real local people!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tasted just like a home cooked meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Wonderful place located close to the Acropolis museum. Food was the best we had in Athens and at a reasonable price as well! I don't recommend places unless they are truly exceptional and this is one of these places.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great food, great price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Chose to eat here because I'd seen so many great reviews on trip advisor, it was great, full of other tourists that had the same idea but I liked it so much I ate there twice in the 3 days I was in Athens.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed To Kati Allo also viewed

 

Been to To Kati Allo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage To Kati Allo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.