We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An okay hotel away from the city centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Athens Ledra Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Athens Ledra Hotel to your Saves list
Athens Ledra Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leoforos Syngrou 115, Athens 117 45, Greece (Formerly Athens Ledra Marriott)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Ahmedabad
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“An okay hotel away from the city centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here last April and it was an okay experience. The rooms were good with a big balcony with pigeon droppings outside. The view to the acropolis was great, but with the untidy balcony i wouldnt bother to stroll out a lot. The rooms were stuffy and the aircon wasnt working and then I was shifted to another room which was much cooler. Breakfast was good and the chef ensured everyones dietary requirements are met. Wi fi wasnt complimentary except in the lobby. Hotel had free shuttle to the main square.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthensLedraHotel, General Manager at Athens Ledra Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear greattravellerindia,

allow me to thank you for taking the time in submitting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read that our shuttle bus service and your dietary requirements during the breakfast time by our Chef and his team met your expectations.

However, we would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Your observations are very important to us as they help us maintain and indeed improve our usual high standards.
Please rest assured that your valuable comments have been passed on to the relevant Head of Departments who are currently reviewing and closely monitoring your concerns.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback on the areas of the Hotel that impacted on your recent stay.

Once again, thank you for your comments as ultimately this is what allows us to improve and at the same time apologize again for the shortcomings you encountered whilst staying with us.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We sincerely hope to welcome you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Gianni Riatsch
General Manager
Athens Ledra Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    100
    35
    2
    3
See reviews for
39
56
13
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Corona Del Mar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have been coming to Athens Ledra Hotel for the last 30 years. Needs some facelift. To close Zephyros and open an Italian restaurant was a bad decision. We are in Greece and we need to emphasize Greek food.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthensLedraHotel, General Manager at Athens Ledra Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Mel B,

thank you for staying at the Athens Ledra hotel during your visit to Athens. We truly appreciate the time you took to review our hotel and thank you for your feedback.

It is brilliant to hear that you are staying with us the last 30 years; we truly appreciate your loyalty.

Your valuable comments in regards to Zephyros restaurant have been passed on to the relevant Head of Departments who are currently reviewing and closely monitoring your concerns.

As far as the current condition of the hotel concerns, may we take the opportunity to inform you that after Marriott’s Management contract termination, we proceeded with partial renovation in various areas. For example, we started the renovation of our pool and Panorama’s summer Restaurant-Bar and continued with the Crystal Restaurant-Bar’s internal and external area, which re-opened its doors with a new Italian concept. Therefore, the detailed renovation plans are in place and hopefully we will have a renewed hotel in the near future.

Thank you for sharing your valuable comments and we hope to be at your service again soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Gianni Riatsch
General Manager
Athens Ledra Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I rent a suite that suppose to be one of the best rooms at the hotel. And what a big surprise the bed has a big hole in the mattress so. Immediately I call to report the situation and ask for change room, but the reception girl told me that they can't change my room or the mattress . So we have to rest in a bed with a hole, we can't sleep as well as they charge for everything. They don't give anything to the guests they only take care of the money of the tourist. The pool is not working, the food at the restaurant taste horrible and the parking is so expensive. We are so dissapointed for this hotel. Please chose other.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthensLedraHotel, General Manager at Athens Ledra Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear cesar g,

allow me to thank you for taking the time in submitting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are truly disappointed that we were not able to provide you with the service you were expecting and thus enjoying the holiday you were seeking. We will offer no excuses but my sincerest apologies for the unfortunate incident and short comings you endured whilst staying with us.

In particular, we have red your comments regarding the mattress and please accept our deepest apology for the unpleasant experience. Your valuable comments have been shared and they are currently being analyzed and discussed between our management team in order to implement the necessary changes that will ultimately help us improve.

In regards to the food, which it is known that plays a major part in a trip, it is sad to read that it has not met your expectations. Additionally, your comment about the cost of the parking, please kindly note that our price is the most attractive amongst our five star competitors in Athens.
Furthermore, concerning our swimming pool please be informed that it is seasonal and this information is posted to our official hotel's web site and it can be seen by anyone who visits the official web page.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and please accept our sincerest apologies. We regret that you were left with a completely negative impression and please know that regaining your trust and faith in our hotel is very important to us. Reading your final sentence it seems you would seriously consider not visiting us in the future we do hope you reconsider as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back and prove that we are able to provide the exceptional service you expect whilst staying with us.

Yours Sincerely,

Gianni Riatsch
General Manager
Athens Ledra Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Location seems kind of sketchy, in a "sex district" from what I learned from nearby surroundings ("Kinky Opera" blinking all night), but the quality of service, amenities, food, and professionalism made it worthwhile. I was here for 3 nights and would stay here again. It is a 15-20 min (interesting) walk to Plaka, but there are decent restaurants nearby. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was insanely well-stocked and delicious. Taxis are *dirt cheap* into the more popular parts of town (3-5eur) so definitely worth saving some money on location. Would probably recommend to people who are likely to spend their time in the city but want an affordable, luxurious option for sleeping and breakfast.

FYI there is a little store about 4 min walk to the left that sells snacks, liquor, cigarettes, etc for much cheaper than the hotel!

Room Tip: not free wifi; paid (but extravagant!) breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthensLedraHotel, General Manager at Athens Ledra Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Nathan W,

allow me to thank you for taking the time in submitting your review on Trip Advisor.

Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and we are delighted to learn that the quality of service you received from our friendly and accommodating staff contributed to a memorable stay. In addition, we have noted that you enjoyed the amenities of our hotel, the food as well as our American buffet breakfast.

In regards to your comment on our location, please be informed that we are located in a business and residential area close to historical sites and the city center. The hotel's location is not something that can be controlled at by the hotel itself. Every big city offers a large variety of buildings, monuments, areas, businesses, night clubs, restaurants etc. all mixed in every area and suburb without a specific form or control.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we do hope to welcome you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Gianni Riatsch
General Manager
Athens Ledra Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I expect much from hotel of this level and price. I will not mentioned that last time I was here I got the key to the room in which some guy was already sleeping (!!). So shortly: rooms are large, clean and nice. A bit noisy when you have it from the main road side. The ironing board is in such a bad shape that it makes it impossible to iron properly a shirt. Nice breakfast - but avoid this weird thing called 'scrambled eggs' - it has nothing to do with eggs, its just disgusting. Go straight for omelette. Very good lunch in lobby restaurant though. Kind and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Take the room which has a balcony but not from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthensLedraHotel, General Manager at Athens Ledra Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Michal M,

thank you very much for sharing your feedback following your recent stay with us.

Although there are positive aspects of your stay that you mention, we will naturally focus on the areas where we missed the mark and ask for your forgiveness for these shortcomings.

Not wanting to make any excuses we do offer our sincerest apologies for not having met your expectations, it was, however, pleasing to read that you found the food in our Italian Restaurant-Bar “Crystal” good and our staff kind and helpful.

Your valuable comments regarding the scrambled eggs have been passed on to our Chef and his team who are currently reviewing and closely monitoring your comment.

Once again, we would like to thank you for your comments as we value all opinions that will ultimately help us improve.

Reading the headline of this review, it seems you would seriously consider not visiting us in the future we do hope you reconsider as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back and prove that we are able to provide the exceptional service you expect whilst staying with us.

Yours Sincerely,

Gianni Riatsch
General Manager
Athens Ledra Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was clean and the staff was pretty friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable and the hotel offered many services to make your stay comfortable. The hotel's location was also convenient. It wasn't too far from major sites like the Plaka. If you are looking for a good hotel experience, then I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthensLedraHotel, General Manager at Athens Ledra Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Zainab I,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments after recently staying at the Athens Ledra Hotel.

We are very pleased to read that the helpfulness of our staff and the various services that we offer to our guests met your expectations and made your stay comfortable.

Once again, thank you. We all look forward to your return, in the very near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Gianni Riatsch
General Manager
Athens Ledra Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Athens Ledra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Ledra Hotel

Address: Leoforos Syngrou 115, Athens 117 45, Greece (Formerly Athens Ledra Marriott)
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#31 Family Hotel in Athens
#44 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Athens Ledra Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a spectacular view of the Acropolis, Athens Ledra Hotel in Athens, Greece, is just minutes from Plaka, Piraeus Port and Acropolis Museum. Our hotel shuttle can take you to central Athens where you can stroll through the winding streets of Plaka and the city's famous cafes and shops. Among Athens hotels, ours is the only one to offer spacious double-double accommodations that include mini-bars, safes, individual climate controls, wireless Internet and luxury bedding. Enjoy amenities at our hotel by taking a dip and in our (seasonal) rooftop pool while enjoying a view of the Acropolis, staying fit at our 24-hour fitness center, or enjoying a cocktail while listening to live music at our lounge.Free internet available in Public areas of the hotel free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Athens Ledra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Ledra Marriott Hotel Athens
Marriott Athens
Athens Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athens Ledra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.