We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a 4 star hotel. Funky, friendly and New!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added New Hotel to your Saves list
New Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Filellinon Street | Syntagma Square, Athens 10557, Greece (Formerly Olympic Palace Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book through our website!
Ranked #7 of 323 Hotels in Athens
GreenLeadersGold level
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great for a 4 star hotel. Funky, friendly and New!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in November. Great weather for this time of year at 22 degrees c made the whole experience lovely. Our room was lovely, modern, clean and comfortable. We had a little view of the acropolis which was nice but not necessary as we spent little time in our room. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food is great for lunch and dinner although could be better being that it's a buffet there's not much to choose from in the fruit section and so on. And we were told that if you have more than one coffee for breakfast we would be charged which I thought was a little cheeky.
I had a really lovely massage in the very small spa but very relaxing with a complimentary discount on arrival. Amazing!
On the whole I thought the hotel was pretty prefect for our city break with so much going in the area from ancient ruins to shopping and hundreds of coffee shops filled with people at the weekend. Street dancers and flee markets. What a great place. And if you can get to a bouzoukia a Greek night out usually with a famous Greek singer and entertainment, it's a great way to spend the evening the way the Greeks do. Be warned night life doesn't start before 12-1:00am.
My husband and I were very much impressed with Athens and our very funky friendly hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    183
    29
    8
    3
See reviews for
117
437
37
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights at the hotel and everything was fantastic. Great location in the city center, great room services, great room deco and facilities, great breakfast....Though my cost was covered by a third party, I'd say the hotel is worth the pricing!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a brilliant view of the whole city and Acropolis!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your kind review as well as your appreciative words. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed our location, room facilities and our homemade breakfast at our restaurant New Taste. Once again we thank you and it we would love to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

The New Hotel is in a nearly ideal location if you are in Athens for a few days to see the historic sites. We walked the two blocks from the train station the night we arrived, and at the time the neighborhood looked a little sketchy. By daylight, we saw that most of Athens looks a little sketchy but the neighborhood is safe and easy walk to vibrant sections with many restaurants to choose from.

Room Tip: The is a new hotel. I doubt they have any bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the New Hotel and could not have been happier! The service was way beyond our expectations, Food was excellent and the view from the Roof Top bar of the city and Acropolis at night were beautiful!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing New hotel during your vacation in Athens. We are glad that you enjoyed our hospitality, services and both our restaurants. On behalf of our team we thank you and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
351 helpful votes 351 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We really aced our hotel selections this holiday. This was another 5 star hotel in our view – the room was awesome and the service excellent.

Pros
- The location is unbelievable. It is a 2 minute walk to Plaka, 3 minutes to the station and the metro museum (yes there is a museum in the metro station) and Parliament, 5 minutes to Hadrian’s Arch and the monument for Zeus and about 10 minutes to the Acropolis and associated museum
- The hotel’s interior is exceptionally designed. The rooms are perfect with large comfortable beds and pillows
- It was wonderful coming back to the hotel in the evening after a hard day’s sightseeing to find the bed turned down and chocolates on our pillows
- Breakfast was perfect as they bake bread and pastries on site. So whilst there are the usual deli meats and cheeses, hot meats and eggs (cooked to order) – the breads and pastries are superb!
- Going to the rooftop lounge for a drink was an brilliant way to finish the day and the view is incredible
- All of the staff are warm and helpful
- Swipe entry cards for the lift and rooms are a great idea and extremely convenient

Cons
None. This is an outstanding hotel that I can’t recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: We had a superior room on the second top floor facing the street. It was quiet, large, comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for two nights and service was phenomenal. I had a room with a balcony facing the street but it was fairly quiet. It was spacious and toiletries were all good. A free bottled water in the room. I used the fitness centre once and they have fairly good selection of cardio machines and weights. It is a boutique hotel, and I really like the interior design. My room stay per night came with breakfast and was sumptuous, cappuccino was included and eggs made to order. There is a rooftop restaurant but if you are looking to see the Acropolis at night, this is not the place. The location was great where shops and restaurants are within walking distance. I definitely recommend this hotel. Free Wifi in the room. Turn down service with chocolates.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing with us your kind review as well as your appreciative words. We are glad that you enjoyed our hospitality, services , wellness center and our homemade breakfast at our restaurant New Taste. On behalf of our staff we would like to thank you and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyprus
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We visited Athens for 48 hours! The main reason we visited Athens was to go to The Acropolis Museum, Acropolis, Monastiraki, Megaro Mousikis, Kolonaki, Syntagma. The New hotel is at the excellent location to visit all these places on foot! Moreover, it was very clean, amazing modern design with authentic traditional greek element and impressively nice breakfast. A true refreshing experience. Love it

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing with us your appreciative review. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed our hospitality, location, design and services. Our aim is to offer comfort and hospitality to our valuable guests and make your stay at New a pleasant one. The hotel team and myself would like to thank you and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future !
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel

Address: 16 Filellinon Street | Syntagma Square, Athens 10557, Greece (Formerly Olympic Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Athens
#2 Business Hotel in Athens
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#6 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#7 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — New Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel is located 200 meters from Syntagma (Constitution) Square, the most central part of Athens, a center point to the daily activities of all Athenians. An ideal location to get the best of Athens, from ancient to modern times. New Hotel, a deluxe property totally designed (with exclusive furniture) by Campana brothers. 79 rooms & suites in total, featuring a strong and authentic Greek design concept within the rooms under the perception of the Campana brothers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Splendia, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Escapio, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your New Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.