We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best way to start my Greek vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Hotel

Save Saved
You added New Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
New Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Filellinon Street | Syntagma Square, Athens 10557, Greece (Formerly Olympic Palace Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book through our website
Ranked #5 of 324 hotels in Athens
SG
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best way to start my Greek vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stayed in Athens for 5 nights and I think selecting New Hotel was one of the best decisions ever. The hotel was centrally located near Syntagma metro station and the shopping district. The hotel was well furnished with contemporary interiors, room was clean and inviting. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast were sumptuous.

The "rooftop lounge" - Art Lounge has a nice evening view of Athens.

If you are in Athens, I would highly recommend New Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    508
    127
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
95
342
28
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The hotel is almost comparable to 5 star hotel rooms expect the size is slightly small. The rooms are unique with amazing interiors. The location is perfect, near to all the tourist places in athens. Violeta Pappa at the reception is so much helpful and nice. The hotel is very very good. They booked the taxi for us to pick us from the port. In all ways the hotel is super. Acropolis and shopping streets of kolonaki and ermou street is just 5 min walk.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Great value for money in a great location! Great service. Amazingly cool enviroment with its recycled furniture walls and columns. Recommended over and over. Walking distance of everything to see in centre if Athens.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had less than 24 hours to spend in Athens. I chose this hotel based on positive reviews, location and the design. We were two women travelling and safety was a big concern. We felt very safe at the hotel. I have one complaint. We paid 60 euros each way for a private car booked by the hotel to/from the airport. Our car to the hotel from airport was awful. The air conditioner wasn't working and I saw better taxis around. A taxi would cost 45 euro each way. This is minor, but disappointing. The private car we took back to the airport was wonderful, airconditioned, and a very very nice and knowledgable driver. The hotel is really cool. I loved the smell when we walked in. Juniper maybe? The room (Rm. 507 Studio) was very spacious and the bed is two twin beds put together. I was travelling with a friend so this was great. Super comfortable bed! I was so excited to get the "ojo" (evil eye protector) room! I really wanted this one. The bathroom is small, but bigger than some of our other ones in Greece. The door to the bathroom serves as the door to the shower. It's an interesting design. We had free wi-fi. It was very easy to walk from the hotel through Plaka to the Acropolis and the Acropolis Museum. We had limited time, so this was a must. I visited the rooftop bar briefly, and it had a very nice vibe. From one side, you can see the Parthenon. I was too tired to have a drink because our driver was picking us up at 5:45am for our 8:15am flight. At check-out time, the hotel had to-go breakfast bags for us with fruit, juice, water and yogurt I think. So nice! The outside of the hotel is deceptive, it doesn't look like much, but the inside is very modern. Kind of like a W hotel, Palomar or Viceroy - but very very original. Oh, it was also my birthday, and upon arrival, they brought me a birthday pastry with a candle. Very sweet! We enjoyed our brief stay!

Room Tip: Room 507 (Studio) was great! It's the evil eye protector room. Two balconies, view of garden, co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Ok, you might find it over designed - and in ten years it might look quite out of date. But today it is contemporary cool with great service, a very nice breakfast and the best beds we have ever had in a hotel. And the best of all - it is not to expensive. A great place to stay in Athens.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Wonderful location, fantastic service, creative decor! The staff made all the difference at the New Hotel. Everyone went out of their way to make our visit as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. An excellent choice if you are visiting Athens. (NOTE: we visited in June 2012)

Room Tip: I always ask for a quiet room - no matter where I go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I was unsure whether to rate this hotel 3 or 4 stars. The hotel is located within walking distance of the Panthenaic stadium, park, shops and restaurants. We also used it as a base for walking to the Acropolis. Staff were friendly at check-in and in the restaurant during breakfasts. The hotel decor is edgy and trendy, if a little strange, and the rooms were clean and well appointed. We happened to stay on a Sunday and the sound of the bells in the morning is not something to be taken lightly, yes its just bells, and I assume only happens on the one day but it is the loudest noise I have repeatedly been woken up to. It is extremely loud. Perhaps find out if there are quieter options available, we stayed in room 401. The noise from the street is also not effectively blocked out by the windows. The toilet/shower door is quite frustrating. It serves as an interchangeable door between the two units, but the door does not seal properly to the toilet. In general, it leaves you with a distinct feeling of a lack of privacy. I would probably stay here again for the service and convenience of the location, and there are good views from the roof, but I would definitely recommend asking a few questions about your rooms location.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel

Address: 16 Filellinon Street | Syntagma Square, Athens 10557, Greece (Formerly Olympic Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Athens
#3 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Athens
#5 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#5 Spa Hotel in Athens
#7 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel is located 200 meters from Syntagma (Constitution) Square, the most central part of Athens, a center point to the daily activities of all Athenians. An ideal location to get the best of Athens, from ancient to modern times. New Hotel, a deluxe property totally designed (with exclusive furniture) by Campana brothers. 79 rooms & suites in total, featuring a strong and authentic Greek design concept within the rooms under the perception of the Campana brothers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, getaroom.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your New Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.