We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All apprehensions vanished on check in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Hotel

Save Saved
You added New Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
New Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Filellinon Street | Syntagma Square, Athens 10557, Greece (Formerly Olympic Palace Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book through our website
Ranked #4 of 324 hotels in Athens
GreenLeadersGold level
Bahrain
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“All apprehensions vanished on check in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Made the reservation with much apprehensions as it was the first visit to Athens (Honestly went by tripadvisor rating) but the staff at the check in was so friendly and helpful that all the apprehensions vanished. Had a wonderful stay. The room was, shall I say quite funky. Metro is nearby and so is Syntagma square. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing New Hotel during your stay in Athens. We are glad that you enjoyed our hospitality as well as our location and services. Thank you and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back on your next visit to Athens.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    535
    147
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
104
368
30
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

In late October before we boarded on Marina the next day to cruise Mediterranean, my husband and I stayed one night at the New Hotel in Athens. The stay was short, however, the memory lasts, the memory of the people, the food, the services, the decor, and the location.

While we checked in a madam at the front desk noticed in the passport that it was my husband's birth day that day. "Happy birthday!" She greeted warmly. We quickly put down our luggage in our room, and walked out to sightsee. When we came back in the evening we saw a beautiful birthday cake on the table. And fruits and two sets of stylish plates and forks, a candle and matches. Wow, a special Welcome!

The next morning we had breakfrast at New Taste, the hotel's restuarant. It is modern, yet comfortable, elegant and cozy. It had plenty of selection of food and fruits; a waitress served fresh, hot coffee. We took a time at our breakfast that morning as we enjoyed very much the ambience, the coffee, the food, and the piece of quiet under the soft morning sun light shone through a large screened window by our table. On our way out we had a nice chat with the hostess, Fotini.

In the late afternoon, we checked out. Right at that moment, the rain started. The front desk called taxi for us. In less than five minutes a cab pulled over; the concierge opened an umbrella and escorted us to the cab.

Reluctantly, we left all this behind, heading out to Piraeus.

Ava & Steven
Seattle, USA

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
The team of New Hotel and myself would like to thank you for choosing New Hotel during your stay in Athens. Our aim is to offer comfort and hospitality to all our guests and make New a” home –away- from- home- experience” . It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed our hospitality on your special day. On behalf of our staff we thank you once more and we will be delighted to accommodate you again on your next visit in Athens.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The New Hotel was sophisticated, beautiful, comfortable, welcoming, clean, and safe. The service was the best I have ever received. The staff was genuinely warm, gracious, and caring.
The location was perfect -- a 4 minute walk to the metro at Syntagma Square and a really easy walk to the Acropolis and other sites. Rooms were exceptionally clean and comfortable, with black-out shades and balcony. Breakfasts were delicious, free, and more than adequate with cheese, olives, breads, fruit, yogurt, chocolate croissants, coffee, fresh-squeezed orange juice, etc. I was given a breakfast box to go on the day of my flight, since I had to depart before breakfast hours. The only thing I didn't absolutely love was the bathroom (a bit awkward), but the Kiehl's bath products were lovely (no need to pack soap or shampoo!), and the water was nice and hot. Elevators were speedy. This hotel has it all -- location, ambiance, and impeccable and warm service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us such a detailed review. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed our hospitality, location as well as our homemade breakfast and freshly brewed coffee at our restaurant New Taste. We shall share your encouraging comments with the rest of our staff and we will be more than happy to accommodate you again on your next visit in Athens.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

There isn't much for me to say about this hotel. We stayed at a junior suite. The room was huge, the design amazing, the bed one of the most comfortable I've come across.

We ordered room service, it was fast and the quality amazing. The hotel staff were nice nd very well trained. The internet was free and refreshingly fast.

Location was ideal.

If you are reading this to determine whether or not you want to stay here. Just do it. There is nothing you will regret. I will personally stake my words on it.

Room Tip: Splurge on a suit, its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing New Hotel during your stay in Athens. It is always a great pleasure to receive such positive reviews and know that you had a pleasant experience with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our accommodation, location as well as our bedding experience. We shall share your encouraging remarks with the rest of our staff and we will be more than happy to have you as our guest on your next visit in Athens.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Still in my room at the hotel on my last day here. Spent 6 days in the hotel and no doubt one of the best places I stayed at ever. The service level here is superb. The staff is extremely helpful and you feel very welcome here. Not to mention the hotel itself. Every piece of furniture here is artwork, so if you like design this is the place for you ! You almost don’t want to leave the hotel.

In the first morning there was a problem with my shower, and during breakfast after mentioning, I received a apology from the staff and was upgraded to even a better room. The standard rooms are not big, but still amazing design. My new room is a junior suite and it is very spacious with a balcony. The rooms that are towards the street are a bit noisy due to the traffic, so if you are a light sleeper, ask for a room facing one of the smaller streets on the side. The only downside is that the wifi connection could be a bit better...but it works ;)

Breakfast is amazing. You have the choice of cold cuts etc and you will get tea, fresh juice, and homemade bread and croissants to your table. The breakfast is an experience in itself as you really get pampered :)

and location location location... In the Plaka district with lots of restaurant within few minutes’ walk, and 10 min walk to the entrance to Acropolis.

If ever in Athens again, will return ! :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guest,
The team of New Hotel and myself would like to thank you for choosing New Hotel during your stay in Athens as well as your appreciating comments. We are glad that you enjoyed our hospitality as well as our services and location. We shall share your encouraging comments with the rest of our staff and it will be our pleasure to accommodate you again on your next visit in Athens.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Spent one night here before a cruise. First of all, I was worried since we were arriving on day one of a two day strike. But let me tell everyone, don't worry. Yes, there are no taxis or trains and busses but the hotel arranged a car to pick us up at the airport. And the air traffic controllers usually strike from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. so plan accordingly (or expect a short delay). Got to the hotel easily and was welcomed the the great staff. As everyone else has remarked, the decor is funky, modern with cool lighting - I liked it very much. And the location is great but note, even with new windows, there is some noise (but you expect that in a city). Don't expect perfect quiet.
Also loved the cool motorized window shades. Being two blocks from Syntagma there was no disturbance from any protesters and the staff says it has never been affected. Don't be worried. Even on strike days, most stores and restaurants are open. Also, the Acropolis was open and the new museum (privately run) never closes. Go to Greece. This was my third time to Athens and found early November to be great with cooler temperatures and less crowds.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have two balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your kind review. Our aim is to offer comfort and hospitality to all our guests and we are glad that we passed on this warm “New” feeling. We will share your kind comments with the rest of our staff and we will be happy to accommodate you again in the future!
Kind regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed at the New Hotel for two nights in late August.
The hotel has a great design using materials from the old hotel that use to be there.Lovely rooms, clean, great breakfast. Service is impeccable. Every member of staff was friendly and willing to help in any question or advice you want for Athens.
A hotel we are going to visit. You have a sense of design and modern art?
You are an artician? New Hotel at Athens city is the place to stay. Can not wait to make a revisit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us your kind review. We are pleased that the New Hotel met your expectation on both design and location. We shall share your encouraging comments with the rest of our staff and we will be more than happy to accommodate you again on your next visit to Athens.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel

Address: 16 Filellinon Street | Syntagma Square, Athens 10557, Greece (Formerly Olympic Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Athens
#2 Business Hotel in Athens
#4 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#4 Spa Hotel in Athens
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Athens
#4 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#7 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — New Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel is located 200 meters from Syntagma (Constitution) Square, the most central part of Athens, a center point to the daily activities of all Athenians. An ideal location to get the best of Athens, from ancient to modern times. New Hotel, a deluxe property totally designed (with exclusive furniture) by Campana brothers. 79 rooms & suites in total, featuring a strong and authentic Greek design concept within the rooms under the perception of the Campana brothers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your New Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.