We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location - 2 classes for this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Olympic Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Olympic Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Olympic Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Athanasiou Diakou 28-34, Athens 11743, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Perfect location - 2 classes for this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

Reading the review for te Royal Olympic it's quite clear that there are two classes for this hotel.. which was made much more clear once we were there. There's two different elevators for each "class" and just by looking at them you could guess the difference in the rooms. Our room was still nice, we can't complain, the linens on the bed were very nice and soft, the bed was comfortable. The room was very clean, the bathroom was nice, really we can't complain. The location on the hotel was perfect, as you've read right across the street from the Temple of Zues and views of the Acropolis. We never went up to the rooftop restaurant as everyone says how outrageous the prices are... so we walked up the street and went to the Athen's Gate hotel and had dinner on there rooftop.. would HIGHLY recommend you go there for dinner.. for 4 meals, 2 appies, a bottle of wine, a bottle of water ( 3 euros.. ugh.. ) and a free dessert it was only just over 100 euros and the view from there was amazing!
All in all would recommend the hotel for it's location and clean comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    502
    282
    106
    63
See reviews for
222
684
64
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

We traveled to both Crete and Santorini before arriving at the Royal Olympic Hotel. We were very impressed with the hotel lobby and service at check-iin. We were upgraded to a room on the highest floor facing the ruins. We were not only impressed with the magnificent view and balcony, but the room was quite beautiful. We were very thrilled with the complimentary Bulgari toiletries displayed in a beautiful sea shell.

Compared to the other five star hotels we stayed at on our trip, the Royal Olympic Hotel beat them hands down. Plus, the room cost half the price of those other hotel rooms.

We would definately recommend this hotel to others for its beautiful rooms, view, location and service.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRAN
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

I traveled to Athens with my wife , 9 year old daughter & 18 months boy. we received an upgrade to a deluxe room which was pretty good. after reading all those reviews about the hotel I was in doubt about our experience but to be honest we found the hotel to be a nice one. we had no problem with the service as the personnel were very responsive and fast. the rooms are a bit small but OK up to European standards. Breakfast restaurants and service is quite good.the pool area was nice also specially during the hot summer days where you can cool off .The decoration of the lobby is more luxurious than the rooms. The best thing about this hotel is it's unique location almost with minutes of walking form Acropolis, Plaka, Temple of Zeus,...getting around in the city is easy and Taxis are not much expensive like other European countries.

Things to consider :
1. like the previous review mentioned the double beds are two single beds next to each other and since they are on wheels with every movement you can see a gap in between so making them a bit uncomfortable.

2. The prices in the minibar & roof top garden restaurants are ridiculously high so try to avoid them as it may cost you an arm & a leg ! Don't worry ! the neighborhood is full of shops and restaurants!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

The "double bed" in our room turned out to be two single beds, ON WHEELS, made up separately and then pushed together. Every time either of us moved, the gap between the two beds would widen and somebody's arm would disappear down it. We eventually gave it up, hauled all the bedding off and slept on the floor... not an ideal start to the honeymoon!

On the bright side, the rooftop terrace is lovely and the location is great. Management a bit feckless but well-meaning. ("Is this a washcloth?" holding up a hand towel. No, no, something smaller. Mikro. For the face. 20 minutes later, "is this a washcloth?" No, that's a bath mat...)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

we booked the Athenian panorama room and it was amazing. The restaurant on the roof garden is expensive, but it worths every euros( the view on the Partenon is amazing!!)

We only had a problem because the electric curtains that keep away the light coming through the enormous window in front of the temple were broken, but next morning everything was ok.

The staff is quite friendly, and the common spaces( swimming pool, breakfast room, lounge...) were great!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

We booked this hotel from Trip Advisor in January and were a bit worried when the troubles started in Greece throughout the year but we needed had worried as usual the greek people are friendly, the hotel is outstanding,clean and each night the evenihg staff called to see if you were happy with the room and the cleanliness they would then fold back your sheets on the bed and leave a sweet for you. The pool is fantastic always being swept clean on the pathways. My only disappointment is that the drinks on the roof terrace are expensive 7 euros for a small beer but then the view of looking at The Acropolis, Temple of Zeus and Lycabettus hill made up for the drinks bills. Their business centre has free internet acess which was useful when checking in on line for flights home. This hotel should be listed as the number 1 hotel on your list.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

Really good hotel, with good service and clean, well-appointed rooms. We booked this quite late and got a really good deal which I think helped us bump this hotel up to five stars. Our room faced inwards towards the pool, which meant it was very quiet. The pool looked lovely although we never got chance to try it out. Some rooms will face the road outside but it was never busy or noisy, and those rooms would face the Acropolis and Temple of Zeus. Some other hotels we considered nearby turned out to be on one of the busy and noisy roads through Athens.

We didn’t book the hotel breakfast, which was expensive. You can find lots of street cafes which are much cheaper just a couple of minutes walk away.

The roof garden was exceptional, with clear views across to the Acropolis and Temple of Zues. Some other hotels claim they have views, but face the wrong way, or have a terrace but with no bar or facilities. Check if that’s important to you, but this hotel won’t let you down. The bar is lovely and relaxing. Prices are expensive as you would expect for a hotel bar with this view. If you’re from the UK, think London club prices and you’re in the right ballpark.

The rooms themselves were very good, with good curtains to keep out the light and nice beds. The rooms had a safe, hairdryer, quiet a/c and everything we needed. The only slight let down was that the bathrooms looked a bit dated. There was nothing wrong with them, and they were clean and tidy, but in a five star hotel elsewhere you'd get a swankier bathroom.

Staff were always available and happy to help at the reception. One gave us distinctly dodgy advice about ferries, but luckily we checked with someone else and got the correct information.

It took us less than five minutes to walk from the Acropolis metro station. Don't be put off by the slightly disheveled look of the street as you approach the hotel - a lot of Athens is like that! Would definitely stay here again if the price was right.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Olympic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Olympic Hotel

Address: Athanasiou Diakou 28-34, Athens 11743, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#47 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Olympic Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Olympic is a newly fully refurbished 5* hotel located just in the centre of Athens, at a walking distance from all major archaeological sites, points of interest and public transports of the city, and within easy reach to/from the airport. The 264 rooms, and especially the unique Athenian Panorama rooms with a breathtaking view over the temple of Zeus and other major sites of the city, the 18 state of the art meeting rooms, the roof garden restaurant & bar lying in front of the Acropolis, temple of Zeus and Lycabettus Hill, the swimming pool, create a luxurious and warm environment where personal touch, service and attention to every single detail are very well looked after.Should it be for leisure, corporate or MICE travelers, the Royal Olympic offers a unique and authentic Athenian experience that will remain unforgettable to each guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Olympic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Olympic Athens
Hotel Royal Olympic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Olympic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.