We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location to all attractions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Olympic Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Royal Olympic Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Olympic Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Athanasiou Diakou 28-34, Athens 11743, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Convenient location to all attractions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We were somewhat worried having read other comments however we were not disappointed. We stayed a total of 6 nights and had booked an executive room. It was large comfortable and clean. We faced the inner courtyard and overlooked the pool. Not being on the view side of the hotel made it somewhat more quiet.The view from the rooftop garden where we had breakfast (included) was fabulous overlooking the ruins across the street and the Acropolis. This view particularly at night was a real bonus. The staff were friendly and helpful particularly the Canadian born doorman!The only detraction was that the bathroom while large had not been renovated and the shower was still in a bathtub with a shower curtain. Given that the hotel styles itself as "luxury" class this was disappointing. What we also loved was the location--close to the subway and the Plaka as well as Acropolis museum and the Acropolis. Overall we would recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for an Executive room--somewhat larger --less money than the view rooms at the front of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    485
    269
    100
    58
See reviews for
213
648
62
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We arrived at the Royal Olympic after our overnight flight to find friendly, helpful staff. the rooms were clean and comfortable. Our room was at the rear of the hotel so the lack of view was made up with a lovely comfortable shaded balcony in the evening. The location is as good as it gets.The room was clean and serviced very well. The breakfast was varied and good enough for us and the view from the roof was great.
The decor is a lttle dated and that would not allow us to rate it a a 5 star hotel. However, we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: For a view, ask for a room facing the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Excellent location, a few minutes walk to the Plaka and yet away from the crowded areas.
The room is quite small and has a small balcony. There was no iron or kettle in the room. When we asked for an iron we were told that the hotel cannot provide one! and at the same time they cannot provide quick pressing/laundry service!
The breakfast was good and there is free wifi even in the rooms.
Overall, I think this hotel is too expensive for the service they provide!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Royal Olympic is the first hotel in my trip to Greece. After read through the review, I was a little bit worried about that i will see a really old, out-dated room. But because of the location and price, i still booked it. And i'm really happy that I stick to this hotel.

We spend total 2 nights there at the beginning of the trip, and 1 night after we came back from a 4 days bus tour.

Hotel staff is friendly. Room is clean and modern and comfy. Breakfast has plenty of choices. The view from the roof top bar is amazing. Location is excellent, walking distance to most of the historical site.

It really build a nice start for our trip.

For the price i paid, its beyond my expectation. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoast of Sweden
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Absolutely perfect with the very best location.

The hotel has small but very nice rooms and a beautiful and relaxing pool area away from the hustling and bustling of the city centre. The hotel is well maintained in a beautiful way.

The food in the roof restaurant is absolutely delicious. Traditional with a modern touch. And of course, the view from up there is magic especially in the evening.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room facing the pool area, that is, away from the traffic outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Because of location and a recommended view, my wife and I decided to stay here. The rates were reasonable, the staff was very helpful and friendly. This location is across the street from Zeus temple and about 3 minutes from the Plaka where shops and restaurants are. Its just a little further from the Acropolis and Monastraki which is also near by. We took the sub about a 10 minute walk to Gazi for dinners and a little night life. Its a college town with bar / clubs on one side and restaurants / gastropubs on the other. The hotel has a great roof top breakfast and the view is awesome. English is spoken by nearly everyone in the hotel which was nice. We stayed in a standard room which was nice. There is a tour company about one door over that provides various trips. You can see Mt. Leviticus from the roof top and its not a far hike maybe two hours with some photo stops. Along the same route to the Plaka and the Acropolis is a pickup for the double deck tour bus that provides ear buds and audio on about 14 of the major tourist spots. We did a two day and used it to get around a little at times. The weather was in the low to mid 80s which made it nice and enjoyable at the hotel pool. We recommend this place and would stay there again. A couple of places we liked for food and or drinks are Kosmikon in the Plaka, Eoybaaki in Gazi, butcher shop in Gazi, Athens Beer Drinks & Food between the hotel and Plaka.

Room Tip: We were out quite a bit so no real tips on this. Sooo much to see and do over 4 days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

OUr flight was late so we ended up getting to hotel a little after 1am. We had heard about the rooftop bar and the front desk said if we hurried they may still be open. Once we got up there the bar tenders were awesome. We got two drinks and were able to stay longer to enjoy the view and I was watching a football game on my phone through their wifi which was awesome with the amazing view.

The room was also nice and we were very close to acropolis to see the next day before we flew out to Santorini. Would stay here again especially for price. Metro was easy on the way back to airport. Took bus in on first night cus metro was closed and worked well just took bit longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Olympic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Olympic Hotel

Address: Athanasiou Diakou 28-34, Athens 11743, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#46 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Olympic Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Olympic is a newly fully refurbished 5* hotel located just in the centre of Athens, at a walking distance from all major archaeological sites, points of interest and public transports of the city, and within easy reach to/from the airport. The 264 rooms, and especially the unique Athenian Panorama rooms with a breathtaking view over the temple of Zeus and other major sites of the city, the 18 state of the art meeting rooms, the roof garden restaurant & bar lying in front of the Acropolis, temple of Zeus and Lycabettus Hill, the swimming pool, create a luxurious and warm environment where personal touch, service and attention to every single detail are very well looked after.Should it be for leisure, corporate or MICE travelers, the Royal Olympic offers a unique and authentic Athenian experience that will remain unforgettable to each guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Olympic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Olympic Athens
Hotel Royal Olympic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Olympic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.