We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed bag” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Athenes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Athenes to your Saves list
Novotel Athenes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 - 6 Michail Voda et Makedonias, Athens 10439, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Culture Package
Ranked #64 of 325 Hotels in Athens
New Delhi, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mixed bag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for two nights. The hotel is located at some distance from the Larissa metro station especially if are coming from the airport with some heavy bags. Suggest that you get off at Synyagma square and take a taxi from there which should cost around 8 euros. Otherwise, the hotel is a 7-10 min walk from Larissa station and is centrally located. We took a three day Athens pass and could get onto any metro using that. It is just around 10 min away in the metro from Syntagma, Monastiraki and Plaka.
The hotel itself is a smaller facility compared to other Novotels. It is also a bit run down.
The breakfast was pretty lavish and the view from the rooftop bar was amazing.

Room Tip: ask for a higher room with the view to the Acropolis
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Hotel Guest,
We would like to thank you for having shared your comments on Tripadvisor.
The metro is indeed a useful way of transportation when you wish to visit Athens.
You were pleased with the 7th floor since it offers a beautiful view to Acropolis and Mont Lycabettus among all.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at the novotel Athens hotel.
Sincerely, Evripides Tzikas, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    672
    260
    53
    17
See reviews for
451
446
89
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We were quite sceptical about the location of the hotel but fortunately all our fears were wrong. We didn't feel unsafe at any time. The hotel is a typical novotel chain hotel (double room with a sofa for the whole family) with excellent breakfast and tasty meal (we had HB ). The reception staff was very friendly and helpfull. We recomend this hotel for all the families who want a decent hotel with a reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Hotel Guest,
We would like to thank you for your preference at the Novotel Athens hotel.
We were pleased to read your positive review and we're delighted to learn you enjoyed the hotel's services.We look forward welcoming you again during your next trip in Athens.
Sincerely, E. Tzikas, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BANGALORE
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I stayed in this hotel when we visited Greece for a conference for 3nights, the hotel is located in a sort of residential area in a corner but close to the Plaka area where is the heart of Athens is located. The property is compact but nice rooms and functional but compared to other Novotel hotels the rooms in the property looked quite small(size of IBIS). The hotel is neatly maintained and the breakfast was quite good except that hardly there was any change in the menu.

Room Tip: The hotel is tucked with other buildings and did not have any great view from any side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Hotel Guest,
We would like to thank you for having shared your review in Tripadvisor further your stay at the Novotel Athens hotel. We were pleased to read your positive review and we're delighted to learn you enjoyed the hotel's services.We look forward welcoming you again during your next trip in Athens.
Sincerely, E. Tzikas, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Really nice hotel, very attentive, personable and nice staff. Rooms nice size, good bed, all very clear, good free internet and fast when plugged in. Very pleasant bar and restaurant. Rooftop swimming pool with great views. Coffee not cheap. Food very nice, especially lunch salads.Can eat outside in the sun. Area run-down like much of Athens but feels safe. Taxi around €3 - €5 to wherever you are going - make sure they have the meter on!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Hotel Guest,
We would like to thank you for your review in Tipadvisor. We were pleased to read your positive review and we're delighted to learn you enjoyed the hotel's services.We look forward welcoming you again during your next trip in Athens.
Sincerely, E. Tzikas, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights while sight seeing in Athens after a conference. Was reasonably priced, and offered a good standard of accommodation. Nice rooms, comfortable bed, very helpful and attentive staff. Nice rooftop area with views over the city. I didn't eat in the hotel, so can't comment on the breakfast or food. As other reviewers point out, the hotel is in a slightly run-down area just north of Omania Square. It seemed ok in the daytime, but I can understand that some may find it a little sinister after dark. Having said that, this seems typical of many areas of Central Athens. About a 5 to 10 minute walk from Larissa metro station, where you can easily access the main tourist destinations.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Hotel Guest,
We would like to thank you for your preference at the Novotel Athens hotel.
We were pleased to read your positive review and we're delighted to learn you enjoyed the hotel's services.We look forward welcoming you again during your next trip in Athens.
Sincerely, E. Tzikas, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Overall the hotel is great - helpful staff, wonderful rooms, super elaborate breakfast buffet, chic ambiance, the only drawback is the location of the hotel. Infact, the rooftop pool with the bar offers some stunning views of the city especially at night.
The metro station is at a walking distance from the hotel and taxis are almost always readily available. The location of novotel is actually good to explore the gazi area of athens which is famous for its eating and partying joints.
For exploring the touristy side of Athens, it requires a fair bit of commute from Novotel which is fine in the day time but at night, the area around the hotel gets a bit eerie especially while walking back from the metro station.
Perfect hotel for business travelers. For tourists, you might want to stay closer to the main attractions of the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Hotel Guest,
We would like to thank you for your preference at the Novotel Athens hotel.
We were pleased to read your positive review and we're delighted to learn you enjoyed the hotel's services, since our personnel strive to provide an unforgettable stay to guests.
We look forward welcoming you again during your next trip in Athens.
Sincerely, E. Tzikas, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Athenes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Athenes

Address: 4 - 6 Michail Voda et Makedonias, Athens 10439, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#35 Family Hotel in Athens
#66 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Athenes 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a family holiday or a business trip, the Novotel Athens is designed for natural living. This 4 star hotel in the centre of Athens is close to Omonia Square, Larissis station and the National Museum and features spacious, ergonomic rooms for your comfort and well being. Get down to business with internet access and meeting rooms. Relax in our modern, open plan bar and restaurant with well balanced Mediterranean cuisine or at the rooftop bar and restaurant beside the pool. Free onsite parking. FREE wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Athenes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Athenes Hotel Athens
Novotel Hotel Athens
Novotel Hotel Athenes
Novotel Athens
Athens Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Athenes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.