We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent small Hotel in the heart of Athens” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Periscope Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Periscope Hotel to your Saves list
Periscope Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Haritos str., Kolonaki, Athens 10675, Greece (Formerly Athenian Inn) (Kolonaki / Lykavittos)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excelent small Hotel in the heart of Athens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Great small Hotel in the middle of Athens but without the noise of the shopping sector area. The Hotel is in a great neiborhood with great small restaurants and boutiques, but only 10 minutes walk to Sintagmatcs square and 15 to the buzzing area of town. Staff very friendly and helpfull make the Periscope a great choice in Athens.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    83
    22
    4
    2
See reviews for
16
117
27
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ZH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

If you like a well designed room, good service, friendly sttaff and a excellent breakfast , you should choose the Periscope. Kolonaki is a very nice neighbourhood too. We enjoyed dinner nearby. Our rate was a special last-minute rate, you could not beat it!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed the second time at the Periscope in Kolonaki. And we haven't regret. Well, if you want to stay directly to Acropolis or Plaka, you should consider to book another hotel and are under time pressure, because you stay only for one night in Athens. All other should think about booking this small boutique hotel is also very good located in Kolonaki. You have all the shops in front of the door, it is only a 10 to 15 minutes walk to Plaka or Psiri, and also just a 15 minutes walk to Excarchia, if you want and like to go there. At the same time, the hotel is very quiet, because it is located at very small street with very few cars passing and no pubs or bars in the direct neighbourhood.

The hotel is very nice and modern designed, although rooms are not too big you feel comfortable. The bathroom is also large enough and the shower has enough water pressure to wake you up in the morning. But what we like most was the bed, it was so comfortable, that we considered to take the Matraze home. ;)

The staff is friendly and helpful.

We will definitely return to the Periscope on our next trip to Athens.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickenburg, AZ
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I loved this place. It has a great location. The neighborhood is full of shops and restaurants. You do not need to go far to get anything you need, including a short walk to the metro. My main purpose was to get a place within walking distance to the American School of Classics and my preference was to not stay in a big hotel. I don't need a lot of amenities, I like to get out and walk. It fit the bill perfectly. I was 5 min. max from the school.The staff was helpful, but not intrusive. The breakfast was included, and the small buffet style had anything you needed to get a start on the day. Everything was up to date, great bathroom with a good sized shower. The room also had a mini-bar, safe, robe, window that opened to the street. I would stay again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: I liked the room facing the street so that I could look out at the activity, which included some con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Honestly we stayed there in September 2013 and I forgot to review it. Wouldn't know how to categorize this hotel but for us it was a perfect boutique hotel, comfortable and clean and staff was very helpful! And the location is great as I think Kolonaki is the best district to stay at if you want to stay in the centre of Athens. Nearest Metro station is max 5 mn walk in case you are wondering...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We booked the penthouse suite to be sure to get a nice and spacious room for to nights in Athen. Unfortunately the room was not as clean and spacious as we expected, the jacuzzi was dirty and could not be used.

Average breakfast.

The hotel is situated in a very nice and safe area in Athen with good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

As many others have written, the location is very nice for wandering around Kolonaki by foot but also quick if meeting people other places in central Athens.

The room was comfortable and decor pleasant, as expected.

As of December 2013, some construction happening in building directly across street (which I would guess will continue for some months) but at least when I was there the noise wasn't too bad.

Two things about the breakfast were memorable: very nice smoked salmon, and probably about the best poached eggs I have ever had.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Periscope Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periscope Hotel

Address: 22 Haritos str., Kolonaki, Athens 10675, Greece (Formerly Athenian Inn)
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Athens
#29 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#47 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Periscope Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Periscope is a minimal city hotel with an impressive urban architecture, located on a quiet street, minutes away from Kolonaki square. The hotel draws its name from its electric periscope, a fantastic way to visit Athens from a distance! In the Lounge Bar, guests can find a remote control for a periscope located on the roof of the hotel. With a 360 degree range, the periscope's views, which guests select, are shown real time on a big plasma TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Periscope Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Periscope Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Periscope Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.