We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent choice in central Athens” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saint George Lycabettus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Saint George Lycabettus to your Saves list
Saint George Lycabettus
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Kleomenous Street, Athens 10675, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“An excellent choice in central Athens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We have stayed at the St. George dozens of times, but not in the past five when we had a house in Athens. If you are looking for things to annoy you, you can find them here. The hotel is over-designed. The silverware is so much so that form interferes with function. Toilet paper is hung from a beaded rope that makes it impossible to use. Individual room temperature can't be controlled. Just try to shower without flooding the bathroom floor. Staff can appear perfunctory. All this said, We love the SGL. It is a short walk from the center, close to the Metro and many museums, and in the heart of ritzy Kolonaki. And ... appearance aside, the staff are kind and generous and helpful? This is a much better bet that either the Megali Brettania or the Hilton, the former too close, the latter too close to the action of Constitution Sq.

Room Tip: The acropolis facing rooms really do offer spectacular views, but as for one on the side towards Dex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lycabettus, Owner at Saint George Lycabettus, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience and comments.
Our guests’ feedback is always welcome, bad or good reviews, as it is very important towards our continuous improvement. We always strive to provide the best possible hospitality and service to all of our Guests.

We do hope that the next time you choose to visit Athens you will allow us to show you the effort that we put in order to create unique experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    281
    171
    109
    49
See reviews for
94
356
77
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kiotari
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

If you stay at this hotel you MUST invest some extra to get Acropolis View and breakfast included. We booked such a deal via booking.com and it turned out to be a great deal.
+ Room with amazing view over Athens
+ Fantastic breakfast , fresh ,nicely presented , good selection and again breathtaking view to enjoy while you having breakfast. Efficient staff
+ It was our 5 years anniversary and we got a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine upon arrival.
+ Staff in reception were helpful and service minded. Housekeeping were smiling.
+ Safe area of Athens.

Only minor details ( as I work in the hospitality business and hence very detailed)
- The massage shower in the bedroom was not working at all. we needed to hold the shower head while showering.
- Extremely old telephone in the room.
- VERY expensive room amenities. ADVISE :bring with you bottled water ,chips and other snack you may want while staying there (if you dont wanna pay a lot for such a cost).
- The evening porter could have a more 5 star service approach
- We like to walk so we don't mind the hills. But if you have trouble to walk you may consider to take taxi. But again taxi is very cheap in Athens.

Room Tip: Invest the extra euros in a room with view and breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lycabettus, Owner at Saint George Lycabettus, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
We would like to thank you for your nice comments.
Our staff and the management of the hotel are offering our guests the best possible service and standards ensuring a memorable stay.
We will be glad to welcome once more and provide you with more memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We really liked the hotel. The room we had did not have a view, but the breakfast room more than made up for it. Each morning, we were greeted with an excellent breakfast and a fabulous view of Athens all the way to the Acropolis. Our room was smaller, but clean and had all of the amenities. The common rooms in the hotel were very nice and we had helpful conversations with the staff numerous times. However, it is located on the side of Lycabettus Hill, a very steep walk up from the main tourist area of Athens. A lot of one way streets led to some confusion for our taxi driver who didn't recognize the address when we engaged him in the Placa area. We just said "Lycabettus Hill" and he got us close enough that when we knew where we were, we just got out and walked the rest of the way. The hotel has a really nice outdoor restaurant across the street and there is a taverna close by for a more local feel. We are walkers by nature and didn't mind, but if you are not, you need to plan on taxis. And be sure to have the hotel address and map clearly marked. All in all, it was a good choice.

Room Tip: If a view is important to you, you need to ask when you book. As we spend such little time in our r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lycabettus, Owner at Saint George Lycabettus, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
We would like to thank you for your nice comments.
Our restaurants and specially La Suite Lounge offers magnificent views to Athens and Acropolis.
We will be glad to welcome once more and provide you with more memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samos, Greece
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

this hotel is just gorgeous, boutique, fantastic location, wish we had found it before as we have always stayed at the Grande Bretange in Syntagma( at least 3 times the nightly rate ).
At the St George Lycabettus, the Grand Balcony, rooftop bar and restaurant is magnificent without the prices of the GB! We had a 5 course degustation menu including a bottle of wine for 36eurosp/p, whilst enjoying a beautful sunset view of the Partheneon....unbelievable, Then a very good breakfast on this Grand Balcony the following morning.
The hotel itself is a little tired even tho it was refurbished in 2005, but the room was big and the bed and bedding was superb. The staff were great. We loved the location...lovely class of people in the whole area. We loved walking the streets and enjoying a coffee or wine here and there. Quite different to being too close to Syntagma and the Plaka, where it is very touristy and busy.
The online booking gives you great specials so well worth while checking all the booking sites as well as the hotel site on line...huge savings to be had from the rack rate.
Taxi is only 10euro into Plaka and Parthenon, or a 600m walk

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lycabettus, Owner at Saint George Lycabettus, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
We would like to thank you for your nice comments.
Our staff and the management of the hotel are offering our guests the best possible service and standards ensuring a memorable stay.
We will be glad to welcome once more and provide you with more memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A nice hotel though a bit tired looking in a classic type style.

2 minute walk from the trendy boutique stores of Kolonaki and the stunning view at lycabbetus hill made this hotel.

Free Wifi at the roof top and the view of the acropolis was amazing!!

About a 10 minute drive to the main city centre. It's very hilly so train station is a bit far for such a a walk.

The downside to our room was that it smelt like cigarettes, despite it being a non-smoking room, a little grosss...

Room Tip: Try get a room as high a level as possible, that way the free Wifi available on the roof top bar con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lycabettus, Owner at Saint George Lycabettus, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your review which is highly appreciated as all comments are welcomed in order to make us meet the highest possible quality service to our guests.
The hotel holds the elegance and the classics of Athens at its best by the years.
The hotel is located in one of the trendiest and elegant districts in Athens being able to offer the best views in Athens just in walking distance from the centre of Athens.
The line of our rooms is capable of fitting all guests’ desire. Our Frond Desk department is happy to serve all requests.
We would be happy to welcome you once more to our hotel and accommodate you according to your requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I loved everything, from my room (see below) to the overall good vibes, the stunning breakfast buffet (with the amazing view), free internet - all of it! The staff always greeted you with a smile from cleaning personnel to the concierge. The mini-bar was also packed with goodies (I actually had two of them in my room). Highly recommended!

Room Tip: 508/509 is a tremendous suite where you wake up, looking out on Acropolis... and basically the entir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lycabettus, Owner at Saint George Lycabettus, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
We would like to thank you for your nice comments.
Our staff and the management of the hotel are offering our guests the best possible service and standards ensuring a memorable stay.
We will be glad to welcome once more and provide you with more memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Saint George Lycabettus. We booked thru a Hotwire.com so we didn't pay the usual price, which is good since our room (on the ground floor) was the smallest room I've probably ever stayed in. We had to push a night table half under the bed to open the door to the closet space. Because we didn't book thru the hotel we didn't get a buffet breakfast. Also the bed was way to firm for me.
We did go up to the pool area to see the city view and that is fabulous from this hotel, so if you pay for the room with a view you will probably be happier than we were.
We walked down the hill to see the sites, which wasn't too far (about 15 min.) but took a taxi back ....way to steep uphill for us.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $ if you want a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lycabettus, Owner at Saint George Lycabettus, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We would like to thank you for your review as your comments are highly appreciated and noted according to our policy to accept all details in our continuous efforts to increase the quality of our services to the maximum.
We are offering on our Web Site much more affordable rates for all types of rooms. Also there are packages including the American Buffet Breakfast for a very low supplement. The line of our rooms is capable of fitting all guests’ desire. Our Frond Desk department is happy to serve all requests.
Our restaurant “La Suite Lounge” and our Swimming Pool/ Pool bar in Summer time offer magnificent views to Athens and Acropolis. The hotel is located in one of the trendiest and elegant districts in Athens being able to offer the best views in Athens just in walking distance from the centre of Athens.
We would be happy to welcome you once more to our hotel and accommodate you according to your requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saint George Lycabettus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint George Lycabettus

Address: 2 Kleomenous Street, Athens 10675, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Athens
#48 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Saint George Lycabettus 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Saint George Lycabettus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint George Lycabettus Hotel Athens
Saint George Lycabettus Athens
Hotel Saint George Lycabettus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint George Lycabettus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.