We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View was great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Athens

Save Saved
You added Hilton Athens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hilton Athens
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46 Vassilissis Sofias Avenue, Athens 11528, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 325 hotels in Athens
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“View was great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Athens Hilton for 6 nights on one of the executive floors. Rooms were fine - nothing special. An extra blanket would have been nice.

Breakfast buffet in executive lounge was great...evening snacks were not so great.
Also, the staff is too busy to clear tables or replenish items - like coffeecups and cutlery and the food in the morning.

Coffee is wonderful - if you have a coffee cup! And it would have been nice to be able to bring a cup of good coffee back to your room - not interested in the instant stuff that is available in the room.

But it's a great location with the blue line metro two blocks away. The rooftop lounge is wonderful with a view of the acropolis.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame,

Many thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to post your input.

It is a pleasure to note that the general impression of your visit was positive. All your feedback is very valued to us, your comments about our executive lounge service and food quality have been taken into consideration. Our guests' points raised always help us to improve our services and become better day by day.

Do hope we will have more opportunities in future to host you again.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,437 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    637
    526
    180
    63
    31
See reviews for
200
516
98
391
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

The Hilton was in a perfect location for our short stay in Athens. We used the metro to and from the airport to the Hilton. Our room had a fantastic view, plenty of space and we were within walking distance of a wonderful restaurant, Oroscopo.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen the Hilton Athens for your recent stay in the city.

It is a delight to see that you enjoyed your visit, in particular the location, as well as your room being spacious and comfortable with all the necessary amenities.

Once again, many thanks for your time. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

I was there strictly for business so I can not tell much about the pool and/ or the hotel's touristic approach, but the it did its job very well. The outside it's a bit outdated but the view of the Acropolis did my day every morning as I woke up and looked outside. Breakfast was good and complete. No complains!

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at the Hilton Athens.

It is with pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay, the facilities and services rendered. It is truly very rewarding to receive such positive feedback from our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not distant future, either on business or leisure.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

As always I stayed for a busienss trip at the Hilton; always efficient; this time esp. the staff at the roff top bar - which is probably the best view you can get from any hotel to the Acropolis/old town at night; will definitely come again;

Room Tip: tip, go for a room at one of the upper floors (8+, with balcony).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for taking the time to post your most constructive review of our hotel.

We were very pleased to see that your stay with us was an enjoyable one and that your high expectations were met on a variety of services and amenities that were available to you. Your positive input has been shared with my team, in particular with our Galaxy roof top bar team members.

Once again, many thanks for the preference you show in the Hilton Athens.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future!

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We shared a triple room as a family with a teenager and found the space small but adequate. Unusually for a Hilton the 'extra' bed was a single foldaway. The location was less than 5 minutes walk to the nearest metro station and perfect for sightseeing. The pool was crowded but great. For those who enjoy a hearty breakfast, if you select the 'breakfast included' option when making your reservation there is a vast selection of unlimited food and it will keep you going the entire day. On the negative side , EVERYTHING cost extra and it was very expensive. Wi Fi was free in the lobby but if you wanted to use it in the room, costs were prohibitively high for a family holiday (especially with a teenager!!) We found the restaurant to be very expensive and it was significantly cheaper to eat out every night. There is a fantastic walk to the top of the nearby hill where you get the best views across the city and look down onto the Parthenon. Finally don't be fooled by the 'room with Acropolis views' advertising because the majority of hotels in Athens can provide this.

Room Tip: Higher floors are less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for taking the time to write and post your review of our hotel, which is appreciated.

We are pleased to see that you were satisfied with the majority of facilities and services offered.

Your input about some of our prices that you found high, has been shared with my team, however please note that these are in line with other Athenian hotels of the same category.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and hope you will give us the chance to welcome you back!

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed at the Hilton Athens with my wife recently. After having been to the hotel to attend conferences or visit the great Galaxy Bar & Grill we were expecting a similar level of great experience as hotel guests.

To be honest, the hotel did not meet our expectations. Nothing went wrong, but it was just an average hotel stay, nothing more nothing less. I have stayed at better Hiltons and at worse ones, this one turned out to be average.

What we liked:
- Excellent breakfast buffet with extensive choices and high quality
- Nicely designed/decorated and spacious rooms
- The room service menu offers a good number of choices
- Great selection of movies
- The provision of the standard services you expect from a Hilton property

What we did not like:
- Due to the location of the hotel on the intersection of two very busy roads, there is a lot of noise from outside (unless your room is in the side of the hotel overlooking the pool)
- Room insulation is not great. We could hear clearly noise and discussions from adjacent rooms and the corridor, incl. doors banging.
- There were no bathrobes or slippers provided (a must at any 5-star hotel...). We had to ask housekeeping for slippers.
- Room service was very slow at lunchtime. It took 45mins for our order to arrive. It was better during other times.
- Room service food quality was not good enough for the high prices charged. E.g. overcooked, dry burger, the bun was not fresh enough.
- Parking was very expensive (€29 for 24hrs). Same with internet connection, mini-bar and water bottle. (I saw responses from the manager that the prices are equivalent to other similar hotels in Athens, but this is not true. We stayed recently at the InterContinental and prices for the same services and food were about 40% lower on average and other 5 star hotels offer them even lower or free)
- The TV is very small. It is also not widescreen, which affects the image quality, in particular of movies.
- The room could have been cleaned better before our arrival.
- Front desk staff found it rather hard to smile at you.

So in summary, we tried it but we will not stay there again, as there are much better and cheaper options in Athens

Room Tip: Rooms with Acropolis view are better not only because of the better view, but also because they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for selecting the Hilton Athens for your latest stay in the city.

We are sorry and concerned to read that our hotel did not meet your expectations.

Regarding the points you raised on what you did not like during your visit, these points have been taken into serious consideration and my team will take necessary steps in order to correct, improve any shortcomings. Many thanks for having brought these to our attention.

Hope you will reconsider your decision and give us another opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I was at the Hilton in Athens in mid August. Have to say that this hotel is really nice,
pool area and rooms are just perfect, the bed is also really great. It is close to metro station and in front of a nice park. View from the roof was amazing.
The only thing i didn't like was the girl at the reception
when i got there, didn't feel really welcome. And also on the saturday i got wake up by music at 4 in the morning, don't know where that was coming from, maybe from the bar on the top of the hotel (but they close at 2). Would go back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at the Hilton Athens.

It is with great satisfaction to read that you enjoyed your stay here, the convenient location, the comfortable rooms. Your valuable input has been noted and shared with the relevant department heads.

Do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

With kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Athens

Also Known As:
Hilton Athens Hotel
Hilton Athens Hotel Athens
Hilton International Athens
Address: 46 Vassilissis Sofias Avenue, Athens 11528, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Athens
#20 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#33 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Athens 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Athens is not just a hotel. It’s a legacy in Athens. Consider the fact that a whole area is named after the Hilton and you’ll start to understand the immense name this hotel has had the past 48 years. Socialités, fashionistas, local and international celebrities, you see them here!An architectural marvel, the Hilton Athens has been fully renovated in 2003 to be able to cope with the next episode in its ever interesting life. The hotel boasts 506 spacious rooms and some of the best city views available. You can almost touch the Acropolis! Art is abundant and local artists are used throughout the hotel. Hilton Athens has the largest outdoor pool in the city center and features four restaurants and two bars. The Byzantino restaurant offers Mediterranean cuisine in a renowned atmosphere. At the Milos restaurant, you can taste gourmet Greek cuisine at its best. Aethrion Lounge is where local celebrities and politicians meet for a coffee and the rooftop Galaxy Bar Restaurant truly is the most glamorous Athenian hangout to start out or end your night, to see or to be seen. Remember; people like to dress up here! Be the VIP you are while enjoying a citywide view. The hotel is just 25 minutes away from the airport by direct subway. It features 22 meeting rooms for 2 to 1300 people, a 24-hour Business Center and an Executive Lounge with Acropolis view. For a spa getaway or some pampering time away from the real world, you can visit the Hiltonia Spa, featuring an indoor pool, a fully equipped fitness room, a Pilates studio with natural light and an endless array of health and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hilton Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Athens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.