We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Athens

Save Saved
You added Hilton Athens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Athens
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46 Vassilissis Sofias Avenue, Athens 11528, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From €121
Ranked #42 of 324 hotels in Athens
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Very nicely refurbished, great spa, friendly and helpful staff. Lounge was great with good view, also bar on top floor (but pricey). Convenient location to center of city, can be reached on foot in less than 20 minutes, great view of Acropolis from my room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame,

Many thanks for your warm comments about your stay here at the Hilton Athens.

We are pleased to see that you were satisfied with the hotel's facilities and that the service offered by our team members met your expectations.

Look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,590 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    694
    585
    202
    68
    41
See reviews for
229
564
108
450
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Hilton Athens is well kept hotel with lovely rooms and wonderful bathrooms, located in the heart of the city and just 5 minutes walk from variety of local restaurants.
The staff was kind and helpful, every requested answered in positive way with a smile. Breakfast had fabulous variety and even I could find what to eat. In summary - if you stay in Athens, try to stay at Hilton.

Room Tip: Ask for a room pacing the view, you can catch the Acropolis from your balcony. Floors 10-12 are the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame,

We would like to thank you for your warm comments about the Hilton Athens following your recent stay here.

It is a pleasure to note that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit. Your kind input has been communicated to my team and has been much appreciated!

Hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

What a fabulous stay. We purchased an e upgrade which was honored. They arranged for a taxi to meet us , which was flawless. We were whisked up to the 11th floor for private check in. Room was spacious clean and top notch . Lounge was to die for. Wonderful pastries. Coffee. Breakfast was plentiful wiith assorted breads fruits cheeses eggs, yogurts cereals etc. very well kept. Always enough to eat. Beautiful views of Athens and Parthenon from the lounge. Room service just fabulous. Burgers probably the best I ever had. Expensive though . Not a whole lot nearby though so you are almost stuck unless you are comfortable navigating the metro. I became an expert. Literally right across the street and it's a straight shot from the airport as well. We even canceled our car service back. Extremely easy to get to syntagma square and the acropolis is only an easy two metro stops away.
They can't do enough for you here and go out of their way to please . E upgrade is so worth the purchase. We were just treated royally. Internet of course with most hotels in Europe are expensive . This is the one complaint I have with Hilton . The lounges should have free access if you pay for that upgrade! Management should take that feed back to Hilton corporate.

This hotel was one of the nixes I have stayed in. Service top notch. Really recommend it!

Room Tip: 11the floor executive room well worth the extra cost with wonderful views and lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Athens and for taking the time to share your views and impressions with us.

We are glad that the overall stay exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed the services rendered, your room, the location, our friendly and efficient team members.

Really hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back again very soon!

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Our top floor executive room looked straight out over Athens to the Acropolis. The executive lounge provided excellent service and help, nice snacks, spirits, and beverages (though the wine was so-so). Ice machine in the hall (ah, Hilton!) Comfortable bed, crisp linens, wonderful rain forest shower. The hotel helped arrange transfers for us, loaned umbrellas, and helped us interpret maps and layout. Excellent complimentary wi-fi throughout. The Hilton Athens was a wonderful base for our 4 day stay in Athens. A few quibbles -- a bit of peeling wallpaper in our room, smallish rooms, odd but pleasant layout and furnishings. We will stay again.

Room Tip: Definitely stay on the Acropolis side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame,

It is a pleasure to see that your recent stay here was an enjoyable one.

Your warm comments will be shared with my team and I assure you these will be much appreciated.

Thank you for having chosen our hotel! We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Athens.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Front of house staff need to pay attention to their service levels as many people have previously commented; some Reception staff were acceptable others could come across as grumpy, miserable and unhelpful.

e.g.1. when checking in, no one wants to feel that they are checking into a morgue rather than a 5* hotel, not a smile or positive warm word of welcome from the person behind the check-in desk when I was checked-in - rather disappointing start.

e.g.2. One evening I asked one of the Reception staff for the address of a certain (quite popular) restaurant in Athens; I was asked if I knew where it was.
As I din't know where it was I said "in the centre of Athens somewhere" - to which he simply shrugged his shoulders and said "there are 5 million people living in Athens"!

I would bet that 4,999,999 of them would have given me more help than that guy. Guess Googling from his computer terminal was too much effort?

I was very happy with my room, which was of a medium-size; it had a wooden panel floor, double bed, small sofa, bathroom with bath, shower and w/c, sliding cupboard, work desk and tv, safe, kettle & coffee sachets. But the view from my room was of the tower blocks at the back of the hotel.

Some of the in-room mini-bar prices were verging on the extreme e.g. tube of Pringles (Euro 13.50), 35g tube of Smarties (Euro 7.00), 50 ml Vodka (Euro 17.50).

On the positive side, breakfast was excellent every morning.

There was a checkout requirement for 8:30am

The Manager of this hotel seems to make a point of responding to somewhat negative Trip Advisor reviews with a standardised "copy & paste" type bunch of boilerplate
text of the form:

"Dear Sir/Madame, Many thanks for your input regarding your stay here. We are sorry to learn that you were not quite satisfied with your visit, in particular
with the <insert issue>..."

With regards to this review, I would much prefer the Manager not do that and try to sort out the issues highlighted to make for a better customer experience for his future
guests rather than apologising to me. The issues are not particularly difficult to resolve and its really just a big surprise to find them in a supposed 5* hotel. This hotel is
certainly no where near average and currently "very good" seems to be an appropriate rating.

Likes:
+ View from the Rooftop Terrace (Parthenon)
+ Excellent breakfast

Dislikes:
- Front-of-house service levels
- Very, very slow in-room internet speeds, almost unusable
- Bottle of water in room £7.50
- Lack of vegetarian meal options for lunch/dinner; food tepid at best.

Room Tip: Choose a side of the hotel facing the Acropolis
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Athens for your recent stay and for taking the time to post your feedback.

We always do appreciate hearing from our guests, including areas of improvement. Please rest assured that we will attend to the points you highlighted.

Really hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Loved this hotel and the staff was amazing. Prior to our stay I emailed inquiring about the closest metro/bus stops and my questions were immediately answered. We arrived in Athens 30 minutes before a general strike and needed to take a city bus to the hotel-the information I received was invaluable. We were walking from the bus stop, dragging our luggage, when a bellman saw us. He could have easily ignored us but hurried to assist us. Every employee had the same helpful attitude. We were fortunate enough to have access to the Executive Floor amenities - the view, breakfast, and afternoon reception were beyond enjoyable. Our room was clean and comfortable. The view was so-so (other side of the hotel had Acropolis views). Location was convenient - walking distance to attractions and shopping (but we like to walk). There was a local grocery store nearby (front desk gave directions) and we got to have some local flavor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for being our guest and for posting your input.

I am glad that your stay here exceeded your expectations and you enjoyed the hotel's facilities, your room, the location, our friendly staff.

Hope we will have more opportunities in future to welcome you and extend the warm hospitality that our guests have come to expect from us over the years.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel for 3 nights and we loved it. Room was just beautiful and warm, very friendly staff and very nice location near city center (15 - 20 minutes walk). There is also metro station right next to the hotel. The only thing that we didn't like is that everything extra (such as using the internet) must be paid extra and it is not cheap at all!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Athens for your stay and for taking the time to review your experience with us.

We are glad that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit, your room, our friendly staff, the convenient location.

Really hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Athens

Address: 46 Vassilissis Sofias Avenue, Athens 11528, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Athens
#17 Family Hotel in Athens
#20 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#23 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#40 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Athens 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Athens is not just a hotel. It’s a legacy in Athens. Consider the fact that a whole area is named after the Hilton and you’ll start to understand the immense name this hotel has had the past 48 years. Socialités, fashionistas, local and international celebrities, you see them here!An architectural marvel, the Hilton Athens has been fully renovated in 2003 to be able to cope with the next episode in its ever interesting life. The hotel boasts 506 spacious rooms and some of the best city views available. You can almost touch the Acropolis! Art is abundant and local artists are used throughout the hotel. Hilton Athens has the largest outdoor pool in the city center and features four restaurants and two bars. The Byzantino restaurant offers Mediterranean cuisine in a renowned atmosphere. At the Milos restaurant, you can taste gourmet Greek cuisine at its best. Aethrion Lounge is where local celebrities and politicians meet for a coffee and the rooftop Galaxy Bar Restaurant truly is the most glamorous Athenian hangout to start out or end your night, to see or to be seen. Remember; people like to dress up here! Be the VIP you are while enjoying a citywide view. The hotel is just 25 minutes away from the airport by direct subway. It features 22 meeting rooms for 2 to 1300 people, a 24-hour Business Center and an Executive Lounge with Acropolis view. For a spa getaway or some pampering time away from the real world, you can visit the Hiltonia Spa, featuring an indoor pool, a fully equipped fitness room, a Pilates studio with natural light and an endless array of health and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Athens Hotel Athens
Hilton International Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Athens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.