We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value to price, best location and faboullous rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Athens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Athens to your Saves list
Hilton Athens
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46 Vassilissis Sofias Avenue, Athens 11528, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 30%
Ranked #35 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Excellent value to price, best location and faboullous rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Not in my wildest dreams would i think that the refurbishing started whetre it should the rooms (in Greece it has been our experience tha ttt funds h to the lobbies resulting in lux entrances abut no matresses of doors to the bathrooms it hashappened!) This time wefound the m o s t fabulous bed with "cocomat " mattreses, lux satin high -thread count linens, 3 pillows each, fluffy towels, large room, balconny with h spectacular ie viewf yh Acropolis, marble bathroom with a shower cabin straight out from a spa!
Breakfast good but not like in any other european or asian country though it offers an extensive buffet. Missing bagels, cream cheese, fish but found pancakes n maple syrup. Stuff service hut n miss though the chamber maid service was extremely pllite n efficient. They make their money on wifi charges m- not free n quite expensive, and water bottle of Evian at €5. Try thd Galaxy bar resto on top. If you are in Athens anfor business or vacation, we definitely recommend. Eventually hthe hotel will re new,decorate,vamp the dining areas that reminded us a cheap Vegas hotel. C'

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame,

Many thanks for having chosen the Hilton Athens for your stay here in December.

We are delighted to see that the general impression of your visit was positive and that you were in particular pleased with the hotel's location, your room and its facilities.

Your feedback about the breakfast served, wi-fi charges and decoration is valuable to us and taken into consideration, as this is a way for us to continuously improve the quality of services rendered to all our guests.

Do hope we will have another opportunity in future to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    895
    734
    254
    86
    54
See reviews for
297
709
132
576
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were very impressed with this Hilton. First of all, you can get here from the airport via one train ride. It's the blue line, the only line from the airport, so you're not going to get lost. Once you arrive at their closest stop Evangelismos, get off, turn right and go up the stairs. Keep steering right and exit the station. Go straight after you exit until you get onto the sidewalk of the main street, then turn left and walk uphill. (I am telling you to walk on the sidewalk on the street because it's much easier to roll your luggage. We made the mistake of turning left as soon as we came out of the station, and it's not easy to roll your luggage on the sandstone). Once you come to the next major intersection, it's right there, big white building with no signs on it.

The rooms were very spacious and modern looking. We sprang for the Acropolis view rooms, but with hindsight, I don't think it's worth it. It's too frar from the Acropolis. We were much more impressed with the sunset.

If your room comes with breakfast, ENJOY it. Best spread of breakfast we've ever experienced. I am referring to the breakfast in the main dining room, cause there is another smaller scale one at the upper floor for Hilton Honor gold members and up.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to share your views on your stay with us.

I am glad that the overall experience has been satisfactory and you appreciated the comfort of the room, the hotel's convenient location, our buffet breakfast in particular. All your kind input has been communicated to my team.

We really hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back here very soon!

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

It was easy to access via the Athens underground. Good location just outside of city center with great breakfast in the morning up in the lounge. Also working getting a drink on the top of the hotel bar at night. Very modern rooms with a great bed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay here in August of 2012.

With pleasure we noted that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit, the facilities and service offered, the comfort of the room as well as the hotel's convenient location.

Do hope we will have more opportunities in near future to welcome you back!

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I will never forget the magnificent view we had from our room overlooking the Acropolis, then we enjoyed a wonderful meal in the top floor outside restaurant which had even better views! the views and music and food were amazing, really trendy top floor bar where the movers and Shakers of athens meet. i will be back here for sure.

Room Tip: you must visit the restaurant and bar on the top floor - pre-book a table.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Madame,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the magnificent view of The Acropolis, the food quality and service provided at our Roof Top restaurant.

Look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Athens for a night between flying in from Istanbul and out to Santorini the next day. It's a bit of a distance from the scene around Syntagma Sq./Plaka/Acropolis on foot but on Athens's really clean and sleek metro (at least on the routes serving the airport) all of that is just a quick stop away. The hotel itself is right next to the Evangelismos metro station making it very convenient with respect to the Metro arriving from the airport. There is also a bus stop for the X95 bus from the airport just outside the hotel entrance as well. Being a bit of a distance away and a relatively large structure, the Acropolis facing rooms have some really awesome vistas! If you are into photography, get a 300mm lens and you can get some lovely illuminated pictures of the Acropolis.

Being a part of Hilton, the rooms and common areas are nice and clean but they charge for basic things like bottled water, internet and so on. So be prepared for that if you stay here. However, the breakfast buffet that was complimentary was superb and had a great spread. Overall I recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for posting your comments on your recent stay with us.

We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and were satisfied with the majority of facilities and services rendered.

Really hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back. And thank you for recommending our property to future visitors/guests.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

A fantastic, centrally located hotel, approximately 30-45 minutes by taxi from the airport, and easily accessible by public transportation as well. Doesn't have a huge amount of character - more of a hotel for business travel - but it's very professionally run, rooms are well designed and comfortable, and the facilities are great. Excellent selection of food for breakfast too. Only complaints are that on the lower floors the traffic noise can be a bit much (but then again, you are in central Athens) and whilst hotel minibar prices are always high, this Hilton has taken it to new levels: 7.50 euros for small bottle of Evian that you could buy for under a euro if you stepped outside the hotel - that's quite a mark up.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to share your views on your stay with us.

We are pleased that the overall experience has been satisfactory. Your kind input will be communicated to the team members.

Once again, thank you for providing your valuable feedback. Look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Serviceminded and positive staff. Excellent restaurant at the top floor. Rooms a bit wear, otherwise good. Good gym, but expensive. Good bed, but noisy from traffic and from shoes on wooden floors from rooms above and around.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Sir,

Many thanks for choosing to stay at the Hilton Athens.

It is a pleasure to read that the overall impression of your visit was positive. All your comments have been taken into consideration, thank you for the feedback.

Do look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hilton Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Athens

Address: 46 Vassilissis Sofias Avenue, Athens 11528, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Athens
#18 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#21 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#35 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Athens is not just a hotel. It’s a legacy in Athens. Consider the fact that a whole area is named after the Hilton and you’ll start to understand the immense name this hotel has had the past 48 years. Socialités, fashionistas, local and international celebrities, you see them here!An architectural marvel, the Hilton Athens has been fully renovated in 2003 to be able to cope with the next episode in its ever interesting life. The hotel boasts 506 spacious rooms and some of the best city views available. You can almost touch the Acropolis! Art is abundant and local artists are used throughout the hotel. Hilton Athens has the largest outdoor pool in the city center and features four restaurants and two bars. The Byzantino restaurant offers Mediterranean cuisine in a renowned atmosphere. At the Milos restaurant, you can taste gourmet Greek cuisine at its best. Aethrion Lounge is where local celebrities and politicians meet for a coffee and the rooftop Galaxy Bar Restaurant truly is the most glamorous Athenian hangout to start out or end your night, to see or to be seen. Remember; people like to dress up here! Be the VIP you are while enjoying a citywide view. The hotel is just 25 minutes away from the airport by direct subway. It features 22 meeting rooms for 2 to 1300 people, a 24-hour Business Center and an Executive Lounge with Acropolis view. For a spa getaway or some pampering time away from the real world, you can visit the Hiltonia Spa, featuring an indoor pool, a fully equipped fitness room, a Pilates studio with natural light and an endless array of health and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Athens Hotel Athens
Hilton International Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Athens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.