We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton is a guarantee!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Athens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Athens to your Saves list
Hilton Athens
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46 Vassilissis Sofias Avenue, Athens 11528, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #36 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Hilton is a guarantee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I had to come to athens for a conference and was alittle bit buffled on where to book. I was recommended to stay at Hilton and I made the decision to do that. I think it is a value for money. Spacious rooms, excellent services and great options for lunch and dinning. I loved all the areas of the hotel but mostly the Hiltonian spa as well as the indoor swimming pool. They use Ozone and the water feels great! It was a relaxing experience and I highly recommend it to anyone visiting Athens.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Dear Madame,

Thank you very much for your warm comments regarding your recent stay here at the Hilton Athens.

It was a pleasure to note that you enjoyed your visit. Your positive feedback, in reference to the services rendered, has been communicated to my colleagues and has been much appreciated!

Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    808
    672
    230
    77
    48
See reviews for
272
655
118
511
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

From Airport 30-40 mins taxi. 35 euro. Fresh crisp entrance to hotel with a good layout of reception. The satff were very pleasant and helpfull in advising of hotel facilities etc, check in was swift and easy. My room was looking over the Acropolis so at night you fave a great view especially from 9th floor. The rooms were excellent and probably on of the best bathrooms I have ever been in luxury all the way. Couldn't fault the room and historic view at all. The TV was flatscreen, internet included, bed very comfortable, linen clean and fresh, room service good and the maids were superb they were efficient and the room was done to perfection, All facilities were very good the only real gripe was the price of the drinks on the roof bar was seriously expensive a round of drinks for 4 people would be 60 euros plus and thats for beers and wine not champers. I used all facilities including pool and gym thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would recommend to anyone if budget permits. The hotel food was good but not great and typical Greek fayre plenty of olives feta etc It was a tad overpriced and just ordinary but the location and the fact that there were plenty of resturants locally more than made up for it. A good few days would go back.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the Ancient Acropolis are better for the view at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Athens for your stay, while visiting Athens last April.

We were pleased to note that you enjoyed your visit and were satisfied with the majority of services rendered. Your points, regarding the drinks' prices as well as the quality of food, have been taken into serious consideration and reviewed with my colleagues.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your valuable input. Look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

I have stayed at this property 3 times. Twice before the the Olympic remodel and once after. I like this property much better now that it has had a face lift. It is a short walk to catch the metro and there are decent places to eat close by as well. As a Hilton Diamond, we had access to the executive lounge which helps to make the stay even better.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for your warm comments regarding your stay here at the Hilton Athens last September.

It was a pleasure to note that you enjoyed your time with us and were satisfied with the hotel's facilities and services rendered.

Do look forward to welcoming you back and extend once again the warm hospitality that our guests have come to expect from us over the years.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights as we were going on a cruise from Athens. Great service, rooms and exec lounge. The exec lounge has the most amazing views of Athens. I can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you very much for your warm comments in reference to your stay here at the Hilton Athens last October.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit and the services rendered. Your valuable input has been much appreciated!

Once again, thank you for having chosen to stay with us. Look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

This place had a total makeover; in design as well as in service level and courtesy of the staff it can now compete with any excellent hotel in Asia. Plus it has the view over to the Akropolis!

I attended a scientific meeting at the hotel, which was featured in a meeting room and lobby area that was a perfect fit for the occasion.

Check in was smooth. Room very beautiful, comfy bed and bedding. Chique bathroom very similar to the Hyatt on the Bund or the Swissotel in Shaghai. The new Hilton bathroom amenities are fresh - a good change from Neurogena - mega bore... Minor comment: who was the moron deciding to put Ideal Standard fixures into the shower? Clearly penurios in the worst possible spot! If you had Grohe one could actually control the temperature, the bar would still be fixed in its place and even people with arthritis and little old ladies could get the overhead rainshower to work. Plus the AS thing doesn't have air technology it's just a cheap piece of tin with holes in it...

My room had a balcony - I suppose most rooms do. Noise insulation to outside and neighbors is ok. Hallways delightfully designed and lit.

Upstairs lounge, again, very appealing interior design. Function and form allow to relax and to work. Good collection of food and beverages at certain hours and good coffee machine, water, and sodas throughout...

A few things to consider: the gym, unfortunately, is not open 24/7 but it's very much worth visiting. It has high end cardio and weights and a fancy pool inside plus a pool outside. Didn't use the spa but looks very very promising. Would be nice if they could make the machines and weights available 24/7 while keeping up the excellently staffed spa.

The best for last: all staff, maid, janitors, clerks, spa, lobby, bell, lounge, conference catering were phenomenally friendly. It was just unreal but super pleasant! You all should write the book and have the rest of the world's hoteliers come and take classes (with the exception of maybe Thailand and Japan that is)!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you very much for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your recent stay here at the Hilton Athens.

It was a pleasure to note that you were satisfied with the majority of your visit's aspects, the facilities and services rendered, as well as the efficient, friendly and professional attitude of our personnel. Your very kind and positive feedback has been communicated to my colleagues and has been much appreciated! We all thank you for this. You evidently know how much such praise means to people, who try hard to live up to the best traditions of our business.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future and extend once again the warm hospitality that our guests have come to expect from us over the years.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

I'll preface the review by stating I'm a Hilton Diamond, so benefits might not be offered to all. I made a points plus cash reservation for 3 nights, which appeared to be a decent value (20k points plus $50 each night).
Location: The location is ideal for exploring with the balanced luxury of the hotel. My stay was as a tourist. I took the airport subway train and it dropped off about 4-5 minutes walk from the hotel (choose the station exit that says hospital). The subway station gets to the Acropolis in 2 stops or about a mile of walking. There were protests on the street one morning, that I could hear. No other location issues. I recommend.
Exec Lounge: For check-in/checkout, I was referred to the Exec Lounge (11th floor) for personal attention. In the morning, tons of breakfast choices and in the evening, there were lots of apps/food choices put out, make sure to look around the back corner, too. In addition, from about 5-7:30, there was open bar (wine, spirits, soda). Service was pretty good all around. My only criticism was that when apps were put out, certain guests would hoard them all (probably replacing their evening meal). The staff still worked to make sure all food was replenished.
Room: I was assigned an upgraded room based on my status - exec suite on the 5th floor. The only "minor" issue was transferring back and forth to the 11th floor lounge. The room had a large sitting room with flat panel TV, huge king bedroom with small TV, a large walk-in closet, and large bath with excellent ceiling shower spray. There was a walkout balcony, too. There was a kettle for boiling water for coffee, but I never needed it. I can't underestimate the bath, it was very nice. Housekeeping was VERY good. A newspaper was usually left midday, which was kind of weird, too, but gave something to catch the news later in the day.
Other touches: The welcome fruit plate and wine was a nice touch (elite benefit).
Wifi was free in the room (elite benefit) and the front desk issued me 2 codes for all 3 days (2 devices), but these codes didn't work for the exec lounge or lobby. Kind of a strange policy.
Bar/Lounge: I visited the Galaxy Bar one night. It was ok, nice view of the Acropolis at night, but it was cold outside. Kind of pricey for a hotel bar. This also goes for the room service menu, which I never used. I guess that's where they make their money.
Front Desk: I did have occasion to seek information during my stay. The front desk was sluggish at times, and understaffed. This was relatively minor, but still unexpected when compared to service elsewhere.
Overall: I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for business or leisure, especially if Hilton elite. The exec lounge made this stay wonderful and was the extra touch for value to me personally.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for having chosen the Hilton Athens for your recent stay.

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your visit and were satisfied with most of the facilities and services rendered. It is indeed very rewarding to know that your expectations were met and that we had the opportunity to contribute to a memorable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Athens in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahe
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

This hilton hotel is in central Athens. Nearby there is a metro station. The area has not a lot to offer though but you are in close proximity of the Syntagma square (1 metro station away) Spacious rooms. Our room has a nice view of Athens. After all a nice choice for the 2 nights we spend in Athens.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for your kind input regarding your stay here at the Hilton Athens in September of 2011.

We were pleased to note that you enjoyed your visit and were satisfied with the facilities and services rendered. Your positive feedback has been communicated to my colleagues and has been much appreciated!

Do look forward to welcoming you back again and extend the warm hospitality that our guests have come to expect from us over the years.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Athens

Address: 46 Vassilissis Sofias Avenue, Athens 11528, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Athens
#17 Family Hotel in Athens
#19 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#21 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#43 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Athens is not just a hotel. It’s a legacy in Athens. Consider the fact that a whole area is named after the Hilton and you’ll start to understand the immense name this hotel has had the past 48 years. Socialités, fashionistas, local and international celebrities, you see them here!An architectural marvel, the Hilton Athens has been fully renovated in 2003 to be able to cope with the next episode in its ever interesting life. The hotel boasts 506 spacious rooms and some of the best city views available. You can almost touch the Acropolis! Art is abundant and local artists are used throughout the hotel. Hilton Athens has the largest outdoor pool in the city center and features four restaurants and two bars. The Byzantino restaurant offers Mediterranean cuisine in a renowned atmosphere. At the Milos restaurant, you can taste gourmet Greek cuisine at its best. Aethrion Lounge is where local celebrities and politicians meet for a coffee and the rooftop Galaxy Bar Restaurant truly is the most glamorous Athenian hangout to start out or end your night, to see or to be seen. Remember; people like to dress up here! Be the VIP you are while enjoying a citywide view. The hotel is just 25 minutes away from the airport by direct subway. It features 22 meeting rooms for 2 to 1300 people, a 24-hour Business Center and an Executive Lounge with Acropolis view. For a spa getaway or some pampering time away from the real world, you can visit the Hiltonia Spa, featuring an indoor pool, a fully equipped fitness room, a Pilates studio with natural light and an endless array of health and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Athens Hotel Athens
Hilton International Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Athens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.