We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Embassy Hotel - We Enjoyed It” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Embassy Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Embassy Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Embassy Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Timoleontos Vassou 22, Athens 11521, Greece (Formerly AngelSuites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 324 hotels in Athens
canberra
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Embassy Hotel - We Enjoyed It”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My wife and I recently spent 4 nights at the Embassy Hotel - located in a quiet street in an inner north suburb of Athens. It is quiet and clean and we had a room with a balcony at the rear overlooking some gardens. The staff are helpful and very friendly and it offers a good breakfast.

A metro station is close by (beware of pickpockets), and there are quite a few small eateries, bars and mini marts within walking distance. The hotel does not have a restaurant.

The Embassy offers a good choice if you are looking for a hotel away from the noisy Plaka and other tourist areas.

If visiting Athens again we would definitely stay there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    36
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
27
5
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Stay here for 2 nights with my family of 4 including 2 kids. The location is great as it is close to major sites and metro station but still away from the tourist scene. Staff was very helpful and breakfast was adequate. Nice restaurants and grocery store in the area. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevilla
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The staff at this hotel are excellent and we'd like to particularly commend Elena on her help in securing for us one of the few honest taxi drivers in Athens for our ride to the airport when mass transit went on strike. Otherwise, we found the hotel to be solidly average. Breakfast was a disappointment (though we had just come from Turkey where the breakfasts are spectacular, so the breakfast here may be the Greek standard), WiFi rarely worked, and our room had a very odd layout (but was perfectly clean/serviceable). There is a Spar supermarket one block away and the truly excellent Attikoi Bakery is close by on the corner next to the Ambelokipi Metro station. In contrast to other reviewers, we found the location to be a negative. In terms of access to the Metro and sights, it is perfectly fine. The location near the US Embassy was, surprisingly, a problem. The area is filled with Kevlar-wearing, assault rifle-toting security agents and is ringed with surveillance cameras (so street crime is probably rare) but there is a police-state feel and walking in front of the US Embassy (which is hard to avoid unless you only approach this hotel via the Ambelokipi Metro station) can be problematic, if not dangerous. The goons positioned inside the mirrored boxes that ring the US embassy feel emboldened/entitled to harass passers-by and, in our case, detained us for no particular reason. They demanded to see our passports which they then said they were "keeping" as they threatened to arrest us. When we asked what the basis was for being detained, we were told: "We Greek police, we do what want, you want jail?" They never did explain why they detained us and they did seem to be enjoying causing distress as they toyed with our passports. Whatever our offence was, it must not have been too serious as they allowed us to continue on to the hotel after several tense minutes. Needless to say, we went no where near the US Embassy after that experience (which occurred on the main avenue in front of the embassy during the middle of the day). While this experience was not the hotel's fault, we would not stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pescara, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed with small kids on 4 Bed room. All was as expected. Good breakfast. Near to metro station, just walking about 10 minutes. Free Internet.

Cons: Small elevator and parking for the car at additional cost

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Great location. Quite, traffic free location with good security because of the American Ambassador's residence being next door. 5 minutes walk to two different Metro Stations, bus, or Trolly. Taverna's are close. The staff is very nice. They are the magic of this hotel. They are warm and friendly.. The rooms are a nice size. Breakfast is good and presented by a very pleasent chap. This hotel would rate higher except for the small things that are not up to snuff. For example, the temperature control thermostat in the room gives insructions on its operation but actually it is only an on/off switch for the fan. The heat or cooling is centrally controlled. We returned on a warm day and found our room to be at 31 degrees C. Trying to set the thermostat to cooling only made it worse. The front rooms get sun so they are hot while the back rooms can be very cold. If the back rooms are cold, they run the heat. You have to open the winow to cool the room a little if in the front. The floor in the room had poorly laid and well used artifical wood flooring with ends or sides of the strips of wood that stick up which can trip you, catch your foot or block moving a chair. The bath had broken tiles at the ceiling line. For two days there was no hot water. Towels are very rationed and limited. The bath smelled of sewage for our first 2 days but finally smelled better. The bath room is constantly damp even when tthe evacuation fan is run full time. The rooms allow one to hear people in adjoining rooms, people walking in rooms above your room and doors being closed. The halls could use a Hovering more often. There are other little draw backs on the same level. Back to nice items. Reception is pleasent as is the associated sitting area. The breakfast room is very nice. You are not a number here but a person, for the hotel is not large. The hotel is well supported by out of town Greeks along with non-Greeks. There is clear repeat business for the staff knows various guests. The staff makes the hotel. The staff is very nice. Because of the staff, room size and location I would return here. I can only give the hotel 3 stars because of the little failings. The staff is 5 star.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed for five nights at this hotel, near Mavili Square, between the Ampelokipi and Megaro Mousiki metro stations.

The room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast was modest but tasty, and the staff were uniformly helpful and pleasant. The wireless Internet functioned 95% of the time, and I was able to download data at 200KB per second.

I have also had occasion to rent the conference room for one of the days I was staying, and the staff were very helpful and informative: they were prompt to respond to my inquiry about the conference room in advance of my arrival, provided all the relevant information (no nasty surprises!), and even waived the conference room fee as I was paying for a coffee break.

I may well pick this one again on my next visit to Athens.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The hotel is average but good value for money, rates were reasonable and in a safe area with plenty of restaurants, shops and supermarkets within walking distance. Two subway stations close by and taxis to most of the main tourist areas are only 4 to 5 euros. Staff is friendly and helpful, rooms are spacious and clean but furniture is outdated and beds really need new mattresses and blankets. Bathroom is also large but quite basic and the shower inside the bathtub was kind of narrow with plastic curtains that just doesn't help.
The air conditioning was switched off for the entire hotel, the rooms were really warm as temperatures were starting to rise in Athens. The window was not large which did not help to ventilate the room and the outside noise just too much. I've asked the staff to switch on the cooling but was told that this is only done when is summer time. Despite the hotel being part of an American chain it looks like they follow the European concept of stand alone budget hotels of only switching the cooling when is officially summer and not the more common concept of switching the cooling when it's hot and guests complain about it !!
Breakfast is adequate, not a big buffet but it ticked all the boxes. No fitness center and no room service.
Overall the hotel is okay, but it's not 4 stars, more like a 3 stars place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Golden Age Hotel Athens
Golden Age Hotel Athens
#43 of 324 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Stratos Vassilikos
Stratos Vassilikos
#69 of 324 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Luxury, Quiet...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Holiday Suites
Holiday Suites
#48 of 324 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Luxury, Free Br...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Airotel Alexandros
Airotel Alexandros
#97 of 324 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 293 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
2.9 mi away
Athens Atrium Hotel & Suites
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Athinais Hotel
Athinais Hotel
#57 of 324 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Embassy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Embassy Hotel

Address: Timoleontos Vassou 22, Athens 11521, Greece (Formerly AngelSuites)
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#74 On the Beach Hotel in Athens
#74 Spa Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Embassy Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Embassy Hotel, combining understated luxury with the comforts of a modern hotel, provides unforgettable moments of pleasure. The hotel has direct access to the Syntagma Square and the archaeological sites of Athens.It is located between two metro stations just three minutes from the stop "Ambelokipi" and five minutes from the stop "Music Hall". Within walking distance of many public transport stations, it constitutes an ideal choice since everything is easily reachable.This is a 4 Star boutique hotel that is centrally located at the foot of Lycabettus Hill, near the American Embassy, the Concert Hall as well as major private and public hospitals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Embassy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g r Louis Athens Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Embassy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.