We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Embassy Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Embassy Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Embassy Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Timoleontos Vassou 22, Athens 11521, Greece (Formerly AngelSuites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

located in the upscale Kolonaki neighborhood in a quiet location close to transportation. what makes this hotel special is the staff, especially Roula Kostal who is very very helpful and kind.
hotel is not a big fancy chain which makes it all the more appealing. great restaurant very near.
BJ, Tallahassee, Fl

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    47
    23
    3
    2
See reviews for
22
34
8
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This hotel is quite small, but well managed. Our room was reasonably spacious, the staff were very friendly and informative, as well as flexible (they allowed us a very late check-out). The location, in the Embassy district, allows walking access to central shopping and touristic areas. We took a taxi to the Acropolis, then walked back, through the market area. If you don't stop to eat or buy stuff, the walk would take about 30-40 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We were very pleased with all aspects of this hotel. It is a bit difficult to find the exact street. Maybe the best would be to arrive at the nearest metro station, then just hop in a cab (ask them how much it will be to that address - you could check this out with the hotel ahead of time to see how much a taxi should be from a certain metro station nearby to their hotel). Note: The street seems to end but it simply winds around a bit and is nice and quaint and pleasant a street.
If you stay there, one day, arrange a taxi to nearby Kolonaki and ask driver to take you to nice trendy street in Kolonaki. Kolonaki is the best area of Athens, TRULY worth strolling.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed here late May, 2012. Hotel was 96 euros, so not the cheapest but not a lot. It had two real saving graces: First was that it was very quiet. We spent most of our time when not sightseeing sitting on our balcony facing out from the back of the hotel which opened out onto an area of mature trees (trees not in public parks are RARE in Athens). The effect was positively tranquilizing at the end of a day in Athens big street noise.

The second was the breakfast, which in addition to the ever-present Greek items, included scrambled eggs (not cooked to dryness as is typical in Greece) and Canadian bacon. The coffee was freshly brewed and delivered by a waitress, not the typical self-mix instant in hot water or the hours-old grog out of a dispenser. There were tasty bakery items such as chocolate filled croissants. So you got the best of two worlds: the Greek sights and bustle during the day and a few international creature comforts when you got back to the hotel in the evening.

So, no, you DON'T have to endure the inpersonality and size of a Hilton or Marriot to have some creature comforts in Athens.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We booked this break, and paid for an update to a 'deluxe' room. The website and hotel booking details stated that deluxe rooms had 'the same as a standard room and in addition included a balcomy, robes and slippers'. We had none of these in our room and popped down to reception. They said that not all deluxe rooms had balconies - so I showed them THEIR own brochure that was in the room. They would not move on this, so I said I would contact the on-line agent we had booked with and recommend they are removed from the listings. We then went out for a walk, and on our return were upgraded to a junior suite. A pity you have to fight for what you have paid for. The suite was spacious, but hiddley piddledy. Furniture was put here and there, and clearly had not been bought specifically for that room. Breakfast was adequate, and the breakfast room was far too small to accommodate the guests. Reception staff often grumpy (except for one very nice lady). The bed was very comfortable indeed, the hotel was clean, and very conveniently located. However, I do struggle to see how it achieved its 4 star status.

Room Tip: Do not pay for an upgraded room as it's not always forthcoming. Standard rooms do not have indi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

I stayed for a week with my family (2 rooms). The rooms (we had junior suites) were of a good size and clean with reasonable facilities. Bathrooms were modern although the shower in my bathroom was over the bath and it was impossible to get the shower head to stay pointing in the right direction! The one in the other room was fine. The wi-fi was good all the time we were there. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice and the reception staff spoke good English and were friendly. Beds were large although a little over firm for my taste.

As others have said the lift is tiny and the photos of the front of the hotel are very deceptive. I've taken another which is more accurate!

The worst aspects ware that there is no real view either front or back of the building and although the temperature in the room we had at the back of the building was fine (we could get the room to be as cold as we wanted), the room we had at the front of the building was always stuffy and too warm, even in April.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the building - the ones at the front are too hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludhiana, India
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

The first thing you notice about the hotel is that the pictures are very deceptive. Even in the picture of the hotel on this site it appears that the hotel is standing alone all in itself. However the hotel is in a small alley and is surrounded by larger building to the extent that unless you are standing right in front of it you could miss it.

Good.
1. The hotel is located in a very safe area of Athens very close to the American Embassy and many other embassies.
2. The rooms are clean and large and everything appears to be modern and new. There is everything that you need except an iron board and iron.
3. Check in was smooth and the breakfast in the morning provided by the hotel is satisfactory
4. There are plenty of restaurants in the vicinity.
5. The metro is accessible on foot and then leads you to the centre of the city and the Acropolis in about 10 minutes.

Bad.
1. The internet was very unreliable. The first 2 days the access was intermittent though in the last 2 days it was more reliable and fast.
2. If you are taking the metro to the hotel from the airport there are two possible stations that you could get off.. either the Megaron Mousuki or Ambelokopi. The hotel is located right in the middle of these two and is a good 10 minute walk from both. It was difficult to locate the hotel from the metro stations despite the fact I had google map print outs. There are missing sidewalks that can make pulling heavy suitcases a little difficult.
3. There is only one plug point in the room making it difficult to charge multiple devices.
4. The lift is tiny and can only accommodate one person if you are carrying a backpack or a suitcase.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Embassy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Embassy Hotel

Address: Timoleontos Vassou 22, Athens 11521, Greece (Formerly AngelSuites)
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Embassy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Embassy Hotel, combining understated luxury with the comforts of a modern hotel, provides unforgettable moments of pleasure. The hotel has direct access to the Syntagma Square and the archaeological sites of Athens.It is located between two metro stations just three minutes from the stop "Ambelokipi" and five minutes from the stop "Music Hall". Within walking distance of many public transport stations, it constitutes an ideal choice since everything is easily reachable.This is a 4 Star boutique hotel that is centrally located at the foot of Lycabettus Hill, near the American Embassy, the Concert Hall as well as major private and public hospitals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Embassy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g r Louis Athens Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Embassy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.