We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 10563, Greece (Syntagma)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 329 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

This is an amazing hotel. We booked the hotel on Starwood Points and stayed for 2 nights... when we arrived at the hotel we were upgraded to a suite on the top floor. It was amazing with its own sitting room, front entrance and huge bathroom. THe room also had fresh flowers a fresh fruit basket, complimentary chocolates and local liqueur. Because we had a suite, we also had our own butler which we never did use. Although everything at the hotel is exceptionally pricey - we cant complain about our stay. We thorougly enjoyed using the rooftop pool as well as spa in the basement of the hotel (both complimentary). The location of the hotel is also great, just off the Metro line and in Syntagma Square - so within walking distance to most sights in Athens. We would definetly go back again although I am not sure we would ever pay the prices they are asking to stay there. It was well worth our Starwood points though.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,613
    384
    88
    39
    23
See reviews for
364
1,087
94
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2008

We stayed 6 nights in November(fortunately left 1 week before the riots) and loved all of it. The hotel is quite well located at the Syntagma with the metro subway station directly in front of it. Taking the subway will only set you back 6euros if you're coming from the airport (blue line). The Acropolis station is one more stop away (need to change to the red line) but walking is just as easy.

Traveling with a 6yr old and infant in tow is never easy but the hotel did accommodate for us. We got upgraded to a deluxe suite which when combined with sheraton's buy 4 get 2 nights free promotion, worked out quite nicely. The suite was very spacious, clean and well appointed. The bathroom with separate shower and bath was excellent. Slight pity the bath tv wasnt working but then again, we dont watch much tv. The previous reviewer lamented on the lack of cupboard space and this is true if you are traveling with lots of clothing requiring to be hung. Drawer space however is good.

Internet access is available via both LAN and WLAN but is not free. You can buy access for 1 hour (5euros) or by the day.

We couldnt try out the main pool as it was closed for the winter but there is a very nice heated 20m pool with adjacent saunas at the basement level. You should have at least one dinner at the rooftop restaurant as the food and view is very good, and prices though expensive were not exorbitant.

Overall a fine hotel which deserves 5 stars.

  • Liked — Luxury, good location
  • Disliked — Stray dogs on the front entrance
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
90 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2008

I stayed at the Grande Bretagne on business in November 2008. From the location and the service, I would stay again – although the value for the money may caution me to look at alternatives. I stayed in room 626 that while nice was on the small side, had virtually no closet, but comfortable amenities and a nice balcony.

As usual, the good, the ok, the bad, and the ugly.

The Good
• Service. Absolutely spotless service. I had booked a small event one evening and it seemed each staff member knew about it and was willing to help. The service during the event was impeccable – clearly the staff takes service training seriously. This may have been the best service I ever have had.
• Location. Hello Athens! In the heart of the city across the street from the parliament.
• Room balcony. A nice added touch (on the sixth floor) that allowed me to get some fresh air each evening. The balcony overlooked parliament and the hills in the distance. The best balconies would appear to be those overlooking the Acropolis – which regrettably, I did not have.
• Bed and bathroom. Comfortable and a wide selection of pillows (hello – this is one hotel that gets the importance of comfortable pillows and each guest may have a differing definition.) Bathroom was nice with a tub/shower combo and fresh towels.
• Cleanliness. Always clean – the staff did a nice job.
• Roof top bar and restaurant. While the drinks are pricey (€11 for a beer) the scenery steals the show. The view of the Acropolis is outstanding and should not be missed. The restaurant had excellent food and service.
• Alexander’s Bar staff. Excellent service, drinks, food. Hand’s down, one of the best experiences I have had hosting a small party.

The OK
• Room size. The actual size was on the small size. If you are a couple traveling to Athens – your room will be a bit tight with a couple of suitcases to store, remembering that the closet is very small.
• Value for money. The hotel does not come without a price. Items are expensive, including a night’s stay, which was over €300. For this amount, I would have expected a larger room and better closet facility (see below).
• Internet options. OK because wireless is a charge and the speed and connection not so great. The wired option is faster (and twice as much). C’mon Grand Bretagne, charge me a few extra Euros for the room and make the wireless internet complimentary.

The Bad
• Closet size. I think this is the first time I have ever written about closet space. I had space issues attempting to hang up three suits, shirts, etc. There are a few (again small) drawers to help you with some items. The closet is tiny – be warned.
• Pounding early in the morning. On my final morning, workers were hammering in the room above mine. While it was after 08:00, it was still early enough that they should have postponed until later (maybe it was an urgent matter…) I did advise the staff upon checkout. They apologized and said they would look into the matter.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Tiny closet
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

The Grande Bretagne is, by far, the best hotel in Athens. But it's also punishingly expensive.

My recommendation is to have dinner on the roof here, especially in summer, with a view on the Acropolis. At the very least, go up and enjoy a glass of champagne. It doesn't cost the earth and you'll never forget it! There is a swimming pool on the roof too, but you needn't bother.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Expensive luxury of the gold-plate and black marble kind. Is this Athens, or Las Vegas?
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
239 reviews
211 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 544 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

After spending time in Santorini and Mykonos, we finally arrived in Athens for a short stay before catching our international flight back home. Arriving at the Athens airport, we waited 25 minutes for the train to arrive cos we had merely missed it by 5 minutes (trains depart at every hour on the hour, and every half hourly).

The ride to Syntagma station took some 40 minutes and 12 stations - something we had not expected, we thought it was an Airport Express train, much like Hong Kong's. Should have taken the X95 Airport bus instead, which has 3 or 4 departures every hour. And cheaper, too, at merely 3.20 per pax as compared to 5 per pax for trains. On our return journey, we took the bus to the airport, and it was a good 50 minutes ride.

Upon entering the Hotel Grande Bretagne, we were told to take the lift up the 6th floor for our check in since we had booked their Butler floor, Deluxe Acropolis View room. Upon entering our room, 606, we were sort of wowed by the huge terrace this room affords, and of course, the grand Acropolis view.

However, the room decor and the room size was somewhat disappointing and understated - we are frequent travellers to Italy and am used to 4 or 5 star luxury hotels designed in the Classical or Neo Classical manner. The Deluxe room, though not extremely small, was a little dull in its decor. Maybe we should not use the Italian or French yardstick to measure Greek luxury ...?

The marbled bathroom has both a small shower and a tub, with twin vanity sinks - nice touches, I thought. Later, a fruit basket (part of my Spa package), mineral water and energy bars were delivered to our room, again, nice touches. However, we found later that some of the fruits in the basket were inedible.

Bed wise, it was two twins pushed together and it has the most comfortable mattress, much like Home's! I was so glad cos we had wanted a good nights' sleep before our long flight home. However, all the 4 pillows in the room were a real let down - too soft to provide any neck support. Had to call housekeeping twice, before getting the kind of pillows that we were looking for -quite troublesome I thought.

To us, the saving graces of this ultra expensive Hotel were its great location, great Acropolis views, great Spa, and great breakfast. Our 593 euros packagage (before taxes) had included a 40 minutes neck and back massage for two persons, and we thoroughly enjoyed the session.

What's even better, was their indoor pool and the various kinds of steam room - more variety offered here than in spa country, Hungary! Regrettably, we spend only an hour in the Spa, enjoying its various facilities, too short a time. I would strongly suggest anyone visiting this Hotel, to spend at least an hour and a half or two hours, exploring the different kinds of treatment available.

And lastly, the breakast served at its roof top restaurant was both good in quality and quantity. We treasured our short breakfast time there, sipping OJ and great coffee, staring at the Acropolis, simply sublime!!! This is something that we really looked forward to each morning, and its indeed a great way to start a new and exciting day.

As a matter of fact, though the Hotel is located in such a central location, we cannot seem to find good restaurants nearby. The closest seems to be in Plaka, about a 10 mintues stroll from the Hotel. Everyday, we would find ourselves ended up in the Plaka region, somehow or rather.

When in Athens, try to visit these two good museums - the National Archaelogical Museum (avoid its seedy side lanes!) and the nearby Benaki Museum. And of couse, when the Acropolis Museum is fully open (only its 1st floor is open now), never miss it.

Overall, we had a rather good 2 nights stay in this Royal Box of Athens - where many foreign dignitaries used to stay. But like I had said earlier, somehow we felt the Hotel a little passed its glory, and the grandness is somehow no where near the kind of European opulence we are often used to. But if this is the best Athens has to offer, then I really have nothing else to say.

Remember, enjoy the Spa area when you are staying here, you surely wont regret it. Enjoy ....

  • Liked — Great views, breakfast, spa and location.
  • Disliked — Price!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

...but we won't be going back, or maybe we'd pay for a lesser room. Not sure.

It is an excellent spot to tour Athens and it is beautifully decorated but we felt nickel and dimed to death. In-room internet is ridiculously expensive, business center charges per 5 minutes, and a certain amount to print. We stayed at four other hotels on this trip, and all others would let us print boarding passes without a charge.

Room service....lol. $30 for a sandwich. Drinks at roof-top bar - $15.00, although Acropolis view makes it worth it, I suppose. It really was beautiful at night.

Our view room? An office building across the street. Had to go out onto balcony and look far to the right for the view of the parliament.

And, hotel charged our credit card $1.00 for a charitable donation, without our permission. You'd think they'd give you the courtesy of asking permission before doing so and after spending almost $700 for one night, we weren't going to argue about one dollar.

I've focused on the negatives but there are many positives too...great history, only steps to Parliament and changing of the guard, few blocks to Plaka and the Acropolis. Nice park setting across the street. Transfers arranged by hotel were great. Room was immaculate, nicely decorated. Housekeeping was super-friendly. Elevators were surprisingly quick given the amount of people, lobby was always bustling.

And most importantly, you don't have to deal with the whole toilet paper issue. I guess that alone is worth the price of admission, in my book anyway.

Would I recommend? Sure, I would but in this current economy, I'll spend my hard earned dollars elsewhere next time. I think I'll get better value.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
389 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2008

I had the most wonderful recent trip to Athens, Greece (which I highly recommend to anyone) and stayed at the Grande Bretagne Hotel for three days as part of my package. The hotel is excellent in all ways. Beautiful rooms, excellent service and wonderful food (ignore the scambled eggs on the breakfast buffet).

The service was flawless and their staff can jump from language to language. If you need to book anything, ask Victor ,their concierge. He is excellent! This hotel is well worth the extra money and they will do everything to make your stay the best. They really pamper you. Don't forget to check out the pool after a long day of touring. All hotels should be like this!

  • Liked — Location, service and friendliness
  • Disliked — Some of the buffet breakfast items need to be worked on.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Hotel - Athens
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#7 of 329 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#1 of 329 in Athens
5.0 of 5 stars 1,368 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 329 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 10563, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 329 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views of the famed Acropolis and Parthenon, regal Constitution Square and the Parliament, lush Lycabettus Hill, or the original Olympic Stadium, the Hotel Grande Bretagne offers unrivaled perspectives of Athens' mythical history. Each of the 320 guest rooms offers enchanting views of the hotel courtyard or a spellbinding panorama of the city's timeless landmarks, while the exquisite interiors pay homage to Greek culture with intricate moldings and classic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Prestigia, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.