We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old School Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 10563, Greece (Syntagma)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Old School Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

How glorious hotel's once were, this beautiful building harkens back to the golden age of staying in a hotel, when there was real and immediate service, smiling staff, when you were made feel welcome, spoilt and at home all at once. Yes you pay for this luxury - but then again, you only live once. The roof garden restaurant offers the best outside dining view of the Acropolis in all of Athens, then there's the guest only rooftop pool and bar and the old school decadence of the cocktail bar and cigar lounge.We were leaving early and found a 'Breakfast Box' waiting for each of us at reception, (fresh fruit, juice, ham, cheeses, pastries, breads, water, yogurt!) and a taxi waiting - where else would you get this type of forethought by staff. If you're holidaying in Athens then treat yourself!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,436
    343
    76
    34
    18
See reviews for
315
973
87
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Il
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

You will feel like a King and Queen here. Our room had an entry "hall" with bath to left and grant room to right. Old wooden furniture and chandelier but modern mattress and super fancy shower and separate bath. Breakfast feast on roof with acropolis view.
wifi charges were annoyingly high so I used free in lobby/ cigar room. I set down with lap top and was asked if I wanted coffee- "No, just wifi". She came back with iced water and told me to stay as long as I needed.

Room Tip: inner rooms are fine, no need to pay more for view while you sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing your feedback after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. We are delighted that we made you feel like a King & Queen and hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

THis hotel is truly grand and Location is fantastic. It is a very British (Grande Bretagne aka Great Britain). Awesome spa, excellent cigar lounge, and great view of the acropolis. Breakfast is wonderful.
Con: Depending on your starwood status internet is 16 euro per day for 3 devices or 5 euro for one. However, it is free in the lobby.

Room Tip: We had a room on 1st floor, so would request a room that is higher next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

What a truly beautiful hotel! Pricey, but worth every penny. Nothing but pure elegance and class as soon as you walk through their doors... Dark woods, classic Greek design, white gold color scheme with rich reds, pinks, and browns, classical music playing, fresh flowers that you can smell everywhere... Our room (their basic room) was small, but still luxurious. This may be a weird thing to say, but they have great showers!! Perfect water pressure, great soap, deliciously scented bath products, plush towels, and a fog-resistant mirror. I kept my opinion about the shower to myself until my husband left the bathroom saying he had just taken the best shower of his life. So it wasn't just me!!! :) The location of GB couldn't have been any better unless we were actually staying in the Parthenon itself. The hotel is right in the heart of Athens, only a 15 or so minute walk from Acropolis hill. Their staff was great and their concierge helpful.

The breakfast buffet was located upstairs in their Roof Garden. What a view!! Both days I ate breakfast as I watched the sun rise higher and higher over the Acropolis. The breakfast options were vast and also tasty. We also ate dinner at the Roof Garden our last night. Their dinner restaurant is a 1 star Michelin restaurant, and their food DID NOT disappoint. A couple aspects of the service didn't live up to what you would expect from a Michelin restaurant, but I was too busy enjoying the amazing food to really care much.

Their gym was terrific. They had a nice variety of equipment, TV's, water, towels, fresh fruit, etc. The gym was attached to a salon and hair salon that, although I didn't use their services, looked very nice. However their services menu looked very basic. We ended up not booking massages because they didn't offer deep tissue treatments.

See other Greek hotel reviews , theuniversaladapter.blogspot.com

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing your feedback after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. It was a real pleasure to read about the nice experience you had at our property. Your comments concerning the spa and restaurant have of course been taken on board and we will discuss these with the relevant department manager in order to improve on those points. Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This is truly a "Grand Hotel”; stunning building and decor, fantastic location and a great history. I had a deluxe suite on the first floor which is nice and spacious even if it looks on the inner courtyard; the high ceiling, no direct sunlight and no view whatsoever makes it a bit weird however.
I was given no notice that there was a wedding going on in the ballroom during the first night of my stay, so being on the first floor I had a lot of noise until 3 am. Definitely something you don’t expect from such an hotel. In the end I got 50% off the price for the first night, which was a kind gesture even if it does not replace a sleepless night.
Suites come with “butler service”, although the service was somehow anonymous when in fact it should be just the opposite. For instance, there was a “welcome tray” with a drink and a few snacks outside our suite, but it was not clear that it was for us. I would expect to find it in the room, not left outside. Small details maybe, but they add up to a feeling of being in a luxury but “cold" establishment. The butler (which I only interacted with on the phone) was however very efficient at making reservations at various restaurants in Athens.
The spa is very nice, it is a bit outdated in the design but the facilities are wonderful. Sometimes children play loudly in the pool, which is next to the sauna and the steam rooms, so that is not optimal for relaxation.
The roof garden and the outdoor pool are great, that is true luxury in the center of Athens! Cocktails by the roof bar are fantastic, with the amazing view of the Acropolis.
In all it was an ok stay, I had better expectations in terms of the quality of sleep (don’t stay on the first floor!) and the personalized service, but apart from this, it is a great, or better, a “Grande” hotel.

Room Tip: Be careful if you are given a room on the first floor, ask if there are any events going on until la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The location is perfect for seeking the major highlights of Athens - we were lucky enough to have a nice terrace and a gorgeous view of the Acropolis. Within minutes you're in the Plaka (old town) and could easily walk to the Acropolis, Acropolis Museum etc. Athens itself has major history but isn't a pretty city (all concrete, little green, lots of dust) so it was great to have a respite.

When we were there, the security was significantly increased (the EU Commission one day, the President of Azerbaijan another) - apparently this hotel is a place of choice for dignitaries given it's location on Syntagma Square next to Parliament. While our bags had to be x-rayed, etc., it wasn't a big deal to us, and importantly none of the rest of the workings of the hotel seemed to be impacted (I had wondered if all the "Important People" would somehow bog down the service the rest of us would receive, but there was no impact at all).

The rooftop restaurant has a great buffet at breakfast - you can order a la carte as well - and we loved starting our morning with that view. It certainly isn't cheap (in the evening most cocktails seemed to be around 15 Euro) but that's probably standard in these sorts of luxury hotels.

We loved the outdoor pool. Technically it isn't a rooftop pool, since it is on the 7th floor and the restaurant is on the 8th, so we almost missed that they had it when we were on the internet trying to figure out where to stay, but it's open air, very lovely, and the service (towels, drinks) was perfect.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room with a view of Syntagma Square / the Acropolis vs. the interior 'garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Give me the Ritz.. The hotel is beautiful in an a old world charm kinda way, but the room felt tired. I did not feel the service level equaled its high price and it needed more restaurant options. The concierge and bellman all seemed too busy to help you. The restaurant for dinner was good, the breakfast was great and the view from the rooftop was unparalleled. I guess there is a difference between tired and luxury in my book. We thoroughly enjoyed the spa, but again they fell short on customer service as we made an appointment for a 5 minute test and we got there within minutes of the time and they said that they were too busy. hmm. Try the George V it has to be better.

Room Tip: You want the outside view, we got a courtyard and it was not as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. We are very sorry that you didn’t receive the level of service you expected. This is certainly not indicative of the usual Luxury Collection service so many of our guests enjoy. Your comments have been discussed with the Front Office Manager and the Spa Manager in order to improve on these points. We do however hope to be able to welcome you back on a future visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 10563, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views of the famed Acropolis and Parthenon, regal Constitution Square and the Parliament, lush Lycabettus Hill, or the original Olympic Stadium, the Hotel Grande Bretagne offers unrivaled perspectives of Athens' mythical history. Each of the 320 guest rooms offers enchanting views of the hotel courtyard or a spellbinding panorama of the city's timeless landmarks, while the exquisite interiors pay homage to Greek culture with intricate moldings and classic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Prestigia, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.