We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 10563, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 324 hotels in Athens
Buckhead, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is the definition of a classic, grand luxury hotel. We arrived after a long trip from Miami and after all the craziness from our wedding and traveling, arriving at the Grand Bretagne was a welcome sight indeed. We were provided with the excellent private check-in service where we were served champagne while we waited. During check-in we were introduced to our private butler and was able to exchange USD for Euro's with no problems. The room was true luxury and our butler was attentive to anything we needed. Highly recommend dinner at the King George followed by a drink on the rooftop bar. Stunning view of the Acropolis. The lobby and lounge are classic elegance and worth the visit alone. Next time in Athens, this is where we are staying!

Room Tip: If you book a cab through the hotel, tipping is not necessary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing your feedback after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. We are delighted that you had a nice holiday while staying with us and please accept our congratulations and warmest wishes for your new life together. Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,534 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,163
    269
    59
    29
    14
See reviews for
234
784
81
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here for one night at the end of our vacation before catching a flight back to the U.S. As a Starwood Preferred member, I redeemed points for a free night in a standard classic room. I was so impressed with this hotel, I really wish we could have stayed longer. The location was perfect for walking around the city.

Even though we reserved the lowest room category, the room amenities were still top notch and the room was beautifully appointed. We had an inner facing room with no view to speak of, but that was expected. We had a king sized bed with the most heavenly sheets I have ever slept on. The bathroom had a tub and a stand up shower and was well stocked with Gilchrist and Soames bath products. I noticed a housekeeping cart go by with Molton Brown products, so perhaps certain categories of rooms get Molton Brown instead. The room was immaculately cleaned and was also surprisingly spacious.

We took advantage of the roof top pool for a quick dip. After reading previous reviews, I expected it to be packed with people but there were hardly any guests there when we arrived around 5pm. We ate dinner and breakfast in the restaurant. Dinner was delicious and we enjoyed the view and the whole experience. Breakfast was good too.

Given that we stayed in the lowest category room with no view and still managed to be "wowed" by the hotel, I'm sure the higher category rooms are even more amazing. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and we certainly hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in a prime location. Despite the indoor pool being closed, we enjoyed the luxeries the hotel had to offer. The room was quite comfortable as wasThe staff was attentive and meet our every expectation. Breakfast on the roof each morning was wonderful with views of the Acropolis and Parliment. The pool, while small, was never crowded and itself had a nice view of Mt Lycabettus. While it seems we may have paid a premium to stay here, we checked out some other properties while walking around town....we were happy we chose the Hotel Grande Bretagne!

The bathroom was spacious.

Room Tip: We had a suite with an interior view of the courtyard. It proved to be comfortable and QUIET!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

After a long flight from JFK to Athens Hotel Bretagne was a perfect place to start my vacation. Comfortable beds, wonderful staff and a great location to start touring. Located in Syntagma Square one can take the bus or subway from the airport if a taxi is less desirable. The Rooftop Garden is a great place to start with a beverage while looking at the Acropolis which is walking distance form the hotel. Although I did not eat at the restaurant I noticed it was rated well by Zagat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placida, FL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

From beginning to end, this was a first class experience. We upgraded to an Acropolis view room, which we thoroughly enjoyed. Our room was spotlessly clean, good sized and thoughtfully furnished. You MUST enjoy breakfast, dinner and drinks on the rooftop! The atmosphere is mesmerizing, the food delicious and the view, is SPECTACULAR! The breakfast buffet is not to be missed and was never matched by any other hotel we stayed at in Greece.
The staff go out of their way to assure you have a wonderful stay. It was the perfect hotel from which to launch our Greek vacation.

Room Tip: We had an Acropolis view room overlooking Syntagma Square and Parliment. We were not bothered by st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The location is perfect, can walk to just about all the key spots you are looking to visit...

The rooms are elegant, and well appointed the bedding is outstanding. Most comfortable bed we experienced the whole trip. Wow!

The roof top restaurant is great. View of Acropolis at night is spectacular. The food is very good, and bkfst buffet is terrific.

Room Tip: The butler service is of questionable value. The rooms are great. Bkfst is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is a great hotel in an excellent location in Athens. I can't add too much to what others have already said. Clean, nice rooms, good full size bathrooms, great food, 1st class service and the whole works of what you'd expect of a hotel of this type.
Here are some tips. If your breakfast is "included" in your room price, the breakfast is served on the top floor (essentially a covered rooftop) and has an incredible view of the acropolis. If your breakfast is not included, eat there anyway as the view is great and the breakfast is phenomenal. The pastries and baked items are some of the best ever! In the evening, they turn on lights on the Acropolis and you have a great view as well... even better I think.. it's beautiful at night with the lights. The food is great and it is not super fancy (no shorts for men, but pretty loose dress code). The bar is also in same location (same view) and is also casual.
So, here's my tip. You almost certainly will eat a meal or two and or get a drink on the top floor. I do not think it is worth the $ for an "Acropolis view" room. A couple of other reviews mentioned getting an interior facing room (for the quiet) but I would strongly disagree. We had a view of the Parliament and the room was very quiet (no problems from street noise at all... ) and it was VERY special to watch the changing of the guards and the activities at Parliament from the room. Also just watching the crazy drivers and the pedrestrians who try to elude them:) wow! We had a 6th floor room which had a balcony. The balcony was very nice.
A first class hotel with first class sevice, a great downtown location, and all of the amenities that you would expect.

Room Tip: I think exterior room facing the Parliament is the best bet. You will see the Acropolis plenty from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. It was lovely reading about your pleasant experience and we are glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the unforgettable Acropolis view from the GB Roof Garden. Looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 10563, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 324 hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views of the famed Acropolis and Parthenon, regal Constitution Square and the Parliament, lush Lycabettus Hill, or the original Olympic Stadium, the Hotel Grande Bretagne offers unrivaled perspectives of Athens' mythical history. Each of the 320 guest rooms offers enchanting views of the hotel courtyard or a spellbinding panorama of the city's timeless landmarks, while the exquisite interiors pay homage to Greek culture with intricate moldings and classic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Venere, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Amex, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.