We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 10563, Greece (Syntagma)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Blue Mountains
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Upon entering the lobby, the traveller is taken back to the grandeur of past splendour. The hotel opened in 1874 and it has the reputation of being the most luxurious in Athens. Guests are privileged to have the choice of an indoor or outdoor pool with bar service and treated to a spectacular sight especially at night when the Acropolis lights up. This can be seen from the roof garden which has a bar and a restaurant serving excellent gourmet meals.
All of the staff are friendly and professional meeting the guests' requirements without any fuss - nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,437
    343
    76
    34
    18
See reviews for
315
973
87
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Great hotel in a great central area. They serve a great meal on the roof with views of the Acropolis. They also have a roof top pool. The hotel has some great history and the rooms are clean and updated and staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Loved this hotel! A luxurious hotel in a location you can't beat. Staff is accommodating, professional. Rooms are bright, very clean, big. Delicious food. We were won over with the roof top open-air bar/restaurant. A great place to have dinner or drinks/snacks while watching the lights at the Parthenon. We will be back, can't wait.

Room Tip: We chose a courtyard view as we exhausted from daily tours. They do offer city view which would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Grande Bretagne is a hotel that makes a difference. It combines luxury with history. Just a step on your balcony rooms and you really have the best views of Athens. Service is more than great. Rooms (deluxe) was very well decorated. Bed was the best we ever slept. Roof top pool a delight during the hot days in Athens. Truly grand.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Yes this hotel is not art nouveau, done in a contemporary style as other reviewers have stated. However, it is one of most gorgeous hotels I've been in. The Libby, while straight out of the late 1800-early 1900 style is not run down in the last. In fact everything from the soda, Tom, lobby and restaurants have been perfectly maintained. Our room and bathroom were spacious and looked like they were painted right before we arrived. Most of the times I've stayed in similarly done hotels, the air smells from the same era, but everywhere there was not a bad odor to find.

Beds were comfortable, service was extremely efficient and many needs are either in the hotel or nearby. GREAT restaurants. Expensive for sure, but the rooftop restaurant had an amazing view and ridiculous wine/drink list. 40 year old scotch? If you can afford it.

Indoor and outdoor pools and wonderful spa are other top notch items here.

It is an experience not to miss and you are literally on Syntagma Square.

Top 10 hotel in the world for me.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. It was lovely to read that you had an enjoyable time and took such pleasure in the hotel’s design and long history. Looking forward to having you back with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Smithtown, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is everything you expect from a 5 star hotel in a city. My wife and I went for 2 nights as the finale of our honeymoon, checking in on 30 July 2013. The grand entrance, impeccable service, and a beautiful, glamorous room is what you should expect. The smell in the lobby is something we wish they could package up and sell because my wife and I just could not get enough of how good the lobby smelled. They knew it was our honeymoon ( I believe thru our great travel agent) and they upgraded us to the butler level (room 619) and delivered us a bottle of champagne. The entire staff was so friendly but really the valets outside were the friendliest, most knowledgeable people we met in the city. They answered all our questions and even took pictures of us in front of the hotel with a big smile. I highly recommend feeding the hotel dog who sits on the steps smoked turkey. He absolutely loved it. The location also can not be beat!

The views from the hotel are stunning and the only thing better was going up at night and seeing the view of the acropolis. The breakfast buffet in the morning was also top notch. My wife wanted a hard boiled egg which was not on the buffet, and they happily made her 4 of them after she asked.

I would definitely return when I go back to Athens. Only wish is that they sell whatever smell they put into the lobby. You can not go wrong here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is a great place to stay in Athens. Very centrally located, and good service. Nice views of the Acropolis, near good shopping areas. Try the pool on the roof, small but nice. Can be quite busy when there are the usual Greek demonstrations..

Room Tip: Acropolis view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 10563, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views of the famed Acropolis and Parthenon, regal Constitution Square and the Parliament, lush Lycabettus Hill, or the original Olympic Stadium, the Hotel Grande Bretagne offers unrivaled perspectives of Athens' mythical history. Each of the 320 guest rooms offers enchanting views of the hotel courtyard or a spellbinding panorama of the city's timeless landmarks, while the exquisite interiors pay homage to Greek culture with intricate moldings and classic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Prestigia, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.