We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is so Grand!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 10563, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“It is so Grand!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I only have positive things to say about this hotel. It is as the title states...Grand! Coming back from the islands, we decided to stay a night in Athens to discover the city. If you have been to Athens recently, city blocks will look very spectacular, and then the block over could be in ruins. This hotel however is impressive throughout. Good location close to the main square. As you enter the hotel, it has a grand lobby. We checked in, no problems. We booked a Jr Suite, and had butler service. Once we got on our floor, our butler was waiting for us, and letting us know what he could do for us. He was very attentive to our needs. Our jr suite was opulent. Comfortable bed, huge balcony, large closet, beautiful washroom. We went to tour the city, and when we came back on arrival, we had a bottle of champagne, little condiments, and ouzo waiting for us, with a personalized letter from the GM saying thank you for staying at the GB. This was totally unexpected, but welcomed. We had the chance to relax in the pool area and sauna's....excellent. We did not get a chance to book a spa, but when we go back, definitely will do so. I recommend, if you have the time, to check out pool, sauna area...very relaxing.
We ate at the rooftop restaurant...and the view of Athens is spectacular. You get to take the best pictures up here as the backdrop of the Acropolis and other historic structures are beautiful. While I can't say much for the city of Athens...this hotel is great, and you will not be disappointed. Only negative thing though is, and not in relation to the GB, because it is right in the square, be prepared for protesters outside. Fortunately, inside the hotel, you are isolated from that. While it will cost you, it is worth every penny/euro. Total luxury and a historic landmark...you can't go wrong with the GB. Looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,354
    326
    73
    34
    17
See reviews for
297
931
85
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The hotel offered an very reliable booking service and airport transfer which was arranged very professionally. I asked for a room with balcony facing thwe main square.. very impressive view of the historic downtown core and Acropolis. Roads are bust but rooms are very quiet. The roof top restaurant offered a great buffet, included in certain room rates. Staff was extremely courteous and helpful in all regards. Free wifi in lobby was nice also.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing main square, with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. We were glad to read that you had an enjoyable time with us and that everything ran smoothly, from making your reservation to arriving at the hotel. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I have stayed here three times in the last few years. My stay lasted from one weekend to nearly two weeks.

This is an exceptionally luxurious property with opulent public rooms, excellent cuisine, and butler service in some rooms. I have had excellent meals from room service and all hotel services have operated flawlessly. Such luxury does not come cheap with room rates routinely reaching 300-500 Euro per night. Despite these eye-watering prices, I feel the hotel is worth the substantial price tag.

Beyond the luxury, the hotel provides peace of mind. I have stayed at the hotel both during and in the immediate aftermath of several major protests in Athens as the result of political and economic conditions. I knew staying here would minimize the damaging effects of these events. That is not to say the hotel can shield its guests entirely, the location across the street from the Grand Palace means that some guests will see the protests. Nonetheless, I knew the hotel was protected by both the staff and Greek authorities. During major events there is always a large police presence in the lobby.

The quality of this hotel is outstanding and could certainly be considered a "once in a lifetime" stay. If you have the money, I believe you will find the Grand Bretagne well worth it! Happy traveling.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing your comments after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. We were delighted by the warm words you wrote about us and are very happy that you enjoyed our services and atmosphere. We always strive to offer the very best and feedback such as yours makes it worthwhile. Looking forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed at GB for 3 nights. One of the most luxuriuos hotels in Europe. Excellent location, efficient and attentive staff, confortable bed, classic, old style and very clean rooms. Ask for high floor. Don't miss the spa !! A luxury stay in the very heart of Athens. It is a historic landmark. Try to read the history of the hotel. It served as the headquarters of the greek, the german and then the british army durring the WWII. Behind the hotel don't miss the Pallas Theater and enjoy the best greek performers !!! Make reservation in time.

Room Tip: high floor, inner rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo, ny
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Posh digs at a premium location. Our room overlooks the parliment and the acropolis. The street below is the 5th avenue of athens. Shopping, walking, people watching with cafes, wine bars and restaurants all around. If the plaka is your thing, it is a short walk away. The spa is divine. As always, staff makes all the difference and they are superb. Do not miss the roof top restaurant which is a view to die for night and day. Food and service of the quality expected from a michelin guide establishment. But the view! Spectacular!! I am sooo glad I spent the extra!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Our family had a lovely stay at the Grande Bretagne. The endless opulent hallways harkened back to an earlier era of grand continental hotels. The service was superb, the location on the Square is excellent. We walked to the Acropolis in 15 minutes.

A particular treat was the Greek breakfast delivered by outstanding room service. The meal included the most delicious rice pudding in a lovely piece of pottery. Fantastic. We were upgraded to a suite with a lovely black and white tiled balcony. No view, but delightful nonetheless. The room had lots of room for a roll-away for our son, a large bathroom and everything you could want.

The service was outstanding. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This absolutely terrific hotel was included as a "refreshment stop" on our cruise to "The Ancient Wonders" and, okay, we weren't there for long , but what was so nice was that we weren't shoved into some back room as so often happens to "tour" people, we were allocated a really elegant room and had good tea and coffee along with homemade biscuits etc with excellent service. It was described, by our guide, as the best hotel in Athens and it certainly made a great impression on me and I would love to actually stay there some day although as a non flyer that is unlikely!

I have included some photos although there are a lot already available but I bet I am the only (sad) person who even photographed the loo paper!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 10563, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views of the famed Acropolis and Parthenon, regal Constitution Square and the Parliament, lush Lycabettus Hill, or the original Olympic Stadium, the Hotel Grande Bretagne offers unrivaled perspectives of Athens' mythical history. Each of the 320 guest rooms offers enchanting views of the hotel courtyard or a spellbinding panorama of the city's timeless landmarks, while the exquisite interiors pay homage to Greek culture with intricate moldings and classic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Prestigia, Starwood EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.