We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Knockout!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 10563, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 324 Hotels in Athens
Grantham
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“It's a Knockout!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This absolutely terrific hotel was included as a "refreshment stop" on our cruise to "The Ancient Wonders" and, okay, we weren't there for long , but what was so nice was that we weren't shoved into some back room as so often happens to "tour" people, we were allocated a really elegant room and had good tea and coffee along with homemade biscuits etc with excellent service. It was described, by our guide, as the best hotel in Athens and it certainly made a great impression on me and I would love to actually stay there some day although as a non flyer that is unlikely!

I have included some photos although there are a lot already available but I bet I am the only (sad) person who even photographed the loo paper!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,254
    299
    68
    32
    17
See reviews for
277
851
85
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Everything we expected and more.The hotel and it's facilities were luxurious.
While staying at the hotel staff went out of their way to assist us with one particular willingly and with great attention.The front desk staff were very polite and professional,the same was the concierge and the Porter,"Dimitris".
We got a room on the second flour,with a view of Greek parliament.We could see the evzones and the changing of the guard from our window.
This hotel is stunning!Beautiful rooms, gorgeous large marble bathrooms, wonderful service and great breakfast with perfect view of the Acropolis.Excellent location within easy walking distance of the Acropolis, restaurants, cafes, shopping, Metro.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are better because of the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. It’s always nice to read such positive feedback and we are glad that you enjoyed all aspects of your accommodation, from location to staff attendance. Looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Excellent 4-day stay at GB with unique service from front desk to hoursekeeper and bar tender.
Room are as you can expect when you stay in this typr of hotel. Oppulent and combortable with all facilities you can expect.
First-class sauna-hammam and swimming pool with attention to details: complymentary ice-tea, fruits. Tons of towels and slippers in your locker.
Went twice to the roof garden restaurant: excellent.
The only cons would be the breakfast at EUR30 which is not worth it. As in most of hotel, it is not very good though not bad... Only good.
Thus I recommend not to book a room with breakfast included.

Room Tip: Street room might be noisy but that the price to pay should you like to see the Acropolys. Otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing your feedback after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. We were delighted that you enjoyed your room, GB Spa as well as the GB Roof Garden restaurant. We usually receive positive comments about our breakfast; however we are sorry that this was not the case. Your comment has been communicated to the Director of Restaurants and corrective action will be implemented wherever necessary. We look forward to welcome you back when you are next in Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The hotel Grande Bretagne is just a jump back in history, taking you a century back in time.

You are surrended with precious pieces of furniture, expensive vases, paintings, which could equally be placed in the Louvre. You ake a big blow and realise how small you are.

Every staff member we met gently greeted us, which shows a dedication to service.

The breakfast room on the top floor is amazing with a stunning view over the ancient Athens, which one can enjoy while choosing from the two meter long bread and pastry buffet.

You certainly will feel like a king when sleeping in the elegant and antique-ly furnished rooms.

Room Tip: When booking, ask for a room giving on the inside court. If you are noise sensitive, the traffic mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing your comments after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. It’s lovely to read that you had an enjoyable time with us and we look forward to welcome you back on a future visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Supreme location to visit both the old and new parts of Athens. Most everything is within walking distance. Hotel fully renovated not so long ago. Nice winter garden at lobby level and rooftop restaurant with beautiful views of the city and the Acropolis. Buffet breakfast has quite a variety and tasty. Dinner in same restaurant was good but not very good or memorable. Rooms are comfortable and elegant. Service is also very polite and attentive.

Room Tip: I would avoid courtyard view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at the Grande Bretagne for three days in June last year and were more than impressed. We were there for a business trip and despite the various demonstrations that were taking place in the main square in front of the hotel it was a great location. The reception staff were very efficient and quite friendly.The room was very ornate with thick carpet and a beautiful marble bathroom with full bath and shower cubicle. The bed was very comfortable too.

There was a beautiful swimming pool on the roof terrace which was not at all busy - the views were fabulous and the bar staff were more than happy to make banana milkshakes which were not on the menu at the time. We found all the staff in the hotel to be friendly and helpful. We ate breakfast on the roof terrace each morning and found the breakfast to be fairly good overall. We also ate on the roof terrace one evening and the meal was of a very good quality along with the service.

The other two evenings we ate out and I have to say we were very disappointed with the quality of the food both times, even though the second restaurant was recommended to us by a Greek colleague! We also found the city to be very scruffy and run down.

I would definitely recommend this hotel - it is a gem, but not sure we would return to Athens except on business.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. We are glad that you were pleased with all aspects of your accommodation, since we try our very best to exceed our guests’ expectations. Hopefully we will be given the opportunity to welcome you back to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft lauderdale
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Always the choice for diplomats, dignitaries, and stars and with good reason. A classic beaux arts hotel in the most prestigious and convenient location in Athens. Newly renovated with old world grandeur. Attentive staff. Spectacular rooftop restaurant with unparalleled view of the acropolis. The best.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 10563, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 324 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views of the famed Acropolis and Parthenon, regal Constitution Square and the Parliament, lush Lycabettus Hill, or the original Olympic Stadium, the Hotel Grande Bretagne offers unrivaled perspectives of Athens' mythical history. Each of the 320 guest rooms offers enchanting views of the hotel courtyard or a spellbinding panorama of the city's timeless landmarks, while the exquisite interiors pay homage to Greek culture with intricate moldings and classic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Starwood EMEA, Venere, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.