We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 10563, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Biggar, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Old fashioned style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is the kind of establishment you could imagine staying in as part of your Grand Tour about 100 years ago. Big and plush about sums it up. Perhaps not the biggest hotel room I have ever stayed in but big enough! Large bed and large bathroom. Excellent housekeeping ( our room was made up whilst we were at breakfast).
Breakfast is taken on the rooftop restaurant. Both breakfast and the views over Athens are just something else. Most anything you could wish for both visually and culturally. We didn't eat dinner there so have no comment on that aspect.
The hotel is next to the Greek parliament and many of the hotels clientele reflect this.
I got the impression that the staff genuinely care about their guests.
Top end so not cheap. I reckon it's worth it though. We got a special deal - stay 3 nights and the fourth was free.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room facing the inner courtyard. No view but quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,351
    326
    73
    34
    17
See reviews for
297
930
85
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The rooms in the hotel were beautiful. From the rooftop restaurant you have the most wonderful view of the acropolis. The Hotel is centrally located in the city and the service was excellent. You are near all the great shopping.The food I ate in the hotel was excellent and the staff was very helpful. The only problem I had when I was there is that the wifi was not working in the rooms only the lobby.I dont know if this is a persistant problem or not

Room Tip: ask for a high floor facing the front of the hotel so you have a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Had the best stay. A lovely room overlooking the Acropolis, comfy bed and great staff.

Walked the city, including right up to the Acropolis. No one around - the city seemed quiet, maybe the season has finished?

Make sure you visit the railway station next to the hotel. When they dug out the underground station for the olympics, they discovered old streets, graves etc. They have this glass wall running the length of the station where you can see the profile of the soils... there are graves (With the skeleton) pipework, foundations and more. An original museum...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Hotel Grande Bretagne, Athens
Constitution Square, Athens,105 64, Greece
Phone: (30)(210) 3330 000Contact Us Announcements Visit Our Site 11:39 AM

Upon entering the revolving doors of the Hotel Grande Bretagne, you enter an exquisite, classically decorated entry. The decor is real, unlike some hotels that attempt to appear real with cheap imitations. Some of the guests, tourists like myself, even look a bit out of place in the truly beautiful hotel.

Service was exceptional, each member of the staff, from bell hop, to reception, and concierge were all very professional, friendly and had what i felt to be a level of pride in their work.

Enough cannot be said about the quality and decor of our room.

Our room was spacious with plenty of space between a king size bed, desk, large closets, and a modern entertainment center.

Our view was nothing special, and we weren't able to figure out the door lock in order to access the balcony, though it may have been locked for guest safety.

The bathroom was wonderfully appointed with a large tub and separate shower and stocked with towels, robes and supply of luxury spa washes, shampoo and conditioners. There was also a grooming kit and blow dryer and weigh scale.

Everything was perfect at Hotel Grande Bretagne, and our experience as a whole is exactly what we hope to expect whenever we stay at a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel.

Warning: My wife and I almost didn't come, we almost chose to avoid Athens completely during our trip to Greece. Ongoing problems with the national economy and civil unrest had resulted in numerous protests right on Constitution Square, this is right outside the hotel's front door.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
336 reviews 336 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
553 helpful votes 553 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

With temperatures soaring to 31C even though it was middle of October, the 7th floor poolside sun terrace and bar at the Hotel Grande Bretagne was perfection and welcome relief from the cold of Zurich. The bar served excellent lunchtime food from the restaurant kitchen, and in the evening one could avail oneself to a splendid view of lit up Acropolis at the 8th floor bar, or if dining at the rooftop restaurant. Service was excellent, rooms super clean, and staff splendid. I happened to be there during all the protests and demonstrations and the hotel was worthy of special services in getting me out of the hotel and to the airport on one of their own cars when the city came to a standstill, as did the whole of its transport system. The restaurant is expensive, but with excellent service, interesting Greek wines opened on the night, decanted from large magnums or jeroboams with theatrical flair by the sommelier - I had a great time! As to the spa and indoor pool area, some of the best I have ever enjoyed anywhere, with Amethyst Cave, herbal saunas particular highlights, all in wonderfully lit up, mosaic-ed and perfectly serviced surrounds. Massage using ESPA products a must and great value at 50E. Can't wait to be back to this splendid hotel, excellently located to Sygmata metro station just outside the hotels door which is one metro stop away from the Acropolis, and the surrounds of Old Town Athens.

Room Tip: The rooms with view onto Parliament House look fab, but take in a lot of noise from major rounds sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

It is probably one of the best hotels in the world. From service to elegant rooms, amazing breakfast and the best views of Athens. Rooms are not simply decorated to look expensive - they are expensive. Dont forget to have at least one dinner at the roof garden. Simply delicious worthing every penny.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The name includes the description of a grand place.  I stayed here 44 years ago as a wide eyed teenager.  Now I have stayed as a wide eyed adult.  This is not an overdone hotel.  It is in perfect taste from the entry by a wide revolving door, well selected decor, to crisp bed linens and fluffy towels.
The final bill included the taxi to the airport which  made leaving very easy without having to get more Euros exchanged.
 The Spa is incredible.  A  most beautiful facility. With an amethyst shower.
The dining on the roof with Greek wine, lovely wait staff, delicious food for breakfast and dinner, and the view of the Acropolis could not have been improved

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 10563, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views of the famed Acropolis and Parthenon, regal Constitution Square and the Parliament, lush Lycabettus Hill, or the original Olympic Stadium, the Hotel Grande Bretagne offers unrivaled perspectives of Athens' mythical history. Each of the 320 guest rooms offers enchanting views of the hotel courtyard or a spellbinding panorama of the city's timeless landmarks, while the exquisite interiors pay homage to Greek culture with intricate moldings and classic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Starwood EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.