We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 10563, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 324 hotels in Athens
Milpitas, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A hotel perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Hotel Grande Bretagne, Athens
Constitution Square, Athens,105 64, Greece
Phone: (30)(210) 3330 000Contact Us Announcements Visit Our Site 11:39 AM

Upon entering the revolving doors of the Hotel Grande Bretagne, you enter an exquisite, classically decorated entry. The decor is real, unlike some hotels that attempt to appear real with cheap imitations. Some of the guests, tourists like myself, even look a bit out of place in the truly beautiful hotel.

Service was exceptional, each member of the staff, from bell hop, to reception, and concierge were all very professional, friendly and had what i felt to be a level of pride in their work.

Enough cannot be said about the quality and decor of our room.

Our room was spacious with plenty of space between a king size bed, desk, large closets, and a modern entertainment center.

Our view was nothing special, and we weren't able to figure out the door lock in order to access the balcony, though it may have been locked for guest safety.

The bathroom was wonderfully appointed with a large tub and separate shower and stocked with towels, robes and supply of luxury spa washes, shampoo and conditioners. There was also a grooming kit and blow dryer and weigh scale.

Everything was perfect at Hotel Grande Bretagne, and our experience as a whole is exactly what we hope to expect whenever we stay at a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel.

Warning: My wife and I almost didn't come, we almost chose to avoid Athens completely during our trip to Greece. Ongoing problems with the national economy and civil unrest had resulted in numerous protests right on Constitution Square, this is right outside the hotel's front door.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,637 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,231
    290
    68
    32
    16
See reviews for
268
834
84
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
324 reviews 324 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
536 helpful votes 536 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

With temperatures soaring to 31C even though it was middle of October, the 7th floor poolside sun terrace and bar at the Hotel Grande Bretagne was perfection and welcome relief from the cold of Zurich. The bar served excellent lunchtime food from the restaurant kitchen, and in the evening one could avail oneself to a splendid view of lit up Acropolis at the 8th floor bar, or if dining at the rooftop restaurant. Service was excellent, rooms super clean, and staff splendid. I happened to be there during all the protests and demonstrations and the hotel was worthy of special services in getting me out of the hotel and to the airport on one of their own cars when the city came to a standstill, as did the whole of its transport system. The restaurant is expensive, but with excellent service, interesting Greek wines opened on the night, decanted from large magnums or jeroboams with theatrical flair by the sommelier - I had a great time! As to the spa and indoor pool area, some of the best I have ever enjoyed anywhere, with Amethyst Cave, herbal saunas particular highlights, all in wonderfully lit up, mosaic-ed and perfectly serviced surrounds. Massage using ESPA products a must and great value at 50E. Can't wait to be back to this splendid hotel, excellently located to Sygmata metro station just outside the hotels door which is one metro stop away from the Acropolis, and the surrounds of Old Town Athens.

Room Tip: The rooms with view onto Parliament House look fab, but take in a lot of noise from major rounds sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

It is probably one of the best hotels in the world. From service to elegant rooms, amazing breakfast and the best views of Athens. Rooms are not simply decorated to look expensive - they are expensive. Dont forget to have at least one dinner at the roof garden. Simply delicious worthing every penny.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The name includes the description of a grand place.  I stayed here 44 years ago as a wide eyed teenager.  Now I have stayed as a wide eyed adult.  This is not an overdone hotel.  It is in perfect taste from the entry by a wide revolving door, well selected decor, to crisp bed linens and fluffy towels.
The final bill included the taxi to the airport which  made leaving very easy without having to get more Euros exchanged.
 The Spa is incredible.  A  most beautiful facility. With an amethyst shower.
The dining on the roof with Greek wine, lovely wait staff, delicious food for breakfast and dinner, and the view of the Acropolis could not have been improved

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

We spent four nights at The Grande Bretagne prior to our cruise departure from Athens. I can honestly say that our stay was flawless. I received a pre arrival email several weeks ago giving specifics on the hotel and services offered. Several days prior to arrival I received another email advising me of the upcoming transportation strike (all taxis and public transportation).
Several solutions were offered turning what could have been a "stab in the dark" experience into a smooth, stress-free arrival.
Every single aspect from that point forward can only be described as superlative. The only thing that rivaled the view from the rooftop bar/restaurant was the food and service.
Can't wait to come back.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Fantastic location, right in the heart of Athens, with views to the Acropolis from the rooftop bar and restaurant, and greek rioters outside Parliament! The rooftop pool is tiny but a lovely spot to sit in the shade and enjoy a quiet drink.
Service is professional and courteous, and the room was very nicely appointed. We only stayed one night, wished it could have been longer!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

...and I'm very, VERY picky. The character, history, location, amenities, service, courtesy, pride of staff, food, drink, and more, make this a very special hotel. You will be at the best hotel in Athens if you stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne.

Room Tip: Courtyard facing is nice and quiet and not inferior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 10563, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 324 hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views of the famed Acropolis and Parthenon, regal Constitution Square and the Parliament, lush Lycabettus Hill, or the original Olympic Stadium, the Hotel Grande Bretagne offers unrivaled perspectives of Athens' mythical history. Each of the 320 guest rooms offers enchanting views of the hotel courtyard or a spellbinding panorama of the city's timeless landmarks, while the exquisite interiors pay homage to Greek culture with intricate moldings and classic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.