We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Athens hotel is Grand” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 10563, Greece (Syntagma)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fort Worth, Tx
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Athens hotel is Grand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The Grand Betagne is located right across the street from the Parliament Building in central Athens—within easy walking distance to the Plaka (old town). This is a first class hotel. The rooms are large by European standards with beautiful large marble bathrooms. A buffet breakfast is served on the 8th floor terrace overlooking the Acropolis—spectacular! We found the staff to be very helpful with directions, suggestions for restaurants, and reservations. They even set us up with an excellent guide for a tour of the Acropolis museum and some other sites. We had dinner at the terrace restaurant – also quite nice with a beautiful night view of the Acropolis. Highly recommended for your stay in Athens.

Room Tip: If you are bothered by street noise in big city hotels, ask for a room on the courtyard side of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,438
    343
    76
    34
    18
See reviews for
316
973
87
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Second visit to the GB both of which were two night pre-cruise. This is an excellent hotel with world class service and opulent luxury throughout the impressive public rooms. Highly recommended is the roof top restaurant and bar. My wife and I have dined their 3 times now and is a truly memorable dining experience with wonderful views to the Parthenon and Acroplis. We have also used the rooftop pool / bar to relax and read in the sunshine but sadly seems to be an underused facility. Unfortunately the GB is on Syntagma Square where many of the well publicised demonstrations are focused. The hotel rates are not cheap but this is easily a case of you get what you pay for and is worth every penny at the GB.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inuvik, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Amidst the financial crisis in Greece this hotel has not lost its reputation. Its decor is spectacular with its marble steps and gold trim lobby. It has a 19th century feel without feeling outdated. The room was a little smaller than we expected (having paid more for a deluxe). But it had a nice view of the city including Parliament. Luckily with it being a weekend there were no protesters. The bathroom was over the top, floor to ceiling marble and almost as big as the room itself.

Service was adequate. There is nothing bad I can say about it but nothing memorable either.

The reason for the 5 star rating are the bars. The first floor Alexander's is the number 1 hotel bar in the world and for good reason. Excellent bartenders. Friendly, sociable and mixed some amazing drinks. The pool bar was the highlight of our stay. Located on the 8th floor, was a low lit bar that overlooked the lighted Acropolis. Absolutely incredible views. The bartender was very knowledgeable and talked to us about wines the whole time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Many reviews have been written about this place and there is little for me to add.
I can only say that there is no finer hotel in Athens with regard to location, service, comfort and luxury.
The staff are fantastic in all areas of the hotel and I always feel so welcome.
The rooftop restaurant and pool are terrific !
Some people will always find negative things to say, but these people simply do not appreciate quality when it smacks them right in the face !
Get a larger room on a higher floor and you will be happy and it will still be cheaper than any equivalent hotel in a major European capital. Huge bang for your buck.
We've stayed here four times and it just keeps getting better.
I salute the management.

Room Tip: higher and larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

The roof top restaurant with the stunning view of the Acropolis was amazing! Good breakfast spread and the service was good too! In addition, the Plaka and Hard Rock Cafe is within walking distance. We had enjoyed our stay there!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Great hotel. One of the best. Third visit. It is flawless. Wonderful location. Only problem, staying here right now in the current situation makes me feel uncomfortable. There is a LOT of anger on the streets, but the GB isolates you from all that fortunately.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Maybe it was due to the jet lag from the trip over from the US, but the bed and pillows at the Grand Bretagne were amazing! We loved our two night stay here. Arrived early, reception was very friendly, and we were able to check in to a deluxe room on the 7th floor, courtyard views, which was fine, and with a butler! He brought our luggage up for us, and we did call on the butler service with questions a couple of times, but was not sure what else to do with a butler… I did have a blouse which needed ironing, and after watching two seasons of Downton Abbey, thought this might be something a butler might do, but did not wish to impose.
Our room felt luxurious! The curtains made the room very dark and cozy, the bathroom was large and wonderful, how do they make the mirror non-steam like that? They have a nice turn down service with chocolates, which we missed on the second night, sadly, as we left our ‘do not disturb’ light on. (Don’t do this!)
Loved the breakfast at the rooftop restaurant, great selection of both hot and cold foods, excellent bread and pastry selection, good strong coffee…. And of course the view of the Acropolis is amazing. Had a wonderful dinner there as well, of sea bass and shrimp risotto, service was quite good, wine selection excellent, and again, that night time view of the Acropolis is breathtaking!
Did spend just a bit of time at the pool. This area is not very large, and it does have a bar, drinks are pricey as you would expect.
The concierge helped us with a Plaka restaurant recommendation, Psarra, which turned out to be the perfect suggestion, rooftop dining! And with a walk through Kalonaki to Lycabettus Hill and the tram to the top.
And just a note on the concerns of safety or demonstrations in Athens, we never felt threatened or worried during our stay, even on Saturday morning, when there was a very orderly protest through Syntagma Square and in front of the Parliament. There were many police in the area and they had blocked off an area for protests. (Since I wrote this, there was a huge demonstration here, so timing is everything…)
To conclude… a wonderful stay at Grand Bretagne… can I have one of those pillows please?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 10563, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views of the famed Acropolis and Parthenon, regal Constitution Square and the Parliament, lush Lycabettus Hill, or the original Olympic Stadium, the Hotel Grande Bretagne offers unrivaled perspectives of Athens' mythical history. Each of the 320 guest rooms offers enchanting views of the hotel courtyard or a spellbinding panorama of the city's timeless landmarks, while the exquisite interiors pay homage to Greek culture with intricate moldings and classic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Prestigia, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.