We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spectacular view, silly prices!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Parthenon

Parthenon
Acropolis | Top of Dionyssiou Areopagitou, Athens 10558, Greece
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$223*
and up
Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and...
Ranked #3 of 178 Attractions in Athens
Type: Ancient Ruins, Architectural Buildings, Historic Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The majestic ruins of an ancient Greek building, known for its dignified white marble columns and perfect sense of proportion.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“spectacular view, silly prices!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

It Is without doubt that the view of the Parthenon is visually beautiful, wouldn't have missed going there and it was lovely to see. However I don't believe the price of 12 euros a ticket is necessary at all as we covered the whole area in around 15-20 minutes if that! there was not much historial information; if you wanted a guide you paid for it. Also didn't appreciate being shouted at by a 'Parthenon guard' so to speak, when I simply reached out my hand to a column. They felt it appropriate to tell me and my partner that it is so difficult to 'clean' the attraction and the likes of myself could damage it. All in all yes it's nice to go but don't be too disappointed if you don't!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,908 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,857
    811
    192
    38
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“This is Athens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We went in off season and I have to say it was wonderful to finally visit here. There are many plaques around the area with a wealth on information on them. I Just such a great experience and a privilege to be there.

It would be wonderful if western countries would join together to support the ongoing restoration of this world treasure.

Don't miss the opportunity to see it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“cradle of contemporary philosophy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I could not go inside due to works, however this is the main building of acropolis, where Socrates, Plato and Aristotle taught, walked and touched these pillars, this is where all current thinking about the world originated, realising this I was awestruck, note the exaggeration of perspective by the builders

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Top Contributor
437 reviews 437 reviews
120 attraction reviews
Reviews in 171 cities Reviews in 171 cities
290 helpful votes 290 helpful votes
“This symbol of Athens is worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

It's a long walk up the Acropolis to the Parthenon but it's worth it just to say you did it. This structure is the most important surviving building of the Golden Greek era and thanks to the reconstruction you can get a sense of what this temple looked like when it was completed in 432 BC. It's an interesting place and worth a visit.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Dont miss it!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

A trip to Athens is not completed until you have to opportutnity to climb the Areopagus Hill and visit the Parthenon. So much history Christian based (Acts 17:22) as well as mythology stories. A must see

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parthenon also viewed

 

Been to Parthenon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parthenon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.