We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rick Steves Says Best In The Morning And He Is Right!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parthenon

Parthenon
Acropolis | Top of Dionyssiou Areopagitou, Athens 10558, Greece
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$226*
and up
Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and...
Ranked #3 of 179 Attractions in Athens
Type: Ancient Ruins, Architectural Buildings, Historic Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The majestic ruins of an ancient Greek building, known for its dignified white marble columns and perfect sense of proportion.
Borrego Springs, California
Top Contributor
314 reviews 314 reviews
157 attraction reviews
Reviews in 150 cities Reviews in 150 cities
397 helpful votes 397 helpful votes
“Rick Steves Says Best In The Morning And He Is Right!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The NCL Spirit Southern Europe * Eastern Mediterranean Cruise
October 26-Nov 6, 2013
Venice > Athens > Istanbul > Western Italy > Barcelona

Our best resources for our self-excursions into ports were Rick Steve’s Mediterranean Cruise Ports, Rick Steve’s Pocket Athens, the Rick Steve’s Free Audio Tours iPhone app and multiple posts to Cruise Critic by Puablo who did the same cruise that we did 4 months earlier.

We wanted to be in the first group off the ship to “beat feet down the street” to get to the metro and to the Acropolis when it opened at 8 a.m. to beat the crowds because Rick Steve said that the best time to be at the Acropolis is before the tour buses disgorge throngs of tourists at 10 a.m. He was dead-on correct! Holy cow!

During our day, we listened to Rick Steves free audio tour app to guide us through the Acropolis. We also visited the Ancient Agora (and its excellent museum) the Roman Agora, Hadrians Arch, Hadrians Library, the Temple of Zeuss, the flea market, Ermou Street, the Platka, Souvalki Row (twice!) and a heap of cool churches all guided by Rick Steves books and audio.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,898 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,852
    807
    191
    38
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Its nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I bougt my tickets from the The Temple of Olympian Zeus , Athens, Greece, it cost you 12 euro to visit most of the sites and its goof for four days. I did the The Temple of Olympian Zeus , Athens, Greece and the acropolis, you can go to seven places using the same tickets.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kateríni, Pieria, Greece
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A must see monument for all travellers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

One of the most exciting places to visit - historically speaking it was the heart of Ancient Athens. You can also take a bird's eye view of the whole contemporary Athens.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The size cannot really be explained, to walk inside it is amazing, its a little bit out of central Athens, but worth the trip.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Michigan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Acropolis tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Nota was an excellent guide for the ancient Agora and Acropolis in Athens. She was able to bring the places to life and really give me a sense of what the people and culture were like long ago. Also how advanced they were and what we've learned from them. I would highly recommend her!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parthenon also viewed

 

Been to Parthenon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parthenon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.