We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like the hotel's location, clean hotel and helpful staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Plaka Hotel to your Saves list
Plaka Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7, Kapnikareas & Mitropoleos Street | Plaka/Syntagma, Athens 10556, Greece (Plaka)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE BREAKFAST & Wi-Fi
Ranked #9 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“I like the hotel's location, clean hotel and helpful staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

I really love the location of Plaka Hotel Athens. I could walk to the Acropolis early in the morning, back to the hotel to have a nap and go out again. All the major branded goods are in Plaka. Thus, I always go back to the hotel to drop off my stuff and go out again.

The room is clean and comfortable. The front office staff are very helpful too.

I will definitely choose Plaka Hotel if I visit Athens again.

P/s: Oh yes, you could view the Acropolis from the Roof Top Garden. The view is fantastic at nite.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2010
Dear Guest,

We're delighted to read your comments and thank you for sharing your exceptional experience on Trip Advisor. Comments such as these are a tremendous motivation for us all to continue offering the standards of service to our guests. Thank you.

Best regards

Dorina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,058
    782
    117
    37
    12
See reviews for
399
926
139
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

Every time we come through Athens we try to stay a night or two in the Hotel Plaka. Our first stay dates back many years, probably close to 20 and we have seen the evolution of the hotel to a very cosy, friendly, clean, affordable and most of all perfectly located place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2010
Dear Guest;

We are very happy to know that your stay at the Plaka hotel was once again an unforgettable experience. We thank you for your time to write a review. Hope to see you again.

Best regards.
Dorina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

I recently stayed two nights at the Plaka hotel and cannot speak highly enough about my stay. The room was very comfortable, breakfast was great, staff were excellent in every way possible -- there was nothing that one would ask that they did not go out of their way to help. The hotel is located in an ideal stop to enjoy the offerings of Athens. Getting to the hotel from the airport is easy, just take the metro and you have a couple of blocks to walk once to disembark. My next visit to Athens we definitely see me staying at the Plaka!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2010
Dear Guest,

It is with great pleasure and satisfaction that we read your comments following your recent stay in Plaka hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, which will be helpful to future clients.
We certainly hope you will be able to stay with us once more, on your future visit to Athens.

Best regards
Dorina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Great little hotel right on spot for sightseeing, shopping, eating/drinking, wondering around Athens. Friendly staff, small hotel with a wonderful roof terrace and some rooms have a direct view to Akropolis. Good breakfast - everything worked!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2010
Dear guest,
I am so pleased you had a positive experience in our hotel. Thank you for your review and your high score. I wish you a warm winter and hope to see you again on a future trip to Athens.

Best regards
Dorina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

We only had a 24 hr stay here and the room 601 was on the small side, but fine. The breakfast was a good hot/cold style buffet in a great bright, welcoming room. The roof top terrace was excellent for relaxing, with amazing views. The location in the middle of it all (shopping malls, cafes & restaurants) was fantastic. Walking distance to everything. Informative staff. We don't like to sleep with the air conditioning on so being on the west elevation of the hotel made our room stuffy at night. If in Athens again I would still stay here, but ask for a room with a different aspect. No noise in room, but I sleep with earplugs when away from home. Husband slept fine without earplugs.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2010
Dear Guest,

I am glad that you were satisfied with the service you received from our staff, and the location of the hotel. We hope on a future trip to Athesn we will be able to offer you an even better room. Please do not hesitate to contact us in advance for special reservation details.

Kind regards
Dorina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

The Plaka Hotel, Athens, is very well located. Close to Quality shops,resteraunts and historical sites.Our room was very quiet and clean. The beds and pollows were comfortable and the air conditioning worked well. The rooftop bar and patio was a great place to relax and view the sunset and the Acropolis.The breakfast was nice, with a good variety of hot and cold food. The managment and staff were very friendly and helpfull. We also took advantage of the hotels laundry service, which was very good value.
Overall I think the Plaka Hotel was very good value for the price we paid and have no complaints at all.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2010
Dear family,
I thank you for your positive review and your high score. I am so pleased that you had such a confortable stay in our hotel and hope to see you again some time in the future.

Best regards
Dorina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Storping on the Swuft
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

The Hotel Plaka is located, not surprisingly, in the Plaka, which is the mostly pedestrian area north and west of the Acropolis. The attractions near the Acropolis are within reasonable walking distance for an active tourist. The hotel is 7 stories tall, with roof garden/bar which provides a wonderful view of the Acropolis. The roof is not open before 8:00 am, but if you ask the desk clerk you might be able to get up there early if you want to take some sunrise photos. After a tiring day of being a tourist, it was great to lounge on the roof, watch the sun set, and see the lights come on around the Acropolis.

The hotel has recently been remodeled. The rooms small but clean and comfortable. The showers are great. The air conditioning is efficient and quiet. Each room has a safe. The staff is friendly and helpful. If you make an early reservation you can request a room with a view of the Acropolis.

The breakfast buffet is free and consists of fruit, cheeses, cereals, breads, coldcuts, scrambled eggs, and a couple other hot items. Not wonderful, but perfectly acceptable.

The only negative I have to report is that the wi-fi is not free. It costs 1 euro for 15 minutes, with lower rates for longer periods.

This is a good hotel for active tourists who want a decent home base from which to launch their explorations of Athens. If you just want to lounge around the hotel all day, you should look for one with more amenities.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2010
Dear Guest;

We are very happy to know that your stay at the Plaka hotel was very nice experience. In our attempt to improve we surely value all the feedback we can get from our guests. Hope to see you again. Best regards.
Dorina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Address: 7, Kapnikareas & Mitropoleos Street | Plaka/Syntagma, Athens 10556, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Athens
#9 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#11 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new museum, as well Ancient Agora, Parliament,First Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National Galery. Two blocks away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street of Ermou and Plaka touristic shops and tavernas.Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaka Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.