We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in Athens” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Plaka Hotel to your Saves list
Plaka Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7, Kapnikareas & Mitropoleos Street | Plaka/Syntagma, Athens 10556, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE BREAKFAST & WI-FI
Ranked #8 of 326 Hotels in Athens
lausanne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in Athens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

Very nice hotel, perfectly situated, close to Plaka, Monastiraki and Syntagma. Dead easy to find, even if its your first time in Athens. Recently refurbished, the rooms are clean and the roof garden was being completed when I was there (May 2010). The staff are very helpful at any time of the night or day. The hotel was on the full side, which is always a good sign, and is good value for money. I would unhesitatingly return.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2010
Dear Sir,

I thank you for your positive review on Plaka Hotel and I am please we offered you a pleasant stay!

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Athens.

Best regards

Dorina Stathopoulou
G. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    934
    726
    106
    35
    12
See reviews for
364
835
125
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

The hotel is very well situated for sight-seeing in Athens and easily reached from the airport by bus or metro.
We were pleasantly greeted on arrival and reception staff were very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about where to go and what to see.
Our room was excellent and breakfast served in a very pleasant restaurant.
The roof top bar area offered a wonderful view of the city.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2010
Dear sir,

Thank you very much for your review and for your high score!
We are working out what we can do best for the internet charge.

Best regards

Dorina Stathopoulou
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

We picked hotel based on other reviews and facilities. In particular having a roof terrace that you could see Acropolis from. Terrace closed whole time we were there and lots of buidling drilling noise during day - so no siesta possible.

Room a bit variable - resonable facilites in bedroom but things like bathroom floor tilles cracked, shower screen leaky.

Would have appriciated if hotel had warned us in advance that this was happening.

Would consider staying again - but would check that renovations are complete.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

We knew the hotel from a former stay, but it improved a lot. Clean and spacious rooms, nice shower, tasty breakfast and devoted and very polite personnel.
At the reception we got a lot of help : phonecalls, roadmaps to find the embassy after the loss of our wallet, etc...
We enjoyed our stay from March 29th till April 8th 2010 and hope to go back next year or the year after.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2010
Dear Sir,

I thank you for your positive review on Plaka Hotel and I am pleased we offered you a pleasant stay though you.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Athens.

Best regards

Dorina Stathopoulou
G. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

The location of this hotel is great - right in the middle of everything. BUT ... the bed in the room was broken and barely holding together. The bathroom was tiny and don't drop the soap in the shower - you'd have to step outside the shower to retrieve it! (and I'm a size 10). We found the staff to be abrupt and totally unhelpful. Will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

I spent 1 night at the Plaka Hotel in April 2010. The location was fantastic - just a few minutes from the Plaka shops, the Acropolis, and the metro stop. The room was comfortable and I had a fantastic view - I could see the acropolis from my bed - I stared at it out the window for much of the evening - it was breathtaking!

The hotel staff was very nice and helpful. The hotel has wireless internet (for a nominal charge) and breakfast was included with my room.

The rooftop terrace was closed for renovations, but it looks like that is a really nice feature given the location & view.

I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rennes, France
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

Despite this being the 21st century, you have to pay for wifi, be you using your own computer or the hotel's one and only.
Small room. Shower-room needs to be redone.
Woken at 6 am by buidling site (=view from room), then refurbishment started in hotel itself at 8.30 (hammers, drills...)
Reception polite & informative but not at all friendly.
Central Athens; 300m from metro.
Nice restaurants are a good walk away in Psiris

Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Address: 7, Kapnikareas & Mitropoleos Street | Plaka/Syntagma, Athens 10556, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Athens
#9 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#9 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new museum, as well Ancient Agora, Parliament,First Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National Galery. Two blocks away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street of Ermou and Plaka touristic shops and tavernas.Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaka Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.