We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Plaka Hotel to your Saves list
Plaka Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7, Kapnikareas & Mitropoleos Street | Plaka/Syntagma, Athens 10556, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE BREAKFAST & WI-FI
Ranked #8 of 326 Hotels in Athens
CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Terrible Hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2006

Warning to anybody wanting a comfortable place to say. The rooms are small and noisy, the beds rock hard, the bathrooms just big enough for one person and the staff was grumpy and unfriendly. Not much good to say about this place.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    940
    726
    107
    35
    12
See reviews for
366
837
126
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2006

Traveling alone on my first trip to Greece, I spent several nights at the Plaka Hotel in Athens both before and after my trip to the islands. I was delighted with it: I could walk to the Acropolis, the main square, the university, the national gardens, the Temple of Zeus and all of the major tourist attractions and was close to many excellent restaurants and tavernas as well as major shopping streets. On the second visit, at my request, I was given a room overlooking the Acropolis (lit up at night) which was wonderful. The bathrooms for my single- bed rooms were small and the showers even smaller, but how much time do you spend there anyway? My rooms, somewhat spartan by North American standards but typical of Europe, had every amenity: bathroom with shower (one had a tub, too), a desk, a safe, personally controlled air conditioning, windows that opened to the balmy night air, comfortable beds with crisp linens, very clean, storage space for luggage. The staff at the front desk were very helpful, even fixing my camera for me and lending me adaptors for plug-ins. There was lots of choice for a healthy breakfast (the Greek yoghurt and honey are wonderful) with excellent coffee (buffet style) included in the price of the room. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Athens.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Plaka Hotel as our travel agent recommended.
It was actually not bad of hotel. Very close to the Acropolis and other historical sites and everything was within walking distance. The hotel is in very convenient location. Only thing that I didn't like was the wall was paper thin and you can hear the next door pretty easily.... the bath room is pretty small and shower is extremely small.. but good water pressure though. Room is clean and very comfortable bed! House keeper does great job cleaning daily. Also they have internet we can use. You pay 4 Euro for one hour internet card from the front desk.. You can use the internet as long as the minute is there. Very clean internet room, water, cookies are provided for the guests as well. Often times people are not using the internet so you can use it without feeling hurried by other guests.
They give you breakfast from 7AM.. and great coffee... Greek Coffee is the best... THey also have bread, sausages, eggs, great greek yogurt, watermelons, honey, cereals, juice.
Staff is very friendly and helpful as well. The garden roof bar is also another plus for this hotel... Wonderful hostess and good beer and Frappe!!! You have the best view of Acropolis from the top!!!
Also if you want to dominate the view of Acropolis, you may want to request the way back corner of rooms such as 210, 310, 410, 510...etc... We stayed in 310... YOu only have neighbor on one side and another side has no room... so less noisy.. plus you get to see beautiful view of Acropolis from your room!!!!! We loved it.......
so overall the hotel was not too bad... We were very greatful for the place and we really loved it. if you are looking for the five star hotel, this is not for you but if you are looking for budget and convenient place to stay, plaka is it for you!!!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2006

Stayed at the Plaka for two nights & were 100% satisfied. It is an easy (3 short blocks) walk from the Monastiraki metro stop, the rooftop terrace & our room had great view of the city & Acropolis. Also you are right at the border between Plaka & Monastiraki neighborhoods & can walk to most major tourist attractions. Room was decent size & very clean and fresh. Bathroom was tiny but typical of others we saw in Greece. Breakfast was generous and tasted fine! Front desk staff is multi-lingual. We paid E145 per night which I felt was a good value for the location & quality. We would definitely stay here again.

Regarding previous reviewers' comments about noise...I live in downtown Washington DC so didn't notice a thing! Really, if you are used to typical city living you will not be bothered.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2006

Just came back from spending 10 days in Athens, Greece -5/06
Stayed at the Plaka Hotel in Athens, Greece.
I loved this hotel and all it had to offer! You could not beat the location-
within walking distance to everything you would want to see -
It is in the heart of the Plaka district and right next to the Acropolis and Monastiraki metro station and also the Ermou shopping street. It is clean and has a wonderful buffet breakfast as well as a great view from the garden on the top floor of the hotel!! My room also faced the Acropolis - a fantastic view!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Maria at the front dest - is the Best - she knows everything and where to send you-places you might not think to go on your own-She is a definite asset to the hotel Plaka and i so much enjoyed meeting her!!!! I cannot wait to visit Athens again and would definitely return to the Plaka hotel!!!!!!!
anne
nyc, ny

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2006

We stayed at the Plaka twice in our recent trip through Greece. The first time, our room faced the front. This is a very busy one lane street, and especially on weekend nights - and there's a bar that plays loud music until the late hours. The noise is ok if you close the windows and sleep with the AC on. The best things about the Plaka are the great location, wonderful breakfasts, and top notch service. The other small downside was that our "double" bed was actually two small twins pushed next to each other.

The 2nd time we stayed at the Plaka, we requested a room on the back side with a double or queen bed. The staff was able to accomodate this, but we were warned that the room would be smaller. It was worth it, so much more quiet and with a great view of the Acropolis.

Lastly, we originally booked our reservations on Orbitz about 3 months before our trip. About 2 weeks before we were to leave, Orbitz advised that our reservations were not valid, and wanted to rebook us into other hotels which we thought were not equitable, or were in not so great locations, etc. After some pulling of teeth, Orbitz agreed to refund our money, and we rebooked the Plaka via other hotel websites - although it was a bit more expensive.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2006

We had a reservation for the Plaka through Orbitz but when we arrived they told us there was no record of it. After awhile someone in the office "discovered" that our booking had been transferred to another hotel owned by the Plaka, about a mile farther away from the Acropolis. We asked if there was a room available at the Plaka and they said "yes", but they couldn't transfer the reservation back, so apparently it's just a strategy of giving their new acquisition a little extra activity.

We dragged our suitcases around Athens for over an hour trying to find the other hotel (not the first thing you want to do on arrival), which is on a sidestreet, and the direction to which every Greek we asked had a different opinion. Then every time we wanted to go to the Plaka district it was an hour round-trip on foot.

Orbitz was unwilling to take any responsibility for what happened, although they sold us the reservation. I'd avoid both the Plaka and Orbitz.

Jim

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Address: 7, Kapnikareas & Mitropoleos Street | Plaka/Syntagma, Athens 10556, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Athens
#9 Family Hotel in Athens
#9 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new museum, as well Ancient Agora, Parliament,First Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National Galery. Two blocks away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street of Ermou and Plaka touristic shops and tavernas.Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaka Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.