We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Highly recommended"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Plaka Hotel to your Saves list
Plaka Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7, Kapnikareas & Mitropoleos Street | Plaka/Syntagma, Athens 10556, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE BREAKFAST & WI-FI
Ranked #8 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Luebeck
1 review
“"Highly recommended"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My wife & I stayed in this hotel on Dec. 2014. Location is excellent, short distance to restaurants, shopping centers and all other sights. Staff were friendly and very helpfull. Room was clean and just OK for the price.
Therefore, I highly recommend Plaka hotel to other travellers.

Thanks to management and all staff with excellent service. We had a great time in Athens.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    934
    726
    106
    35
    12
See reviews for
364
835
125
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here in August.
Location was perfect. Short walking distace to all the sights.
Staff were really helpful.
Restaurant area was just around the corner.
Rooms were basic but clean, for the price it was what we expected.
Breafast room was nice and the food was good and they had a decent selection to choose from.

The roof top area it what is was all about, After a long day of sightseeing, we went up there for sunset and brought our own wine so we could sit down and enjoy the view. They did actually also serve drinks on the roof top, We didnt realise this till we were leaving.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Hotel is centrally located and staff is very helpful and polite. Good choice for sightseeing Acropolis and Plaka area. Room is comfortable and warm and quite clean. We would make the same choice again if in Athens in the future.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The location is amazing. We arrived late at night from a rocky overdue ferry that was simply awful., We were hungry, irritable and needed to shower. The receptionist was very helpful and friendly and got us out of our funk immediately by giving us a great room, giving us time to clean up and pointing us to an awesome place for dinner. I agree with the other reviewers - don't hesitate - book your room already.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton England
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is only a standard grade hotel and so it isn't luxurious but the staff are great, the room didn't come with coffee making equipment but they laid on a kettle for us and brought extra hangers when asked and were always pleasant friendly and helpful. the breakfast is sufficient and the restaurant manageress is always on hand to offer help and advice.
We don't think you could beat this for location, its only five minutes from Monastariki metro station so you can come easily from the airport for 28 euros return for two. It is in incredibly easy walk of everything from gift shops to quality restaurants and the main shopping roads.
The bed was huge and comfortable and the shower hot and powerful. There is a lift but not really for the claustrophobic. The best bit is the roof terrace with fabulous views across to the Acropolis, Hadrian's Library and the Temple of Hephaestus, they even lay on fleece blankets in the cooler evenings and there is a nice roof top bar as well for a perfect spot for a nightcap.
Don't think you can really go wrong with this hotel, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Book an upgraded room with an acropolis view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I kicked off my holiday with a stay at th beautiful Plaka Hotel. This hotel is ideally situated to all the must see sites in Athens ie Syntagma Square , the Acropolis , Monistaraki and many other areas of Interest . The Hotel itself is well maintained and the staff are friendly , helpful and super efficient. For room was beautiful and spotless with a breathtaking view of the Acropolis -go up to the roof of this Hotel and you get to see the most beautiful view of the city. I was amazed by the variety at Breakfast , there was something for everyone -you have to try the Fruzella !! My stay and the staff at Plaka Hotel made my visit to Athens an extremely memorable one in a very very very good way . Thumbs up Plaka Hotel

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Don't even spend a minute researching, just book this hotel for your stay in Athens! We visited Athens in November 2014 and stayed at Plaka Hotel for 4 nights; what a fantastic experience we had!

- Unbeatable Location- Right near Monastiraki metro station and very close to Syntagma square.
- Airport Access- Taxis drop you right outside Plaka Hotel after 7pm for a flat 35 Euros. Hotel staff very happily arranged a taxi for us early in the morning to go back, bang on time.
- Comfortable Rooms- Cozy, clean and comfortable rooms. Fresh smelling. Some of the rooms even have an Acropolis view! Clean and neat bathrooms.
- Delicious Breakfast- Delicious start for your day. Breakfast includes breads, cold cut meats, cheese, Greek yogurt with honey, Greek salad, variety of pastries, cakes, fresh fruits, beverages and more. Very enjoyable in a modern and spacious breakfast room.
- Great Staff- The hotel staff was great, each and every one was very hospitable and helpful in treating all the guests. Professionalism with a smile.
- Tourist Friendly- Plaka Hotel is located in the heart of tourist area and is walkable from historic sights, lovely restaurants, and endless shopping. The hotel lobby displays all the useful tourist info, timetables, news, tips and recommendations.
-Laundry Service- This was the most pleasing and helpful service. Plaka hotel will laundry a big bag of clothes for you just for 9 euros, within 24hrs.
- Rooftop Bar- Rooftop bar offers a wide, stunning view of Acropolis with a full service bar. Stretch your legs and spend your evening sipping Metaxa! (Ask for a blanket if it gets too chilly).
- Free Tea/ Coffee- Take a break from activities and enjoy complimentary Tea/ Coffee/ Cappuccino and cookies served at breakfast room throughout the day.
-Baggage Service- Hotel staff provided a complimentary baggage storage when we traveled to Santorini (even though we didn't have a booking for that day).

Hotel Plaka was the perfect place for us to have a worry-free time in Athens and enjoy our trip, thanks a lot for your service!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Address: 7, Kapnikareas & Mitropoleos Street | Plaka/Syntagma, Athens 10556, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Athens
#9 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#9 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new museum, as well Ancient Agora, Parliament,First Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National Galery. Two blocks away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street of Ermou and Plaka touristic shops and tavernas.Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaka Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.