We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top floor can be hard on your sleep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Plaka Hotel to your Saves list
Plaka Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7, Kapnikareas & Mitropoleos Street | Plaka/Syntagma, Athens 10556, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE BREAKFAST & WI-FI
Ranked #8 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Top floor can be hard on your sleep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The staff was helpful, the room clean but small, the view of the Acropolis incredible. However, my room was on the top floor or 6th level. It was under the rooftop patio which was open until 1am each night. Avoid the top floor if you like to sleep.

Room Tip: Location was great, close to Acropolis, restaurants, shopping and public transporation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for review. Our roof bar usually closes at 11:30 pm. It is unfortunate that you haven't asked at the front desk and given us the chance to change your room if you have found it inconvenient. Should you decide to come back please contact us for a better accommodation.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    933
    726
    106
    35
    12
See reviews for
364
834
125
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The hotel is incredibly centrally located....within walking distance to almost every major site and those that are a little off the map can be easily accessed by bus or metro. I have to add that although it was busy and noisy on street level when we arrived, we didn't hear a thing in our room.
The views from the rooftop terrace is absolutely breathtaking! We arrived late in the evening (the terrace was closed), but the view from our room faced directly towards the Acropolis. The room was extremely comfortable and quite roomie for being located in the heart of Athens. I cannot say enough about the staff, from the reception desk to those that served in the breakfast lounge - they were all incredibly friendly, and were always willing to answer or assist with any query! The breakfast buffet was more than I had expected. There was enough to satisfy the average north american traveller, but you cannot forget the yogurt and honey, absolutely delicious! As was their little greek savoury pastries (I'm not much of a sweets person...so I didn't try the sugary items).
We were told that for late arrivals, there would be a surcharge to our taxi fare, ....but our taxi driver didn't add an extra euro on ....therefore, the standard fixed rate of 35euro was all that we were charged from the airport.
You really do not need the hop on/hop off bus if you are staying at the Plaka hotel as everything is within easy walking distance, unless you are heading towards Piraeus. If you are in Athens on a Sunday, I would strongly advise you to check out the changing of the guard - in all its pomp and ceremony at 11:00 a.m.!

Room Tip: ask for (at the very least) partial Acropolis view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to read that after having so long trip to come to Athens we matched your expectations in all matters. We loved your tittle. Thank you.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at the Plaka Hotel for 2 nights during the last week of September and it was really a very good experience for us. It is situated in a central location and the bonus was that the Acropolis was just a short walk away. The view of the acropolis from the rooftop bar of the hotel is superb. The staff too were courteous and offered their help wherever possible. It is also very close to Monastiriki Square where you can do some shopping. Overall a very good place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
How nice to read that you returned back home with a nice memory of your stay with us. It is true that the view from the roof bar is superb. Thank you again for your positive review.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The Plaka is very central with superb views of the acropolis, the sunset views from the hotel roof whilst sipping a glass of wine was a magical experience. The staff are helpful and the rooms whilst not large are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your ''wonderful'' review and for high score. We are satisfied that we offered you a magical experience with our amazing views from our roof terrace. Wish to have the chance to repeat it soon by hosting you again!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel is located in the centre of Athens (the Plaka) where you find lots of ruins (as well as restaurants and tourists shops). You can easily walk to the Akropolis from you hotel. You have a view from the hotel roof where there is also a small bar. The staff are very helpful always willing to assist and the breakfast, well it was nothing short of excellent breakfast. This is my third stay at this hotel, and i can guarantee it will not be my last.....highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for being a loyal guest and I am glad that we still make you enjoy your stay with us. Our objective is always to make our guests feel as if they were at home! We will be waiting to welcome you back with us for many more holidays to come!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We enjoyed two nights at the well-located Plaka Hotel. It is comfortable, walking distance to everything, the rooftop bar with the view of the Acropolis is stunning, and the breakfast is excellent. The staff were very helpful with suggestions. We paid a little extra for a room with an Acropolis view and we were glad we did. I recommend the Plaka Hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your time in providing us with feedback following your stay at our lovely hotel.
We are so happy that you found everything to your liking, in particular the hotel's excellent location,the Acropolis view and breakfast.We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Very well positioned Hotel for a city break in Athens. Easily accessible from the airport on the efficient Metro and pretty much equidistant from Syntagma and Monastiraki stations. However please do heed the Metro warning "dear passengers, please take care of your personal belongings" A's bag was 'dipped' on the very crowded escalator. Anyway, back to the Hotel. The rooms are typical 'city' rooms for this grade hotel, on the smallish side. However, clean, wifi, comfortable bed, good shower, pretty decent breakfast and wow, what a view from the roof bar! Not the most luxurious but how much time do you spend in your room on short breaks like ours - we didn't, so much to see! All in all, for it's position and the view, we think a good choice.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review which I am sure will be helpful for the future clients. I am glad you had enjoyed the cleanliness,the comfortable beds and the new bathrooms. Referring to your comment about the size of the room please note that on a future trip we do have also superior rooms with balconies which are bigger size. Hope to see you soon.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Address: 7, Kapnikareas & Mitropoleos Street | Plaka/Syntagma, Athens 10556, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Athens
#9 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#9 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new museum, as well Ancient Agora, Parliament,First Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National Galery. Two blocks away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street of Ermou and Plaka touristic shops and tavernas.Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaka Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.